I know I should have done this earlier, but after a few failed, frustrating attempts I put it aside. As background - late in September we adopted my sister in law's almost 17 year old Cat George, who had been diagnosed with diabetes in July but not treated. He was wasting away, so we took him. My vet waited several weeks to start him on insulin because she wanted to see what a diet change would do. Though he was putting on weight and looked better, his BG was still hovering around 400. George doesn't have any other health issues.
She suggested 2 units of Lantus twice daily. I started him at 1 for a couple of weeks. He continued to put on weight and was drinking and going a little less but not dramatically so, so I bumped him up to 1.5 units 2x per day. The drinking/urinating improved quite a bit so we've been settled there for about 2 weeks.
I decided to give it another go at testing today, and just had a successful test (after a bunch of tries and nearing tears). We are at +10 from his morning shot and his BG was 100. I've been home all day and he's been acting normal. I'm going to attempt to test him again in 2 hours. I have a Relion Confirm meter.
Should I reduce him back to 1 unit or keep him at 1.5? I have to work tomorrow so I will not be home to monitor him during the day.
She suggested 2 units of Lantus twice daily. I started him at 1 for a couple of weeks. He continued to put on weight and was drinking and going a little less but not dramatically so, so I bumped him up to 1.5 units 2x per day. The drinking/urinating improved quite a bit so we've been settled there for about 2 weeks.
I decided to give it another go at testing today, and just had a successful test (after a bunch of tries and nearing tears). We are at +10 from his morning shot and his BG was 100. I've been home all day and he's been acting normal. I'm going to attempt to test him again in 2 hours. I have a Relion Confirm meter.
Should I reduce him back to 1 unit or keep him at 1.5? I have to work tomorrow so I will not be home to monitor him during the day.