LisaWS
Member Since 2023
Hi,
I am so very confused. Minnow was diagnosed Feb 7, started Lantus Feb 10 at 2 units AM/PM. He had classic signs at diagnosis, weight loss, increased thirst, excessive peeing, glucose in urine. I did one curve Feb 18, AMPS 247, onset +3, peak +9 at 182, +11 at 227. Things were fine until Feb 21 with PMPS 128, I didn’t shoot. Next day AMPS 437, I reduced the dose. This pattern continued, until Saturday with AMPS 209, I gave him .75 units, by +4 he was 52.
I panicked and took him to the ER. I posted here on Saturday after returning from the ER, I just don’t know how to link it. The ER vet said the starting dose may be too high or he’s spontaneously gone into remission, take him off insulin for 3 days, confirm he still has diabetes, and restart at .5 units and go from there. I followed up with my regular vet yesterday. I checked Minnow’s BG randomly yesterday, it was 432. My regular vet told me to stop taking pre-shot levels, just give insulin and do a curve in 5-7 days and start at 1 unit AM/PM. He said he’s never seen a hypo with 1 unit of Lantus in his career and I’m stressing myself out with readings. He also said the hypo on Saturday was nothing to worry about.
I’m not a fan of this advice, so I decided tonight I would restart insulin at .5 units and try the SLGS method as per the ER vet’s advice. I was just about to give him his shot, tested his BG and it is 127. He hasn’t had insulin since Saturday morning and the hypo. What is going on? Do I just give it to him or wait? He’s been eating low carb wet food all day. I just fully transitioned him from high carb dry food to low carb wet food yesterday, we’ve been slowly transitioning since diagnosis.
Any advice would be appreciated, I’m seriously losing my marbles.
I am so very confused. Minnow was diagnosed Feb 7, started Lantus Feb 10 at 2 units AM/PM. He had classic signs at diagnosis, weight loss, increased thirst, excessive peeing, glucose in urine. I did one curve Feb 18, AMPS 247, onset +3, peak +9 at 182, +11 at 227. Things were fine until Feb 21 with PMPS 128, I didn’t shoot. Next day AMPS 437, I reduced the dose. This pattern continued, until Saturday with AMPS 209, I gave him .75 units, by +4 he was 52.
I panicked and took him to the ER. I posted here on Saturday after returning from the ER, I just don’t know how to link it. The ER vet said the starting dose may be too high or he’s spontaneously gone into remission, take him off insulin for 3 days, confirm he still has diabetes, and restart at .5 units and go from there. I followed up with my regular vet yesterday. I checked Minnow’s BG randomly yesterday, it was 432. My regular vet told me to stop taking pre-shot levels, just give insulin and do a curve in 5-7 days and start at 1 unit AM/PM. He said he’s never seen a hypo with 1 unit of Lantus in his career and I’m stressing myself out with readings. He also said the hypo on Saturday was nothing to worry about.
I’m not a fan of this advice, so I decided tonight I would restart insulin at .5 units and try the SLGS method as per the ER vet’s advice. I was just about to give him his shot, tested his BG and it is 127. He hasn’t had insulin since Saturday morning and the hypo. What is going on? Do I just give it to him or wait? He’s been eating low carb wet food all day. I just fully transitioned him from high carb dry food to low carb wet food yesterday, we’ve been slowly transitioning since diagnosis.
Any advice would be appreciated, I’m seriously losing my marbles.


started my boy on 4u x 2/day, check in 2 weeks, upped him to 5u x2 per day based on one inhouse BG check, check in 15 days. The vet assured me home testing was not really necessary, it would stress me out, stress out the cat, and I didn't need to worry about such things. 