Alice 5/24 PMPS 500 +2 407 +6 257 / AMPS 41/43 fed MC, new AMPS 84, dose reduction! +6 412 bounce!

+ 20min fasting still was 43..... how much to shoot? I figured I can start with feeding MC 13% and still shoot something. Normal shoot is 3.75, would I do 3u? 2?
 
Hopefully, when you retest at the 30 minute mark, she will have come up to over 50 and you can shoot as long as you can monitor and she’s eating for you.

Is last nights cycle with a new pen or is this still the out of date one?
 
Hopefully, when you retest at the 30 minute mark, she will have come up to over 50 and you can shoot as long as you can monitor and she’s eating for you.

Is last nights cycle with a new pen or is this still the out of date one?
Out of date one. We will be done with it in a little over a week though. Not currently questioning its storage and efficacy!
 
Do NOT shoot numbers below 50. I would shoot low but numbers below 50 are too low to shoot. Please give Alice a teaspoon of her regular food and/or a bit of HC. You still want to "feed the 40s." Don't go overboard -- you want to bump up the numbers.

There's a good chance that numbers kept dropping or Alice was surfing the rest of the PM cycle.
 
@Bobbie And Bubba thank you, btw. Saw you were online and almost tagged you but I can’t always remember everyone’s insulin specialties.

Can I shoot normal dose? This is usually my nap time and other CG helps give me some sleep. Unless situation is not normal.
 
Can your schedule be off by 2 hours ? If so, you could feed her now to bring her up. Then test in 2 hours and shoot. And shoot a reduced dose as she earned a reduction to 3.5

Often continued stalking can see them drop more.
 
Do NOT shoot numbers below 50. I would shoot low but numbers below 50 are too low to shoot. Please give Alice a teaspoon of her regular food and/or a bit of HC. You still want to "feed the 40s." Don't go overboard -- you want to bump up the numbers.

There's a good chance that numbers kept dropping or Alice was surfing the rest of the PM cycle.
I expect she probably surfed overnight but hoped she would come up more. Since she had shown she was steady, I fed a lot and got some sleep finally. I suspect she has done her fasting for 3 hours at least.
 
Can your schedule be off by 2 hours ? If so, you could feed her now to bring her up. Then test in 2 hours and shoot. And shoot a reduced dose as she earned a reduction to 3.5

Often continued stalking can see them drop more.
Two hours would put us at nearly 12 at this point. It was hard bumping her up back to only being 30 min past schedule. Sigh.
 
How long should I wait to test? Also after shooting, how often should I test? I will start her out after shot on 13% + 5%, and make a 9% mix probably.....
You want to test her 20-30 minutes after giving her the two of food. I would start off with a +1 if you shoot a green number since it would be the lowest you shot before and then get a +2 to see how the cycle could play out.
 
I set alarms for every hour for the next.... 5 hours.... will resume LC unless she goes below 50 again. :)

I feel bad for not staying up and testing more last cycle. :\
 
Don't be hard on yourself. You can only do so much and you do a lot for Alice. I hope she keeps surfing safely today.
 
Blues now!

Sorry for not responding sooner.... I was trying to trust other human to actually follow her schedule and alarms so I could get one more desperate sleep cycle in..

But anyway she’s surfing the blue. It makes sense.... dose reduction, 50 minute delay, a little MC on board.


Can anyone help me later with looking at her SS and nadir times and help me come up with a better picture of when I can sleep? It’s hard for me to fall asleep quickly, I often take medicines, they vary. I haven’t been able to take the ones that will keep me asleep more than 5 hours though. I need about a 5 or at least 4 hour window, twice a day, with of course weird exceptions sometimes because cats are unpredictable, where I can safely sleep even if no one else can competently back me up.

Anyway Alice is okay, thank you all for the help and support this morning, :) I’m just cranky right now.
 
Last edited:
Blues now!

Sorry for not responding sooner.... I was trying to trust other human to actually follow her schedule and alarms so I could get one more desperate sleep cycle in.. (I am rather livid right now that all the alarms were ignored and one random test ten minutes after hour 1 was done. I specifically stated, please test hourly, here are your alarms, I divided the snack into sections, give one section at each hour....... :mad: I know being upset won’t really fix anything..... but how incompetent does one have to be to not be able to follow basic instructions? If I can’t actually rely on my backup support, then I have to do everything.)

But anyway she’s surfing the blue. It makes sense.... dose reduction, 50 minute delay, a little MC on board.


Can anyone help me later with looking at her SS and nadir times and help me come up with a better picture of when I can sleep? It’s hard for me to fall asleep quickly, I often take medicines, they vary. I haven’t been able to take the ones that will keep me asleep more than 5 hours though. I need about a 5 or at least 4 hour window, twice a day, with of course weird exceptions sometimes because cats are unpredictable, where I can safely sleep even if no one else can competently back me up.

Anyway Alice is okay, thank you all for the help and support this morning, :) I’m just cranky right now.
So sorry your other humans weren’t more helpful , but Alice stayed safe , so that is all that matters.

Even though she got a reduced dose this AM , she was still under the influence of the 3.75 dose the first half of this cycle. It will be interesting to see what the PMPS .

As far as when to test, it all depends on the cycle. My favorite test is the +2. If it is lower than the pre shot number it could be an active cycle and more testing will be necessary. It’s a good indicator of how the cycle could go.

If tonight she has bounced up from those greens last night and today’s start, I would get a test in before you want to hit the sack and if it’s nice and safe , get some sleep.

The more she hits some greens and you see how your steering effects her and how fast she clears a bounce, the more comfortable you will get with when you need to test.
 
Yup. PMPS is 500, so I will get a +2 and go from there. Glad she was so high because I was able to move her shot back about 25-30 min. She ended up 50 minutes late today.

I plan to sleep for sure because I have some work to do tomorrow!
 
I’m so used to being up right now. I could be sleeping..... in theory. :banghead: I am no help to myself but this is my quiet FDMB time of day!

So..... from 500 PMPS to 407 +2.... 5% or less fed. When is good to check again? Should I still try to spot check for a nadir? If not, I’ll put out more food and take my 5-6 hours sleep attempt now and get a late test in. It’s +3.5 right now. .....
 
She does this to me at night sometimes and I end up testing her just because I wonder if her sugar is dropping because I’ll come in and she will perfectly be fine with food and everything else.
She’s purry though. :)
 
I took her belly wrap off partway so she could groom. And I took a video of it while I blocked her from licking her stitches. Who needs sleep. There are cats. ...........
 
I tried to get a cool picture of her with my cool cat shirt...... now we have snuggled on her floor and she is sacked out. Gonna top off the food and sleep. (But not on her floor!)
18C9239D-45E2-40AB-AF96-43E528C7F66C.jpeg
 
I literally could not sleep at all.
Sugar was back into mid-yellows at +6.

Since she had another reduction, she’s less likely to have a morning like yesterday? Because if so I might keep trying to make sleep happen, and see if other CG can manage basic test feed shoot..... shot in 3.25hrs.



I had to get up again because she cried for me. She calls for me at regular intervals in the night. And in the morning. And early afternoon. And an hour before PM shot.

More than many other cats, Alice is my child. I bottle fed and stimulated bowel movements for her, her brother, and their two sisters. My real first cats when I was 20 years old in my first apartment were Alice and her brother, Oz. I watched her learn to climb stairs, one step, then two, then four, then zoooom!!!! ... I wonder if I’m too scared she will just.... up and die..... if I don’t do enough. Realistically I know that’s not an accurate perspective. But Oz died so suddenly (presumed sudden onset wet FIP)...... so fast. Hours. And she almost died in my arms (DKA). So it’s more like a trauma thing maybe......... sigh. I know this is not directly FD treatment related..... but it affects... something or other. And when I sleep.... every time I am even partially conscious I immediately think of her.

And the fact that as kittens she and siblings were alone somewhere around day 2-3 post-birth, for up to a day, because stray mom got an abscess and almost died. Alice could have never been here longer than 3 infant little days.

I wish Alice and I could grow to be old ladies together. Not having any teeth and losing our reading glasses and talking about when cans of friskies were only 56 cents. She is my best friend. I just want to sleep next to her every night for always.

Alright enough emotional dump. Sorry/not sorry. I have a lot of grief over the past couple of years from human and furbaby losses and illness. ....Sigh.
 
Back
Top