? Alex , AMPS 441

alexMama

Member Since 2026
Alex has been at 400’s and over since PMPS yesterday (408) , 400 +2 and then 441 this AM..
Increasing ProZinc to 1.25 for AM and PM dosing.. based on recommendations. We haven’t changed anything, still giving FF pate’s and not sure what’s up now..
Any advice?? Do I still feed as per usual when in these 400’s?
Thank you!
Maria

Thread
New here! Day 1 advice
 
Have you tested for Ketones you can get a kit at Walmart, it can also be an infection such as UTI, touch the tip of his ears, do they feel unusually hot?? If so that could be a fever, cats hide illnesses too well, every cat is different I’m just going from what Corky went thru very similar symptoms back in mid May, his BG began to get higher and higher in high blues and high yellows, he has been tightly regulated for over a year, he wasn’t eating either, so Of course I panicked,, took him to the vet, he X rayed, saw nothing but he felt it was a UTI. Gave him fever meds a shot of antibiótics and some to have at home by night time he was eating, In the morning there was blood guiwe blood on his hinie and a small hole, took him back to the vet, it turned out to be a burst gland, the antibiotic shot the infection out of the body, cleaned it out, actually there were two holes, in about 5?days everything was back to normal, l tell you this because cats do hide pain and illnesses too well, so if you see there are no ketones which tends to make the BG higher, then you might want to have him checked
And yes you always feed, especially if ketones are present food is very important, I will tag Suzanne for more input. Are you feeding 3-4 small meals or snacks during the day especially 2 hour after shot this keeps the insulin in check. Corky uses ProZinc as well, Suzanne adviced not to feed past +4 +5 after second shot, Corky's last meal is at +5 unless of course he is having a 50BG or lower than I go into the HYPO mode protocol
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
Yes Suzanne has been helping me along with Chris!
I got the ketone urine test strips but can’t ever catch him! I’m ordering the blood strips for ketones that Suzanne recommended.. He was negative for ketones at vet when last tested about 8 days ago.
He’s comfortable in my lap currently but giving a little bit of food at a time and seeing how he does.. No sign of fever..

Thank you!
Maria
 
I suspect what you're seeing is a bounce. On 2/16, Alex's numbers dropped to 148. Your cat's liver and pancreas aren't used to being in such good numbers and panicked! When that happens, they release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones which then spike the blood glucose level. This is a normal process until your cat once again gets used to spending time in closer to normal numbers. It's hugely annoying to the caregiver especially since it can take roughly 3 days for the bounce to clear.
 
Thank you. yes this is incredibly hard to see… He’s eating now which is good. He wouldn’t eat earlier and threw up all the water that he had drank that he got from my husband this AM.
He has always been a chronic puker, but since we changed from his Dry food (Royal Canin Sensitive Stomach) to FF pate’s, he hasn’t thrown up for like 10 days..

I also ordered a ketone meter from Amazon… And will check that as soon as we get it today. Hoping he doesn’t have ketones… 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻 All this is hard on a kitty mama!!!! 🥹
 
Alex has been at 400’s and over since PMPS yesterday (408) , 400 +2 and then 441 this AM..
Increasing ProZinc to 1.25 for AM and PM dosing.. based on recommendations. We haven’t changed anything, still giving FF pate’s and not sure what’s up now..
Any advice?? Do I still feed as per usual when in these 400’s?
Thank you!
Maria

Thread
New here! Day 1 advice
This should have been posted on the ProZinc Forum since you are over there now.
 
Alex has been at 400’s and over since PMPS yesterday (408) , 400 +2 and then 441 this AM..
Increasing ProZinc to 1.25 for AM and PM dosing.. based on recommendations. We haven’t changed anything, still giving FF pate’s and not sure what’s up now..
Any advice?? Do I still feed as per usual when in these 400’s?
Thank you!
Maria

Thread
New here! Day 1 advice
Yes feed as normal. Don’t change that.
 
I believe I explained last night that he is bouncing from the lower numbers. We need to give him time to come down. Let me see what I wrote last night (if it was to you… may have been another member! It was busy last night.)
 
I’ll stick to that one! I was just super anxious after starting the day over 400 and being in 400’s since PmPs…😂
Oh, it’s my fault for not paying attention to where I was posting! And if you just want to pop over here any time for extra support it’s all good! More people (good people too) over here!
 
I feel the same about Corky and Coco, I adopted Corky from the ASPCA when he was only 8-10 weeks old, he will be 14 this October and Coco 1/2 Main Coon I adopted her when she was only 38 days old, she will be 6 in April she still suckles on my arm to fall asleep at night, I also would do anything for both of them and the rest of my gang , a pair of canaries I just put their nest in, breeding season starts now, and a Red Bellied Conure, adopted at 2 months old, he turned 1 yar old this month, they are my reason to get up every morning and make me laugh during the day, I am blessed to have them ❤️
 
Back
Top