Advice needed please: AMPS 12.9, no way to test of ketones..

Status
Not open for further replies.

KleineMue

Member Since 2014
Hi, quick question:

Last night's curve (without PMPS):
+2: 12.6
+3: 6.9
+4: 4.9
+6: 14.1

This morning's AMPS 12.9 and then OH gave 1 and 1/2 pouches of food
I retested an hour later 13.7

As per Glucose notes this is in the 'renal' failure range and the advice is to test Ketones, I have no way of doing this though and I also have to go to work.

Am I going for a reduced dose of 1.75 units? Can I help regulate by food? What do I do?


Pedro is an outdoor cat, testing for ketones with those plastic pellets will be neigh impossible and cause some major distress although I understand that this might need doing. There is no other way of testing for ketones, is there? He has a favourite spot where he wees in the garden. If it wouldn't freak him out I'd hold the strip into the spray as he's at it. @-)

Any thought?
Mue x
 
Re: Advice needed please: AMPS 12.9, no way to test of keton

Are you worried that the number is too high? 12.9 is not really that high for cats. Not saying I'm the paragon of diabetic cat care but if Pedro were my cat I wouldn't stress about ketones with a 12.9 if he seems well otherwise.

No advice on testing for ketones with pee... I don't know how I'd do that either, never tried. I have a NovaMax meter that can test blood for ketones. The strips are pretty expensive, but it's an option.

Cheers,
Lori
 
Re: Advice needed please: AMPS 12.9, no way to test of keton

Lori&Scout said:
Are you worried that the number is too high? 12.9 is not really that high for cats. Not saying I'm the paragon of diabetic cat care but if Pedro were my cat I wouldn't stress about ketones with a 12.9 if he seems well otherwise.

No advice on testing for ketones with pee... I don't know how I'd do that either, never tried. I have a NovaMax meter that can test blood for ketones. The strips are pretty expensive, but it's an option.

Cheers,
Lori

Oh goodness, being able to test in the blood would definitely be the better way of doing it!! Happy to pay for expensive strips!!!!

He does seem perfectly find otherwise, so maybe just reduced dosage... Complex puzzle, this diabetes malarkey!
Mue x
 
Re: Advice needed please: AMPS 12.9, no way to test of keton

Hi Mue,

The numbers you're referring too are not 'renal failure range' but the the range at which glucose will begin spilling into the urine (and can be detected on a urine test strip).

Ketones are usually seen at much higher numbers than these (and some cats are more prone to them than others). And ketones mostly occur when other factors, such as infection and/or lack of appetite are also present. (Rarely, a cat in decent numbers will develop ketones, but this is unusual.)

Will Pedro use a litter tray? If so then crumpling cling-film in the tray, or using gravel instead of litter, can help to catch a sample. And one lady here with an outdoor cat developed the skill of catching her cat's pee in a ladle! :shock:
Do you have test strips? (Ketodiastix test for ketones and glucose so are particularly useful.) Here's a link to a page of info about urine testing:
http://www.sugarpet.net/urine.html

Pedro is doing extremely well. I would have been thrilled to see my cat in numbers like these at this stage of the game!

You're doing a brilliant job, Mue. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top