Alice 6/14 AMPS 215 +4 67 +6 57 +7 64 +8 55 PMPS 88 reduced dose by 25% +1.6 111

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-146-3-170-falling-and-hind-weakness.230935/

So far so good today. Alice seems friendly and alert. Brighter-eyed.

Going to move in all the other animals today now that I have help. (I have been going by to check and feed and pet them but I’ve just been too sick/rundown to do everything by myself!) I hope I can get all 5 (cats and bunny) in and settled without too much stress.

Haven’t seen a poop from Alice again for a couple days. I haven’t made it to the pharmacy yet but when I go I will also pick up some Miralax for her because we have reached that point she probably needs a small daily dose of that too.
 
I found some poop after all, I don’t know if it was last night or this morning! It still looks really awful. I keep wondering if I should get her to some kind of specialist but we can’t afford that and I don’t know if that’s under the scope of DCIN help. My vet is lovely and I trust her but she is a small vet in the country and they have a small facility, no in house ultrasound or anything, so Alice has never had one except when we were in MN at a new vet and she had a UTI, that vet checked her bladder only though. I’m worried about how we can tell if her cancer cones back or maybe it’s not really IBD, what is it is lymphoma instead....
Maybe I need to change foods or her gut bacteria is still off from the last round of antibiotics.
I have been giving her fortiflora because I can’t find her Imuquin packets, if there’s a good probiotic type supplement anyone wants to suggest, I’ll take it. And anything low carb I can sprinkle on her food, I wonder if there is freeze dried liver made from an animal she can eat comfortably (no fish or poultry is my starting base for that).... I need to encourage more food.

My love to all sugar kitties. My hope is once I am finally really settled and not needing to move again for awhile that I’ll be able to give more support and check the boards more. Lately I feel like I am taking much more than I am giving. But health and housing have both been rough for me so I guess we all do our best. :)
Please always feel free to tag me though in mammary cancer and DKA posts though.
 
My kitty gets Visbiome probiotic - it's made especially for IBD. Get the package of packets - a packet lasts about a week. I just mix it into food - it's such a small amount. Type of protein/food does not impact small cell lymphoma kitties - unless they also have IBD.
 
Guys her PS this evening is only 88 and she has been circling low and I need to sleep tonight some. The pj parties of the post-DKA era are just not something I have in me lately.

reduced dose???? I know 88 can be safe to shoot... but only if I can monitor, she’s hit hypo levels too often lately.
 
Maybe this is something that will help Alice.
https://www.ibdkitties.net/supplements/probiotics/

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
How interesting, the first thing that page mentions is that if B12 is low S. boulardii won’t work.
Now, I have no clue what her B12 levels are, but twice since the FD she has had B12 shots and she always looked happier afterwards. Someone said they get their IBD kitty B12 shots about monthly? Is that subq or IM? I’ve heard I can do at home but have no experience with intramuscular shots yet. I wonder what the cost is. Will call vet tomorrow if I can remember.
 
My kitty gets Visbiome probiotic - it's made especially for IBD. Get the package of packets - a packet lasts about a week. I just mix it into food - it's such a small amount. Type of protein/food does not impact small cell lymphoma kitties - unless they also have IBD.
Where do you buy it? What is usual cost? I will look into it.
Lately at least the fortiflora has encouraged her to eat sometimes.

Maybe it’s just the IBD messing her up but I still feel like I’m not doing enough or doing the right things for all her needs. :\
 
Is that subq or IM? I’ve heard I can do at home but have no experience with intramuscular shots yet. I wonder what the cost is. Will call vet tomorrow if I can remember.

B-12 goes sub-q just like insulin

Guys her PS this evening is only 88 and she has been circling low and I need to sleep tonight some

The important part of this sentence is "I need to sleep tonight".....if the caretaker doesn't take care of themselves, they're not going to take good care of their cat.
 
Just google "Visbiome" - I buy it from the Canadian distributor.

It's not uncommon for kitties with GI issues to have low B12. Some people test for it, some just give the B12 without testing. Though it's good to know whether you need to give it.
 
Thanks everyone.

I wonder what is wrong and why she feels so weak. This is more an IBD question but how do you know when steroids are worth trying? I wouldn’t give them to a cat if it was generally avoidable but I admit I wonder if it would help her somehow with her inflammation. She is already diabetic and I don’t foresee her going into remission, honestly.

I feel like a downer. So here’s a photo of Tang, and the two-headed monster Gizmo&Spike.
5CA781F9-951D-4AF1-9379-B2AC620B4A15.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 5CA781F9-951D-4AF1-9379-B2AC620B4A15.jpeg
    5CA781F9-951D-4AF1-9379-B2AC620B4A15.jpeg
    90.5 KB · Views: 69
This is more an IBD question but how do you know when steroids are worth trying? I wouldn’t give them to a cat if it was generally avoidable but I admit I wonder if it would help her somehow with her inflammation.

Have you tried budesonide? It's a steroid but in a lot of cats, it doesn't cause the problems other steroids will with the blood glucose because it's more locally acting.

Otherwise, if steroids are the only thing that improve the QOL for our kitties, we just dose the insulin around it.
 
Have you tried budesonide? It's a steroid but in a lot of cats, it doesn't cause the problems other steroids will with the blood glucose because it's more locally acting.

Otherwise, if steroids are the only thing that improve the QOL for our kitties, we just dose the insulin around it.
I haven’t... and my vet is not really diagnosing this, she’s kinda letting me handle it, it seems. I love that vet but it’s a small facility without a lot of diagnostic toys available and it’s a chronic condition so I’ve just guessed around everything else going on, then tested my theory by changing foods.
I don’t know anything about the steroids or what they will do for her, if they will help. Is it worth trying? Should she have any more diagnostic work before starting anything like that?

I will try whatever can help her have a better life day to day, since I know how hard it can be to have so many sick days.... I never expected her to have so many supplements and medicines though. It already seems like so much. I honestly don’t know what to do for her. Her bowel movements look super strange lately and I don’t have anyone with the right knowledge base to tell me what they mean, why. It’s so frustrating, I wish I had the applicable post-graduate degrees so I could figure it out myself.

Anyway I will start the week with calling my vet about B12 shots. Seems a good start.
 
Back
Top