Report this postReply with quoteRe: 9/12- Lucky - Still not so good...
by Joanna & Bix (GA) » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:50 pm
As far as I understand it, bounce is slang for rebound.
From what I have read, Somogyi rebound comes in 2 forms - acute and chronic.
Acute is a one-cycle event, where there is either a drop to a low enough # that their body kicks in to defense mode to save the day, or a steep drop in which their body thinks it needs to kick in to prevent dangerous lows. With acute rebound, they will often spike high right after the low or steep drop, and then can either start coming back down soon after that (hence the pattern of the +12 being lower than the high +9), or they may stay high all through the next cycle.
Chronic rebound supposedly is when they have an extended period of acute rebounds, their body just freaks out and throws glucagon (? what's it called again?) at everything. Chronic rebound looks like high flat numbers. From what I have read, there is very little known about chronic rebound - it is hard to pin down, disputed, etc. etc.
Liver training is the fake-out rebound, where their body *thinks* it's in scary low numbers when it's not. So if they go down to a pretty nadir of 80 say (in a cycle with no steep drop) and get all freaky-freaky and throw rebound numbers at you, even though 80 isn't dangerous.
I think it's also important to know that a low number or a steep drop does not necessarily result in rebound. From what I have seen, the first line of defense is that they get hungry, and will eat to raise their BG to a safer level. So just b/c they hit a nice green number and then end up with a higher +12 doesn't necessarily mean rebound. Sometimes it's just that the insulin has worn off.
When it's Somogyi rebound, you need to lower the dose. When it's liver training, you don't want to lower the dose, you want to keep them in the greens til it settles down.
From what I have seen, people generally do a LOT better when they don't worry too much about rebound. It tends to mess with your head and make you doubt every move, I know that's what it did to me. IMO if you are getting low numbers or if you are seeing overly steep drops then you need to reduce the dose, simply b/c you don't want low numbers and you don't want overly steep drops. The rebound is just a side effect. If it's liver training (i.e. you are not seeing low numbers and the drops aren't too steep), then you just ignore it.