Cali's dosing

Cali22

Member Since 2026
Cali was diagnosed with diabetes a few weeks ago. The vet did a glucose curve and recommended 1 unit of Prozinc twice a day.
I followed the vets recommendation for 2 weeks but saw no improvement to his constant food craving and thirst.
I started home glucose testing and increased his dose slightly to 1.1 units. This seems to worsened his preshot glucose levels. Did I make a mistake in increasing the dose?
 
Cali was diagnosed with diabetes a few weeks ago. The vet did a glucose curve and recommended 1 unit of Prozinc twice a day.
I followed the vets recommendation for 2 weeks but saw no improvement to his constant food craving and thirst.
I started home glucose testing and increased his dose slightly to 1.1 units. This seems to worsened his preshot glucose levels. Did I make a mistake in increasing the dose?
Hello and welcome! May I first ask what Cali is eating? Is she on a low carb wet food diet?

Thanks for getting your spreadsheet set up. I would not say that you made a mistake. The 1 unit dose should have been held initially for 7 days and then if you were seeing yellow nadirs (like what I see on Cali’s spreadsheet a lot of the time but not all the time.) you would increase to 1.25 units. Feeding at the right times can really help prevent steep drops and will help smooth the cycle. I recommend for starters that you feed a snack at +2 and +4 and don’t feed if possible after nadir or after about +6.
 
I think it looks like she is responding to the insulin and she’s on a small dose so that’s good. We probably just need to tweak the dose.

Well done getting all those BG tests. I am proud of you for stepping up to the plate like that!
 
Here’s information on how to set up a signature (so I don’t keep asking you the same questions over and over!) For me, it also helps if you put your time zone on there. See below:

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • In the top right, click on your username, and then Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Thank you for your replies!
Yes, I'm using U-40 syringes with half unit markings. So, his 1.1 unit shot is estimated as best as I can.
The glucometer is a CareSens N Feliz for humans.

Cali is on a low carb diet of Friskies Classic Pate. He receives two anchor meals of 1/2 can, at 6am and 6pm along with his insulin shot. Because he is always hungry, I give him about 1 to 2 TBS of Pate mixed with chopped zucchini about every 1 1/2 hours to reduce his hunger.

As you can see on his spreadsheet, I gave him one shot of 1.25 unit five days ago which reduced his glucose level into the blue range. In response to the low level, I skipped one shot which then caused his glucose to rise significantly the next day. In retrospect, I should have held off the shot 20 minutes to allow the glucose to rise.

So, I'm not sure how to proceed. Seems like he needs a higher dose along with careful monitoring
 
A good sign, the last two days (7/17 and 7/18) show stabilized (although high) glucose levels using 1.1 unit shots.
 
gave him one shot of 1.25 unit five days ago which reduced his glucose level into the blue range. In response to the low level, I skipped one shot which then caused his glucose to rise significantly the next day. In retrospect, I should have held off the shot 20 minutes to allow the glucose to rise.
You should not have to go this journey alone. I can help you. I really recommend increasing to 1.25 units and giving small meals/snacks (a tablespoon or so) of low carb wet food at +2 and +4. Most times it is better to be consistent with ProZinc dosing, but occasionally it is necessary to give a reduced dose for a single cycle.
 
Firstly, I realized after my first post here that I had incorrectly recorded the Prozinc dose as 1.1 units, when in fact it was 1.25. I've updated Cali's spreadsheet to show the correct dose as 1.25, not 1.1 units.

The 1.25 unit dose resulted in consistent glucose reading in the 300 to 360 range. So, based on your recommendation I increased the dose to 1.5 units for the past 5 days, but the PM glucose reading are swinging back and forth between the 200's and the 400's. Is the a reason for these roller coaster glucose readings? Should I maintain 1.5 unit shots?

Thanks
 
I've requested my vet to write a prescription for a Freestyle Libre3. Constant glucose monitoring would be so beneficial in determine proper dosing.
 
How is everything going with Cali?

Just always get pre-shot test ( goes in the spreadsheet under AMPS and PMPS which just means a.m. pre-shot and p.m. pre-shot numbers.) Please always get those tests because you need to know if the blood glucose is actually high enough to even give insulin — or if a reduced dose is warranted. Then try to get a mid-cycle test. One day try for a +4 test and the next day try to get a +5 and then a +6. If you are not at home during the day, run a glucose curve on a day that you are home. We need to know Cali’s nadirs so we can safely make adjustments to the dose.
 
Cali's PMPS was AMPS was 275 last night, then 524 this morning. What is causing these extreme fluctuations? Is the 1.5 unit dose too high?
 
No. It doesn’t appear to be too high of a dose. You caught a beautiful blue last night. What you are seeing now is a bounce.

It’s a good time to talk about bouncing. High numbers do not always mean more insulin is required, or that the dose is to high either. We must be careful to base dose decisions on kitty’s nadir. This morning’s black is a bounce reaction from last night’s blue number.

A bounce is where the cat's body reacts to lower numbers that he is not used to being in anymore... since becoming diabetic. It's a protective mechanism where the cat's central nervous system perceives either a steep drop in blood glucose or simply the cat being in lower numbers - and the cat’s body releases adrenaline, cortisol, glucagons and growth hormone, all of which create insulin resistance and can keep numbers high for up to six cycles (the bounce). Bounces don't have to last that long (and hopefully will not) but in some cats they will. Over time, many cats will start to clear the bounces more quickly. When the bounce does clear, the BG numbers will come back down and give us an accurate picture of what a dose is doing for the cat.
 
I'm in and out of the house today, but I'll try for +6. On Wednesday afternoon, I'll begin monitory Cali with a Libre 3. Thanks so much for your help!!!!
 
I see he came down from the black number. That is really good. She may even go down further tonight. We will have to see. The Libre can be a handy tool, but one thing you should be aware of, and I can show you some spreadsheet data at a later date, but one thing you should be aware of is that the libre sensors frequently read too low in the lower numbers. In other words, you need to be able to check with a handheld glucometer, preferably a human meter since the libre is also designed for humans… But you need to be able to check when the libre gives you a low number… and do an ear prick and test with your glucometer to verify the real number because Libre is often will lead you astray and tell you that the number is quite low when it isn’t really that low.
 
Last edited:
But the Libre and the handheld glucometer are actually fairly close in the higher numbers…. numbers above 100, they seem to be pretty close.
 
Good to know! I'll perform a glucometer test when I start to see lower values on the Libre 3.
Cali's BC levels seem to be trending downward now, a positive sign after yesterdays high reading. We really appreciate all your help!
 
It’s great he had a yellow AMPS today (better than black!). Check him +4 or +6 (or maybe in between. Some newly diagnosed cats tend to nadir early around +4, and we don’t know Cali’s patterns yet. This is hoping you are not away from the house today 🤞
 
LC? Do you mean low carb food? We fed him a couple tablespoons of his normal food just now.
 
Last edited:
LC? Do you mean low carb food? We fed him a couple tablespoons of his normal food just now.
Yes. LC=Low carb wet food. And since he dropped below 90 and you are still in the early stages of everything and following SLGS, he has earned a reduction and you reduce by .25 units.
 
So new dose going forward for now is 1.25 units.

Yes, quite a jump up in BG. He’s probably starting another bounce. Fortunately, he comes down more quickly than a lot of cats I see.
 
I believe the 86 reading was false, due to moisture contamination from warming his ear with a hot moist towel. I'll use a rice bag to warm the ear from now on.
So, I kept the PM dose at 1.5 based on the PMPS reading of 421.
 
Last edited:
I believe the 86 reading was false, due to moisture contamination from warming his ear with a hot moist towel. I'll use a rice bag to warm the ear from now on.
So, I kept the PM dose at 1.5 based on the PMPS reading
Okay. I won’t argue with that since an 86 is really not very low and it’s close to 90. I see you got a blue today 🙂
 
Cali was showing signs of becoming regulated once we increased his dose to 1.75 last week, but now his blood glucose levels are starting to rise again. Is this typical of changing the dosage?
Or could something else be triggering the BG rise? We only feed him Purina Friskies pate, but the carton contains a variety of flavors... chicken, turkey, tuna. Maybe some flavors are higher in carbs?

Should I try giving Cali a "fat" dose to ease the BG levels back down?
 
Last edited:
Cali was showing signs of becoming regulated once we increased his dose to 1.75 last week, but now his blood glucose levels are starting to rise again. Is this typical of changing the dosage?
Or could something else be triggering the BG rise? We only feed him Purina Friskies pate, but the carton contains a variety of flavors... chicken, turkey, tuna. Maybe some flavors are higher in carbs?

Should I try giving Cali a "fat" dose to ease the BG levels back down?
Well, you should make notes on your spreadsheet about which flavor he gets on which days and at what times. Then you can track and find out of any of the ingredients cause him to have higher numbers.

I would recommend just holding the 1.75 unit dose at this time. I think this is a temporary bounce into higher BG. I don’t think it will last long. Be patient. If he is bouncing and his body is starting to clear the bounce and you combine that with a higher dose it could cause his numbers to go down too low.
 
Cali is doing super with the 1.75 dose. Other than being a bit hungry between his 12 hour anchor meals, he's back to his normal self. His massive thirst has dropped too. Ketone level was 1.2, measured a few days ago.
 
Cali is doing super with the 1.75 dose. Other than being a bit hungry between his 12 hour anchor meals, he's back to his normal self. His massive thirst has dropped too. Ketone level was 1.2, measured a few days ago.
He should be getting small amounts of food between +2 to +5 — say, 1/4 can Friskies pate at +2 and another 1/4 can Friskies pate at +4 or +5. The appropriate way to feed a diabetic cat who is on insulin. He would feel much better too.
 
Ketones of 1.2 are a little higher than I would like to see, but just keep watching them (as I am sure you are already) and make sure they’re not trending upward. If you test them when he’s in the blue numbers they will probably be at their lowest. They can fluctuate throughout the day.
 
Ketones of 1.2 are a little higher than I would like to see, but just keep watching them (as I am sure you are already) and make sure they’re not trending upward. If you test them when he’s in the blue numbers they will probably be at their lowest. They can fluctuate throughout the day
 
Yes, we are giving him small portions mixed with cooked zucchini, spaced about 2 to 3 hours apart. It seems to make his hunger manageable.
Oh, I wasn't aware that Ketones fluctuate! That is good to know.
Thank you so much for your help.
 
I noticed the zucchini on your spreadsheet. I thought maybe it was for added fiber (for constipation) or just to add a little bulk to help fill him up? Hopefully in the lower numbers he will not be as ravenous as he has been in the past. How much does he weigh? Is he a big cat? Underweight or overweight?
 
He had a massive loss of weight leading up our discovering he was diabetic. He went from chubby 14 lbs down to a boney 9 lbs. He is currently hovering around 10.5 lbs, but he still feels boney to me, so maybe he needs to gain another pound.
 
He had a massive loss of weight leading up our discovering he was diabetic. He went from chubby 14 lbs down to a boney 9 lbs. He is currently hovering around 10.5 lbs, but he still feels boney to me, so maybe he needs to gain another pound.
I would let him eat more cat food. He needs the protein to build back some muscle, especially if he seems bony along his spine.
 
Ok, We'll increase Cali's cat food intake to get some weight back on him.
Cali has a Libre 3 now. I can see he bounced last night. The BC started diving about +1 after his shot, nadar at +4 then skyrocked back to preshot levels by +6.
This morning, it's looking like another bounce is happening.

I'm worried that his insulin dosage is way too high. When I first started treating Cali, the vet recommended 1 unit twice a day. Cali did not respond well to 1 unit, his hunger level was so so high, constantly begging for food day after day. The vet was poor at giving me guidance, so I increased the dose to 1.25 based only on observation, as I hadn't yet discovered the Feline Diabetes support group and how to test BG at home.

I worry I rushed going from 1 to 1.25 units, causing BG levels to continue to increase as his body fought to counter the high insulin doses.
Should I consider starting over at 1 unit so I can make informed decisions on when to increase the insulin dose? How will Cali react to a large drop in insulin dose?
 
BTW, Cali's hunger level has increased over the past day. He's begging for food about every 1.5 hours. Last week when he had many blue BG readings, he could last 3 to 4 hours without feeding.
 
It would be a big mistake to start over again at 1 unit and you have be right back to poor Cali being hungry all the time, thirsty all the time, etc. You would also increase his chances of DKA with higher ketones. More in a minute….
 
BTW, Cali's hunger level has increased over the past day. He's begging for food about every 1.5 hours. Last week when he had many blue BG readings, he could last 3 to 4 hours without feeding.
Yes. That’s completely understandable because in those higher BG numbers his body can’t make use of the food for energy and he has to eat and eat. Let him eat. He will clear this bounce. I could already see yesterday that he had started a bounce.
 
We can tell that his dose isn’t too high because of your spreadsheet data. The lowest ever recorded number is a 95. He has been on this dose long enough already that, if it was too high, he would have gone under 50. He really has had somewhat of a breakthrough on this dose (which I am really happy to see) although I think it will need a little tweaking to get him into even better numbers. Another vote in favor of this dose is how Cali has been feeling. He feels so much better in the lower numbers. His body will be able to get the food energy into his cells and he will be able to gain weight.
 
Cats bounce because their central nervous system perceives that the blood glucose has gone either “too low” or has dropped too quickly (another reason why we like to feed some food during the first half of the cycle— because it can help to prevent a bounce.) A cat’s body may perceive any blood glucose level that is new to him as being “too low” just because he’s been in high numbers for quite a while due to being an unregulated diabetic. The high BG became the “new normal” for Cali so his body thinks it has to protect him from going into any numbers lower than the higher BG.

Bounces are so tough to wait out! You just want to do something!

Unfortunately, his body has to spend more time in the lower numbers in order to get used to them again (the new new normal!) What often happens is that the bounces become less frequent, they last a shorter and shorter time, and they are less intense (meaning the numbers don’t go as high.)
 
Back
Top