Alex - 11/12 - we're confused about dose again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny & Alex

Member Since 2011
Alex had a couple of really good days as far as his numbers go, but then they started easing back up.
Don't know if I should be using the sliding scale or not, but since the last two days' nadirs were still kinda high and it apears to me that he needs more insulin, I went ahead and shot 1.8 tonight.

Anybody want to tell me what you think?
 
That was a decent drop today from the 414 to the 174 on the 1.6
Might go pretty low tonight on the 1.8
Dont forget it is a full moon and the litties get crazy!
 
Ginny,
I think the 1.8 was a good call. I don't see where there's any reason to think that the 414 was a bounce. You shot the same dose into lower PMPS numbers the last several nights, and no evidence that the following AMPS were bounce type numbers. What I hope to see is a lower AMPS on Sunday, which will tell me that he didn't go low enough to bounce overnight tonight either. Let's see what Alex thinks....
Carl
 
AMPS was certainly a pleasant surprise at 189. Many times in the past, I feel I've lost momentum when I was afraid to shot into a number like this, so I shot 1.3. At +6, he's at 186. :?:
 
I have found that if I do shoot a regular dose into a lower number
Shakes will stay kinda flat on that cycle
but be careful because it is the dose after that is when they sometimes go to low
so just make sure to check tonight..
 
Well, we didn't see a curve yesterday, but the numbers weren't too bad. I didn't do any checks after pmps, but I couldn't sleep and I saw Alex throughout the night and he seemed fine.

Yesterday:
amps - 189
+6 - 185
pmps - 258

Today:
amps - 440- The scale called for 1.8, but I shot a 1.6 instead.

I'm at the end of the vial (and my rope), so will probably start using the new one tomorrow.
Do we really think this high number this morning is a result of a bounce?
 
One of the most interesting (and frustrating) things about Alex is that it seems sometimes he bounces and sometimes he doesn't.

Big picture though. Except for a few of those odd reds (bouncing?) he stays in very nice safe numbers. I know it isn't remission but he is generally doing very well.
 
amp - 449
+3 - 299
+6 - 110, a pretty nice looking nadir, but these pre-shots are killing me
pmps -405

And yes, Sue, he is generally doing very well, so I shouldn't get so frustrated. I guess it's just a personality quirk, and I think it applies to many of us on the boards, but we all want the very, very best for our kitties. I'm a perfectionist and sometimes view this as a failure on my part when Alex doesn't react according to my plan. I know I obssess about it, but bottom line, I'm very thankful that Alex is doing well. And I'm thankful for all the help I've received from FMDB.
 
I know it is hard for you, Ginny, and the other beans on PZI, to see what I see. You are so closely tied to every number and desperately want to "get this right". What I see are incredibly dedicated kitty parents who are working daily to do the best they can treating their cats. Please don't see yourself as a failure. A failure is an owner who decides diabetes is too difficult to treat and has their cat PTS. A failure is an owner who shoots the same dose every day without testing until something unexpected happens. If you look at the Lantus and Levemir forums, lots of beans on this forum have the same kind of issues and the same frustrations. Yes, there are cats on each board who react more as we might expect, and who go into remission. But the daily posts are overwhelmingly kitties who have been on insulin for weeks and months and whose beans are still working at this.

Off my soapbox now.
 
Hey Ginny, I just peeked at your ss and saw the 50, nice. Maybe feed him a little of his regular low carb food, can you test again in about 20 minutes?
 
I fed Alex his normal lunch after we got that 50.
He was running around the house, chasing Audrey and obviously feeling fine.
Just did a +9 check -- 180.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top