Alex - 12/4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
Hello Everybody,

It's been a busy weekend, and I didn't get a +6 on Alex yesterday, but I did today.
So, the last several times I've gotten a +6, it's been in the high greens or very low blues. A lot of his pre-shots, though, have been in the 300s (low, medium and high). I'm thinking about abaondoning the sliding scale and just settling into a 1.4 dose for a while. What do you think?
 
I think it is worth a try. Good nadirs. Wish we could get those preshots to come down more. Have you tried varying the shot location also?
 
I think that would be fine. Your mostly shooting that now anyway. You are getting decent nadirs hopefully the PS wll start cooperating.
 
I'm confused and conflicted. As soon as I decide to settle into 1.4 as my dose for a while, this morning he's at 460 (and I did another test thinking meter error and I got 415). I argued with myself for a while and stuck with 1.4. At +6, he's at 250.
He tested negatively for ketones this morning and seems to be feeling OK. But I'm thinking about raising him this evening if he's in the 400s. 1.6, 1.7???
 
I have your scale at home so I'm not sure on the dose. Maybe you could fall back on the scale when he get a wonky high or low.
 
I'm glad you said that Rob, because I feel like I really need to shoot a bit higher tonight. PMPS - 366
For 300 and above, we origially had a 1.8 dose, but we shaved a .1 off shortly after that. I'm going with 1.7 tonight.
 
I increased his dose b/c we were getting some pretty crappy pre-shots and now his nadirs have increased too.
Think I should stay here at this dose?
 
We shaved the .1u off the scale because we thought it was working a little too well, maybe go back to the original scale. See if that helps the number go down.
 
Hi Ginny,
I went back to the SS to check it out again....
in looking at the SS it kinda looks like when you were giving the steady 1.6 every day was when
Alex was giving you the best numbers
sorry but I forgot the date...
just take a quick look...I could be wrong, but maybe you should hold a dose like you said
Just a thought.....
 
Hey Denise,
I'm sure I had a good reason to raise the dose from 1.6, but I don't remember what it was. :mrgreen: I think I was trying to get some better pre-shots, but if I don't see an improvement in a couple of days, I'm going to go back down some.

I saw in another thread where Dr. Lisa didn't think that "bouncing" was as common an occurrence as some of us tend to think, so I thought maybe he needed a little more. (of course, I may have misinterpreted that).
 
I have been trying to digest that info too, Ginny. It seems we definitely have cats that bounce (like Henry and Alex especially). Maybe there is a different approach to use when they go into that higher number after a lower one. We generally have said "don't shoot the bounce".

I will keep reading more. Carl seems to understand it better than I do so maybe he can help.
 
For the last 3 days, Alex's numbers have been as bad as they've ever been --several consecutive crappy numbers.
I feel like I'm killing the poor guy. While I didn't see "good" numbers on lower doses, I am thinking about backing off again.

DH is out of town and I need to leave soon, so tonight's PMPS (437) was about 45 minutes early.
 
I just get the feeling from the SS that Alex likes to settle into a dose for a few days


and I agree with Dr lisa that (not necessarily you) but a lot of people are under dosing...

My vet has said numerous times that it is not the preshot that matters, it is the nadir..
and I am now in agreement with her after dealing with Shakes for a year
 
Hi Ginny,
I saw in another thread where Dr. Lisa didn't think that "bouncing" was as common an occurrence as some of us tend to think, so I thought maybe he needed a little more. (of course, I may have misinterpreted that)

I think that in general, that's right. I think, again in general, and not only in PZI, the "bounce" word is extremely overused, and worried over too much.
I think the terms that Dr. P. uses are "warranted" and "unwarranted". It's the "unwarranted" that you are probably referring to.

When you see a number that seems to look like kitty has "skyrocketed", you have to look for and identify a good reason for it. If you can't find one, then that falls into the unwarranted category. The number just is, because it just is. It's one number, one cycle, one day, and might mean little to nothing.
An example of a warranted bounce, or warranted concern, would be if all of a sudden one day, kitty went way low. Then next cycle you see really high numbers, or later in the same cycle you see really high numbers. That would be evidence that there was cause and effect. The very low caused the very high.

This is what makes a sliding scale difficult. For example, look at your spreadsheet on 11/29 and 11/30.

11/29
amps 284 1.4
+5 129
+7 257
PMPS 289

That was an okay curve, right? A little room to drop further, maybe. And you ended up where you started.
Next day
AMPS 388 1.6
PMPS 427 1.4
No tests in between, so we thought "bounce, gotta be". But what was that based on? The high PMPS, right, and a higher AMPS too. The problem is there's no "real" evidence to back up that thinking. I guess we assumed that the blue 129 the day before caused the high numbers? But it wasn't "really low". It was not close to hypo numbers. So there's nothing to conclusively prove that the 129 caused the high numbers the next day. Mabye it was just a bad day for Alex? You don't know for sure what that 1.6 did to that 388. But based on the day before, it should not have pushed him too low. The AMPS on the 30th was 100 points higher than the 29th, so I think it's a safe assumption that the small increase to 1.6 wasn't enough to drop him 100 points plus more, which it would have had to have done to cause a "bounce" to 427 that night. Is that making sense so far? The bounce could not be considered "warranted".....nothing caused it that we can prove anyway.

Flash forward to yesterday...
AMPS 378 1.7
+6 217
+9 210
PMPS 344 1.8
Not really a great cycle. Nadir someplace around 200. Nothing that would cause a warranted bounce.
AMPS 384 1.8 Same thing you had yesterday, increase by only .1u.
PMPS 437 But with no data in between. So if that 437 is a bounce, then what caused it? He shouldn't have gone any lower than he did yesterday. That .1 isn't going to cause a huge drop below the 200 he had yesterday. It didn't cause a bounce yesterday. It probably didn't cause one today either. He just had a high number, that's all. But nothing that warrants the determination that is is due to going too low, so unwarranted.

I think what it boils down to is this, and this is also something Dr. P. said in one of Copper's threads when I pointed out what may have been just one wonky number on Copper's SS:
carlinsc wrote:
what if it was just one wonky meter reading. What if it wasn't a 455, but maybe a pink gone bad?
She said:
This is an example of why I loathe labeling a cat X based on ONE lab value. ie....I get hundreds of people writing to me every year in a panic because their cat has been Dx'd with CKD based on only ONE blood panel. Makes me crazy....
Look for repeatability before panicking or making any important decision.

One cycle that looks weird, or one BG test that looks weird....it's just that. One. I think she's saying that if you don't have hard "data" to explain the "wonk", then it's just "wonk", and you shouldn't make an important decision, like a dose adjustment because of it. If you see a repeating pattern or if the numbers continue to get worse then that's another thing.

I think that if you see 3 or 4 days in a row where all you are getting is pink and red PS's, and yellow mid cycles, that it shows that an increase is needed. If you see flat curves, or slightly inverse ones, it also means an increase is needed. If you see an inverted curve that looks like a mountain, or a curve that looks like a deep valley, that might mean a little less is needed, but you should see effects after one of those things happening. If you don't, then it's just a weird cycle. If it repeats, then it means "do something".

.....hopefully I didn't botch that, or put words in Dr. P's mouth.

Carl



pmps
 
dmartini4 said:
and I agree with Dr lisa that (not necessarily you) but a lot of people are under dosing...

My vet has said numerous times that it is not the preshot that matters, it is the nadir..
and I am now in agreement with her after dealing with Shakes for a year

After reading what Dr. P. has written to all of us (do you know how lucky we are that she's been posting here?), I would agree with that first statement, Denise.

As far as your vet's statement.....I agree that the nadir is important. It's the only way to tell if kitty is too low, or not low enough from the dose you are giving him. I think, however, that the PS numbers are just as important.
If your cat's condition is improving, and the dose is "correct", the the AMPS and PMPS numbers should be improving. Once they start to come down, and his body starts using the insulin you are putting into him every day more efficiently, then you'd be able to start decreasing the dose without any negative consequences. In order to maintain that good nadir, it would take less insulin to do so. I think the nadir determines the "right" dose, and the preshots determine when you are able to start decreasing the dose. When you are on the way "up" the dose scale, the nadir is really important because it shows you how effective the insulin is. The higher the nadir, the more leeway you have in increasing the dose if the preshot numbers are staying about the same.

Carl
 
Carl,
Thank you for taking the time to reply. I know that your lengthy reply was time-consuming. A lot of it does make sense. I guess I need to decide if I'm going to use the sliding scale or not (I think I hear you saying it makes interpeting data more difficult). I shot this morning before I read your reply. Last night and this morning, I shot 1.6, easing off just slightly on the doses over the last few days when I was getting crappy pre-shots (but had no nadir data).

Maybe I should just settle into a consistent dose for a few days and see what happens. I should be able to get nadir numbers on Friday and Saturday, and maybe Sunday too.

Thanks again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top