SHK
Member Since 2012
I can't follow tight regulation due to my work schedule, but I hope you'll forgive that and still give me any advice you can.
EQ has not been doing well lately - please a look at his spreadsheet? I was concerned and due to some responses on another thread, I recently reduced his dose from 6u to 5u. That ultimately did not work and his numbers started going higher than they had been previously. I have been on vacation this week, so I've been able to get more numbers than usual. Hopefully this will give more information to Tight Regulation folks who needed more numbers in order to help advise me.
We just had a vet appt with bloodwork & urine culture a couple days ago. I brought my laptop to show them the spreadsheet (I don't have a printer). It was kind of cool since there are two vets at the practice with diabetes experience and they both talked to me about EQ. Good news? No thyroid issues, kidneys look fine, no ketones (which I test for regularly). Bad news? Slight heart murmur, possible dental infection - lots of tartar despite a deep cleaning and extraction eight months ago (but no visible abscesses), and possible urinary infection (waiting on culture results). By the way, his urine output is still very high - hasn't decreased one tiny bit since before the dx. We began Baytril for seven days, for possible infection. I'm adding sugar-free acidophilus to the food to prevent diarrhea and tummy issues; so far, so good. The plan was to finish antibiotics, get a new source of Lantus, keep the dose at 6u until all of this is over, and keep monitoring BG levels. Then if no results, we'll start eliminating other issues (IAA, Acromegaly) and/or switch insulin.
I had been using a 10ml bottle of Baytril since the DX. Despite my precautions, I am unsure if it is going bad or not. Got a SoloStar pen today and began using at the PM dose. However, his PMPS +2 hours level is 37 points higher than it was pre-shot. Is this normal? I know about the shed/depot, but do you know how long it might take for the new Lantus to start working, if the possible problem was the old bottle? Would it be immediate? These numbers in the 400s are really freaking me out.
Thank you in advance!
EQ has not been doing well lately - please a look at his spreadsheet? I was concerned and due to some responses on another thread, I recently reduced his dose from 6u to 5u. That ultimately did not work and his numbers started going higher than they had been previously. I have been on vacation this week, so I've been able to get more numbers than usual. Hopefully this will give more information to Tight Regulation folks who needed more numbers in order to help advise me.
We just had a vet appt with bloodwork & urine culture a couple days ago. I brought my laptop to show them the spreadsheet (I don't have a printer). It was kind of cool since there are two vets at the practice with diabetes experience and they both talked to me about EQ. Good news? No thyroid issues, kidneys look fine, no ketones (which I test for regularly). Bad news? Slight heart murmur, possible dental infection - lots of tartar despite a deep cleaning and extraction eight months ago (but no visible abscesses), and possible urinary infection (waiting on culture results). By the way, his urine output is still very high - hasn't decreased one tiny bit since before the dx. We began Baytril for seven days, for possible infection. I'm adding sugar-free acidophilus to the food to prevent diarrhea and tummy issues; so far, so good. The plan was to finish antibiotics, get a new source of Lantus, keep the dose at 6u until all of this is over, and keep monitoring BG levels. Then if no results, we'll start eliminating other issues (IAA, Acromegaly) and/or switch insulin.
I had been using a 10ml bottle of Baytril since the DX. Despite my precautions, I am unsure if it is going bad or not. Got a SoloStar pen today and began using at the PM dose. However, his PMPS +2 hours level is 37 points higher than it was pre-shot. Is this normal? I know about the shed/depot, but do you know how long it might take for the new Lantus to start working, if the possible problem was the old bottle? Would it be immediate? These numbers in the 400s are really freaking me out.
Thank you in advance!