Alice 6/18 AMPS 191 +3 144, hind weakness, confusion, +6.25 139 PMPS 294

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...55-pmps-88-reduced-dose-by-25-1-6-111.230974/

Alice just isn’t right. For a couple weeks she has exhibited hind leg weakness. It hasn’t improved really. She stumbles and falls. But she also doesn’t seem to understand this time around that she is weak.

I see her wander around sort of confused, climb awkwardly onto things she might not have before. I feel this worry that something cognitive isn’t quite right with her.

I left a message with the vet to see if I can pick up a B12 shot tomorrow. It’s just a starting point, it always seems to perk her up a bit. And maybe without some of the nutrients she needs, she isn’t getting all she can from her food, so maybe it is slowing her from rebuilding those back legs. She is not walking on her hocks so I wouldn’t call it neuropathy?

She just used to seem more purposeful in her behavior, and less confused when things go badly. She doesn’t understand not to go down off the bed without using the chair. She got stuck on a pile of something in a corner. Not a pile that made sense to walk on in the first place, either.

You know when you know your cat or your kid or your own body well and you just know something is wrong but can’t put your finger on it exactly? That’s how I feel.

I’m terrified I let her hypo one night or something and she had a bad reaction? I don’t know.
 
How's her eyesight?

From above and behind, drop a cotton ball so that the sight of it would catch the peripheral vision in each eye. A cotton ball is light enough that the ears and hair should not catch any movement of air.
Her sight being an issue had just occurred to me. I was not sure how to test it unless I could find the laser toy.. thank you!
 
You can buy a whole bottle of B 12 at Costco or on line really cheap. It’s been a long time but I bet it’s not more than $15-20.
Thanks! I don’t know her dosing or anything else yet as I haven’t administered them on my own before, I’ll get a dose from the vet this time then go from there!

Is there a particular kind to look for made for injections? I would assume so. We don’t have Costco here (I don’t think?) but I can look online. :)
 
I did a quick check on line and there are several ones for cats. It’s gone up in price but much cheaper to give your own shots. It’s sub-q so easy. I can’t remember the brand I’ve bought as it’s been 10 years!
 
This evening I came into the bedroom and did. It see her anywhere. It’s not easy to stay hidden since recently movig etc. It’s sparse.
B744468E-DAE8-43CA-80E6-1135350AC751.jpeg

Her pop up travel carrier was folded down though, collapsed, because I had had it set up by the wall with an extra litter box back in it...

So I opened it back up, and...
1018D615-AF5E-4B10-91A0-794D5BF900A5.jpeg


She had just been hanging out under there like that without any fuss that I was aware of for who knows how long.... (also not quite sure how it collapsed.) She’s fine from it of course, but it seems to me a good example of her odd behavior and sort of passive disorientation lately.


She’s resting in her bed a lot.
27CBFB37-6732-4F37-95F7-37F0BB80C570.jpeg


<3
 

Attachments

  • B744468E-DAE8-43CA-80E6-1135350AC751.jpeg
    B744468E-DAE8-43CA-80E6-1135350AC751.jpeg
    64.9 KB · Views: 86
  • 1018D615-AF5E-4B10-91A0-794D5BF900A5.jpeg
    1018D615-AF5E-4B10-91A0-794D5BF900A5.jpeg
    65.2 KB · Views: 82
  • 27CBFB37-6732-4F37-95F7-37F0BB80C570.jpeg
    27CBFB37-6732-4F37-95F7-37F0BB80C570.jpeg
    47.2 KB · Views: 82
I did a quick check on line and there are several ones for cats. It’s gone up in price but much cheaper to give your own shots. It’s sub-q so easy. I can’t remember the brand I’ve bought as it’s been 10 years!
Thanks for checking! I honestly feel ignorant about this, is it a vial of some sort? Is there a type of suspension or concentration one looks for...?? I mean I’ll ask my vet too but it’s better to have more info before my scattered ADHD questions tumble out when I see her. Haha.
 
So... is there anywhere a person can get the Koha Kangaroo in the US? Just a can to see if she can handle it... or maybe at least a case without paying a lot of shipping too. I can’t afford to waste any funds right now but I know she needs something different along with her ziwi lamb.
 
Back
Top