Sue:
I have a couple of thoughts. BJ is correct in that regardless of whether you're following TR or SLGS, dose changes are made in no more than 0.5u increments (with TR) and with SLGS, the changes are made in 0.25u increments. I'm guessing you got nervous with the pre-shot of 108 and gave a temporarily reduced dose. With TR, you hold the dose for 3 days; with SLGS, dose increases are made after a week. Given that you're able to get some spot checks, you can use either method providing Frankie is on a low carb, canned food diet.
One thing to keep in mind with Lantus is that it is a depot-type of insulin. Any change in dose has an effect on the depot. Think of it like throwing a rock into a still pool of water. There's a ripple effect. You need to give the dose up to 3 days/6 cycles to stabilize. So, any time you change the dose and especially if you make changes too quickly, the depot reacts and you can end up with wonky numbers. I don't know if this is a failed reduction, not enough insulin, or a depot that's still reacting to the back-to-back changes. I think we need to see what's happening at least during the PM cycle in order to figure this out.
Do you know which approach to dosing you want to follow? That will make a difference in when you can increase and potentially but the size of the dose increase. There's information about both Tight Regulation (TR) and SLGS in the sticky notes at the top of the board.