Advise on home testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

lexiruby

Member
Hi all!
Thanks to Lori and Tomtom, I have recieved the home testing kit for my Ruby!
Again, Thank you Lori!!!!
I will start home testing on Sunday as I work 13 hours on saturday.
I know I need to test before each shot (for us that is 2x's a day)
Do I test before she eats or after she eats?
Should I test in the middle of the day just to check?
Ideally, what should her blood glucose be in between?
Thanks in advance for your help. I will post on Sunday with our results!
Jen
 
Ideally you are going to want to test before your feed, the usual routine is test, feed, shoot.

Beside before each shot you are going to want to try and check some inbetween points just to see how low Ruby is going, I don't remember what insulin you are using but nadir (lowest point) with most of the longer lasting ones is around +6 so try and catch that one if you can. Any others you get just adds to your data and data is a good thing.

Eventually you are going to want to run a curve which is testing every 2 hours for one cycle or from am to pm or vice versa.

Ideally for a non-diabetic cat their BGs are between 40 and 120, Max who is a diet controlled diabetic usually runs in the mid-60s. But for the purpose of being safe to give insulin, we usually suggest that most newbie not shoot if the preshot number is below 200.

Congrats on home testing and crossing fingers that you will soon be a card carrying member of the Vampire Club.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
We'll be watching to hear about your success on Sunday. Be aware that not everyone gets blood on the first try. We poked poor Oliver's ears for a whole weekend before we got a drop. Heating his ear turned out to be the most important thing to help us. If you do have trouble, just post and tell us what happened. We all have little tricks that worked for us.

You are using Lantus, right? Have you read the stickies on the top of their forum? viewforum.php?f=9 There is lots of valuable information on how to use Lantus and how it works. As soon as you have your spreadsheet up, you can post over there as a newbie and they will help you with dose and other advice. Setting up a spreadsheet Be sure to ask for help if you have trouble with it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top