Hey all,
I'm really new to this and this post will probably be missing important information. But I have to get into the conversation(s) because the handful of posts I've read here have FINALLY made me feel like I can find a road to wellness for my boy.
He was diagnosed 7 days ago with BG 450 and sugar present in his urine. Vet prescribed Lantus 1 unit 2x day and told me to revisit in 20 days for a fructosamine test. Previous diet was BFF 2/5 oz 2x day + 1/4ish cup of dry free fed daily (I know, I know). Upon diagnosis I switched him cold turkey to 2-3 oz EVO chicken and turkey 2x day and 5 kibbles of EVO dry as a treat after his insulin shot.
A couple of days in (and after much online reading) I got a glucometer and failed miserably a couple of times trying to test his BG at home. I'm completely interested in tight regulation and as a grad student writing from home most of the time, I'm completely able to take it on. His demeanor seemed to be improving, however, and I think we were both adjusting to all the changes (guilt) and then today he was less interested in food (only ate 2 oz in AM and 1 oz in PM). I got up the courage to test BG again and it was >600. I freaked out, called various emergency vets and realized I could not afford to rush him to the hospital tonight and spend $800+ (I once sold my car to pay this guys vet bills, that's another story, but given the stress on him and the fact that they would just give insulin and monitor, I decided to keep testing and wait until 8 am to call my regular vet (only 4.5 more hours!!). Have kept testing hourly and he is staying between 500-600, clearly the current dosage of Lantus is not working (which I anticipated at the get-go; I just didn't think it would be this bad).
Suggestions are completely welcome. I'm a bit delirious right now and just cuddling with him between ear pricks until we can call my vet. Will get my first AMPS reading at 630 am, so with BG data for 11 hours that should hopefully convince my vet to support my desire to closely monitor and regulate my boy.
I'm going to keep reading to pass the time. Feeling overwhelmed and sooo grateful for posts like "message from your cat." Heading to the Lantus thread...
My best to everybody.
Charna
I'm really new to this and this post will probably be missing important information. But I have to get into the conversation(s) because the handful of posts I've read here have FINALLY made me feel like I can find a road to wellness for my boy.
He was diagnosed 7 days ago with BG 450 and sugar present in his urine. Vet prescribed Lantus 1 unit 2x day and told me to revisit in 20 days for a fructosamine test. Previous diet was BFF 2/5 oz 2x day + 1/4ish cup of dry free fed daily (I know, I know). Upon diagnosis I switched him cold turkey to 2-3 oz EVO chicken and turkey 2x day and 5 kibbles of EVO dry as a treat after his insulin shot.
A couple of days in (and after much online reading) I got a glucometer and failed miserably a couple of times trying to test his BG at home. I'm completely interested in tight regulation and as a grad student writing from home most of the time, I'm completely able to take it on. His demeanor seemed to be improving, however, and I think we were both adjusting to all the changes (guilt) and then today he was less interested in food (only ate 2 oz in AM and 1 oz in PM). I got up the courage to test BG again and it was >600. I freaked out, called various emergency vets and realized I could not afford to rush him to the hospital tonight and spend $800+ (I once sold my car to pay this guys vet bills, that's another story, but given the stress on him and the fact that they would just give insulin and monitor, I decided to keep testing and wait until 8 am to call my regular vet (only 4.5 more hours!!). Have kept testing hourly and he is staying between 500-600, clearly the current dosage of Lantus is not working (which I anticipated at the get-go; I just didn't think it would be this bad).
Suggestions are completely welcome. I'm a bit delirious right now and just cuddling with him between ear pricks until we can call my vet. Will get my first AMPS reading at 630 am, so with BG data for 11 hours that should hopefully convince my vet to support my desire to closely monitor and regulate my boy.
I'm going to keep reading to pass the time. Feeling overwhelmed and sooo grateful for posts like "message from your cat." Heading to the Lantus thread...
My best to everybody.
Charna