advice on next dose - updated BG & question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arathi & Yuki

Member Since 2018
Hi ,
I am looking for some advice for our kitty's next dose (due at around 7:30pm). We tested her BG for the first time today at 12:50pm and her BG reading was 4.6 mmol/L, using alphatrak 2 meter.
  1. She is on 2 units (U40 syringe) of caninsulin/vetsulin - we convert and use U100 syringe (5 units on U 100 syringe)
  2. Last dose given around 7:30am
  3. last food intake before test at around 10:50am.
At present we are struggling to give her the shots, and she didn't respond too well to the first home test. She gets very stressed very easily. So we are not keen on doing a pre shot BG test before her next dose.

Based on her BG of 4.6 please could anyone advice about her next dose. We are thinking of reducing the dosage to 3 units of U 100 (equivalent to 1.2 units of U 40). What do you think?

Many thanks,
Arathi
 
Hi ,
I am looking for some advice for our kitty's next dose (due at around 7:30pm). We tested her BG for the first time today at 12:50pm and her BG reading was 4.6 mmol/L, using alphatrak 2 meter.
  1. She is on 2 units (U40 syringe) of caninsulin/vetsulin - we convert and use U100 syringe (5 units on U 100 syringe)
  2. Last dose given around 7:30am
  3. last food intake before test at around 10:50am.
At present we are struggling to give her the shots, and she didn't respond too well to the first home test. She gets very stressed very easily. So we are not keen on doing a pre shot BG test before her next dose.

Based on her BG of 4.6 please could anyone advice about her next dose. We are thinking of reducing the dosage to 3 units of U 100 (equivalent to 1.2 units of U 40). What do you think?

Many thanks,
Arathi
If you aren't going to test preshots then yes, I would reduce. 4.6 is a perfect nadir number, but without knowing the preshot, if it's lower than it was this morning she could go too low. Continue to work on getting her used to the test. Giving a favorite special treat after a test will help her associate it with good things and cooperate.
 
Thanks. I managed to test BG - came to 20.1 mmol/L at 6:30pm; last food intake was at 4:30 pm. The next dose is due at 7:30pm. I was wondering if it is advisable to give 2 units of caninsulin as usual or reduce to 1 or 1.5 units.
Many thanks,
Arathi
 
If you aren't going to test preshots then yes, I would reduce. 4.6 is a perfect nadir number, but without knowing the preshot, if it's lower than it was this morning she could go too low. Continue to work on getting her used to the test. Giving a favorite special treat after a test will help her associate it with good things and cooperate.
We got a pmps of 20.1 mmol/L and ended up giving her 1.4 units of caninsulin. I did give her a treat second time of testing. Thanks for that tip!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top