Alex : 2/22 AMPS 324, +2 454

alexMama

Member Since 2026
Alex has been at 400’s and over since PMPS yesterday (408) , 400 +2 and then 441 this AM..
Increasing ProZinc to 1.25 for AM and PM dosing.. We haven’t changed anything, still giving FF pate’s and not sure what’s up now..
Any advice?? Do I still feed as per usual when in these 400’s?
Thank you!

Thread
New here! Day 1 advice
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1101.jpeg
    IMG_1101.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 13
Okay. Too confusing. I saw the post on the other forum. Normally I am never going to see it over there. I think Maria tagged me or I would not have. No worries. I’m just the one who’s confused :-)
 
Last edited:
His bounce can last six cycles. We have to wait it out.

Did you get a blood ketone meter? Is he eating and drinking normally? Does he seem to feel all right?
 
These bounces can be really really frustrating! You want to do something that will make a difference and yet you are so helpless and have to wait it out 🙁
When you start to see numbers coming down you may see a flat yellow cycle before the bounce clears.

God job going ahead with the increase!
 
Ketone meter arrives today! He is at 241 at +5… phew! comin down! He is eating now and drinking and has perked up considerably from this AM!! This pic was during his AM not feeling well.. all snuggled up to me! I felt so helpless!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1129.jpeg
    IMG_1129.jpeg
    4.2 MB · Views: 16
Ketone meter arrives today! He is at 241 at +5… phew! comin down! He is eating now and drinking and has perked up considerably from this AM!! This pic was during his AM not feeling well.. all snuggled up to me! I felt so helpless!
Oh that’s making me very happy to see the numbers coming down and also to hear he’s feeling better!
 
Oh that’s making me very happy to see the numbers coming down and also to hear he’s feeling better!
Ketones .3 (considered not Keto from what I’m reading)
Don’t be surprised if he trends down all the way to PMPS!
Alex woke us up meowing loudly and persistently here at about 1 AM… Kept meowing and wouldn’t stop so I finally tested him at 1:30 AM and he was 76! We have never seen that number before and never been in the double digits. We gave him a tablespoon of his fancy feast and more water as he had cleaned out his water.
He seems happy now, but I’m going to test him again in an hour and at two hours.
if he keeps trending down do we dial his insulin back to 1.0 in the morning for AM shot? Or stay at 1.25?
Thank you!
 
Sorry to be clearer, on SLGS any number below 90 is an immediate reduction. So yes you drop the dose at the next shot back to 1 unit.
 
Out of a bounce and he earned a reduction! 😊 (he's probably going to bounce from that lovely green now:banghead:)
Well we still need to talk about her goals for Alex and which dosing method she wants to follow with Alex before we decide if a reduction is warranted. Let me think on this and talk with Maria in the morning. It’s 5:22 a.m. here and 2:22 a.m. where Maria is.
 
Ketones .3 (considered not Keto from what I’m reading)

Alex woke us up meowing loudly and persistently here at about 1 AM… Kept meowing and wouldn’t stop so I finally tested him at 1:30 AM and he was 76! We have never seen that number before and never been in the double digits. We gave him a tablespoon of his fancy feast and more water as he had cleaned out his water.
He seems happy now, but I’m going to test him again in an hour and at two hours.
if he keeps trending down do we dial his insulin back to 1.0 in the morning for AM shot? Or stay at 1.25?
Thank you!
Let’s talk about this in a little while. Super good green number. What number did you get on the retest after the Fancy Feast? I am proud of you for giving him regular low carb food and not freaking out as many would have done.

We save HC food for when the kitty drops below 50.

Oh yes, .3 ketones is just fine. No worries.
 
Ketones .3 (considered not Keto from what I’m reading)

Alex woke us up meowing loudly and persistently here at about 1 AM… Kept meowing and wouldn’t stop so I finally tested him at 1:30 AM and he was 76! We have never seen that number before and never been in the double digits. We gave him a tablespoon of his fancy feast and more water as he had cleaned out his water.
He seems happy now, but I’m going to test him again in an hour and at two hours.
if he keeps trending down do we dial his insulin back to 1.0 in the morning for AM shot? Or stay at 1.25?
Thank you!
84 just now at +7 from PMPS, so going up a bit… should i give more food?
 
Well we still need to talk about her goals for Alex and which dosing method she wants to follow with Alex before we decide if a reduction is warranted. Let me think on this and talk with Maria in the morning. It’s 5:22 a.m. here and 2:22 a.m. where Maria is.
Sorry was going on dosing method in sig, but ignore me Maria. Suzannes got you :bighug:
 
Let’s talk about this in a little while. Super good green number. What number did you get on the retest after the Fancy Feast? I am proud of you for giving him regular low carb food and not freaking out as many would have done.

We save HC food for when the kitty drops below 50.

Oh yes, .3 ketones is just fine. No worries.
84 an hour after FF
 
Sorry was going on dosing method in sig, but ignore me Maria. Suzannes got you :bighug:
No. It’s all good, @Robo & B and he is following SLGS for now (like all newbies) but it’s just a good opportunity to talk about a few things regarding dosing methods, custom reduction points, etc. I am happy you are around sometimes in the middle of the night (for me not for you!) Someone may need a little coaching. 🙂
 
Last edited:
My thoughts on the reduction are that we have several options/considerations. One is to follow the Modified ProZinc Method and take reductions when Alex drops below 50. A second is to take the reduction per SLGS, which may result in higher numbers, but we can always go back up again. We can wait until he clears the probably inevitable bounce to decide (on increasing back to 1.25.) Another consideration is whether he is getting the +2 and +4 ish snacks during the evening cycle. Also, a custom reduction point can be chosen— 70 is a typical custom reduction point. However, given all these considerations and options… my preference is to go ahead and take the reduction now because of the infection he had and the antibiotic he is on. As the infection continues to clear, his numbers may improve even further. I would take the route of reducing back to 1 unit for now. That is not saying that 70s are low numbers, 50-120 are normal healthy BG numbers for a cat so I am very pleased to see that green…. but I wanted to discuss options and rationale for recommending the reduction down to 1 unit in this case. What do you think?
 
My thoughts on the reduction are that we have several options/considerations. One is to follow the Modified ProZinc Method and take reductions when Alex drops below 50. A second is to take the reduction per SLGS, which may result in higher numbers, but we can always go back up again. We can wait until he clears the probably inevitable bounce to decide (on increasing back to 1.25.) Another consideration is whether he is getting the +2 and +4 ish snacks during the evening cycle. Also, a custom reduction point can be chosen— 70 is a typical custom reduction point. However, given all these considerations and options… my preference is to go ahead and take the reduction now because of the infection he had and the antibiotic he is on. As the infection continues to clear, his numbers may improve even further. I would take the route of reducing back to 1 unit for now. That is not saying that 70s are low numbers, 50-120 are normal healthy BG numbers for a cat so I am very pleased to see that green…. but I wanted to discuss options and rationale for recommending the reduction down to 1 unit in this case. What do you think?
Ok, he is 192 at AMPS..
He does get a little food at +2 and +4 after PM shot..
Antibiotics are done today ( this AM) as well.
I’m feeling since this is the fist time he’s been in the blue for AMPS , to do the reduction back down to 1.0. I would rather error on the side of caution! 😊😻
 
Last edited:
Ok, he is 192 at AMPS..
He does get a little food at +2 and +4 after PM shot..
Antibiotics are done today ( this AM) as well.
I’m feeling since this is the fist time he’s been in the blue for AMPS , to do the reduction back down to 1.0. I would rather error on the side of caution! 😊😻
Exactly! As we always say around here …. you can always go back up! I just wanted you to know my thought processes behind recommending the 1 unit.

I am excited to see his great progress! This makes me happy.
 
Hoping he doesn’t bounce again, but my son will be here with him and knows all to do and can call me any time today.. I’m helping with my new baby grandson today!!!
 
Exactly! As we always say around here …. you can always go back up! I just wanted you to know my thought processes behind recommending the 1 unit.

I am excited to see his great progress! This makes me happy.
Well he’s 301 at +2, so looking like possibly another bounce?? Do you give him his 1T of FF still ?
 
OK, I gave him the 1 tablespoon of food before I left the house so he’s all good and my son knows to check him at 11 AM and again at 1 PM and 3 PM. It’s starting to snow here so things could get interesting for my drive to my son‘s house.
 
Stay at 1. I haven’t looked yet to see what you did shoot (since this was a while ago) but no harm done if you shot 1.25 for one cycle anyway. It will be okay. He’s bouncing and we are waiting. 😞
 
Hang in there. While we don't necessarily have to wait for 6 cycles (that's for when we increase the dose), we can call it a failed reduction at any time...but we want to wait at least 1-2 more cycles to see if he can come back down. If he's still high after that, we could probably call it a failed reduction and try the 1.25 again.
 
Agreed. We don’t have to wait and hold the 1 unit dose for seven days, but I do want to wait until he clears this bounce to see how low he will go. He doesn’t usually bounce for a full 6 cycles so that is better than many I see.
 
Back
Top