Advice please

Ashley Morrison

Member Since 2023
Hi all :)

Can someone please review Goku’s spreadsheet for me & point me in the right direction?

A few days ago, Goku had a couple of low numbers after his PM shot. I was advised on the Facebook group that this warranted a dose reduction. So yesterday we dropped down to 1.75 units (we started using calipers as well).

Since the dose reduction, Goku’s numbers have gone back up into the yellow.

Have I done the right thing? Do I hold this dose for 5 days to gain more data then decide what to do with his dosage after that?

I’m just a bit disheartened, because he was doing so well in blues & greens. And the yellows are throwing me off a bit.

Thanks in advance for any help x

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Tzw2yo4IoY0Y2F1BY1WzASvyEgionEv6C940E6aFaPY/edit
 
@Ashley Morrison Congrats on the reduction the other night. It looks like Goku is bouncing from the lime and the string of greens in the 10/21 PM cycle. FDMB defines bouncing:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
I'd hold the dose another day and see if Goku gives you greens again.
@Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) what do you think?
 
@Ashley Morrison Congrats on the reduction the other night. It looks like Goku is bouncing from the lime and the string of greens in the 10/21 PM cycle. FDMB defines bouncing:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
I'd hold the dose another day and see if Goku gives you greens again.
@Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) what do you think?

Thank you! Day 3 of the reduced dose & he seems to be back on track

If we have another low/lime number, should I drop the dose again to 1.50U?
 
Back
Top