Alex - 8/2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Very Active Member
Alex seems to be settling back in at home pretty well except he has a bunch of gunky black litter stuck between his toes. I called the ER yesterday to see what kind of litter they use and sure enough, when I explained the situation, she assumed that's what it is. Her recommendation: soak his foot in warm water. For those of you who know Alex, you know that ain't gonna happen.

We were at 184 this morning and before DH and I could discuss, he shot the full 1.8. Do you think this was the right decision? And the PMPS is up to 330. Maybe a bit of bounce? We'll try to get some mid-cycle numbers later in the week, probably not until Friday. I hate to poke him in the evening while he's soaking his foot. :lol: or while he's relaxing in the hot tub. :mrgreen:
 
Had the litter-foot problem too. When Bob was peeing buckets and then walking through it. He's not a fan of the tub either. Two things worked - try taking a small bowl of water to him and sticking just the paw in it. Or, if you have an old spray bottle, you could "mist" his paw and trying rubbing it out with a rag or paper towel.

Carl
 
So sorry to hear that Alex has been at the ER. :-( Sounds like you were a smart mama though testing for ketones and got him in quick. Sending healing vibes your way.
 
Ginny & Alex said:
Her recommendation: soak his foot in warm water. For those of you who know Alex, you know that ain't gonna happen.

I hate to poke him in the evening while he's soaking his foot. :lol: or while he's relaxing in the hot tub. :mrgreen:

Ginny! :lol: :lol: My daughter wants to know why I'm laughing over here! That is too funny! Poor Alex!!

As far as the dose, you know not to listen to me but it turned out ok today, it's hard to say for sure what's happening during the cycle...which you already know! And you know what...even when you're getting mid cycle test & trying to do all you can sometimes you still don't know! Did you read my thread today? No way did I ever think I was gonna get those low numbers and tonight she shot right back up. It's always a mystery!
 
Typically I would say (depending on a cat's numbers up til then) it's ok to shoot the full dose on a 180, but if you do that, you want to get in some spot tests, ideally something in the +2 - +4 range to be sure it wasn't too much, and then something around their nadir time (I used to go for +6, but ECID) to see how low it takes them. It's hard to say on the next 300 PS - without mid-cycle data, it's just a guess. If he never saw pink PS and this was the only one I think you could make an educated guess it's bounce, but since he has lots of pink PSs, it looks run of the mill for him, so maybe, maybe not.

Can you get any mid-cycle data on this dose? That's a really nice PS you got, would be nice to see what his nadirs look like! The 1.6 curves look shallow enough to me that I doubt 1.8 is enough, but that's just a wild guess!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Can you get any mid-cycle data on this dose? That's a really nice PS you got, would be nice to see what his nadirs look like! The 1.6 curves look shallow enough to me that I doubt 1.8 is enough, but that's just a wild guess!

Joanna,
I probably can't get any mid-cycles until Friday, but will do so then. In th meantime, I will remain at 1.8 units.

kse said:
Alex in a hot tub!

DH held him and I put his foot in a small bowl of warm water for about a minute. Then he started squirming and scratching and hissing and growling, so we stopped that foolishness! I need stronger calming collars.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top