Alex - 8/19

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
After the first "exciting" 12 hours yesterday, the second 12 hours were boring. I decreased the dose to 1.0 and +3 1/2 hours later, he's the same at PMPS.

This morning: AMPS is 292 this morning and I increased back up to 1.1. Will try to get some mid-cycles today, but will be leaving after his PMPS for our night out of town.

amPS- 292
+3.5 - 331

What do you make of that?
 
Don't get discouraged about last night's cycle. Even though he has been seeing some great numbers, his body still might be fighting the lower numbers some. Kitty has not had any "good" cycles like Alex's yesterday, but it is not uncommon for her to have what we call a "good" cycle, followed by a flat higher cycle,

He is still probably trying to settle in.

I hope you have a Great Evening!
 
I think the same thing could be going on this morning. Yesterday, was a "heck" of a ride for Alex and you really don't know how low he went. I think his body is fighting the insulin.

Hey, go read my post form a few nights ago....it ends with pm question....read the copied and pasted information about rebound. It discusses the liver dumping sugar and hormones to fight off a hypo situation. The hormones released can make the cat temporarily insulin resistant.

I am sure it can be debated if that is what is going on ....and I am not interested in a debate...but, it could be what you are seeing.

Interesting consideration and reading at the least!

I went and copied it for you........



Oddly, too much insulin may result in increase of blood glucose (BG). This "Somogyi effect" is often noted by pet owners who monitor their pets' blood glucose at home.

The reason: anytime the glucose level drops too far or too fast, the animal's organism may defensively dump glucose (converted from glycogen in the liver), as well as hormone epinephrine and cortisol, into the bloodstream (If these are insufficient, hypoglycemia ensues!) The glycogen raises the blood glucose, the other two may make the pet insulin-resistant for a time. This phenomenon was first documented by a Dr. Michael Somogyi. [33]
 
Ginny, I'm at work so I really don't have time to study it...not that I know that much anyway, but I was wondering how much you are planning on shooting tonight? You are leaving right after PM shot? I wouldn't shoot what hubby did yesterday morning. Was that 1.1 - I can't remember. If it was & even if you got a higher PS on the 1 unit I would stick to that since no one is going to be around. Can your neighbor check on him...even if he won't let him shoot? Hopefully Kim or someone will be able to take a look before you have to shoot tonight. Have a good trip!

Barbara
 
Today's numbers are probably due to yesterday's "events" :shock: For the higher preshots, I'd probably still stick with 1.1u, but if you start seeing those 180-200s for preshots then I'd go down to 1u.
 
My neighbor will be checking in to feed and "monitor" Alex. I will leave the hypo instructions and the Karo where visible, just in case.

Looks like we're having another flat cycle, but I do realize that the events from yesterday can cause these numbers. I just hate it happened when we know he's going to skip a shot. C'est la vie.
 
I concur, todays numbers ar due to yesterdays low numbers
See what happens tonight and we can go from there...
Hope you both have a wonderful evening!

Denise and Shakes
 
He's not really flat any more, but on the rise.
+9 is 334
If we continue this trend, I'll shoot 1.1 this evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top