? ADVICE NEEDED-AMPS-108 +2 62 +3 65 +4 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackieP

Member Since 2021
I’m copying my whole post from the Facebook group, but the main info is this morning I shot a half-dose 0.5u after a reading of 108 on Relion Premier. 2.5 hours later he is at a 62. I am sitting here wondering if I should give him some honey or sugar, and how much.

Not quite sure if I did the right thing here. Started on 1u prozinc less than a week ago and only on day 3 of testing. I haven’t been able to get too many mid cycle readings yet just because my days are kind of chaotic but I’m trying my best to get in a routine.
This mornings pre-shot was 108 which is the lowest number I have seen yet(yesterday AM 234 and PM 117), and we’re in the middle of transitioning to low-carb canned.

I was too nervous to give him the full dose so I gave him 0.5

Tried to give him Evolve Turkey but he looked disgusted so opened a can of FF pate and he started eating a little. I know it’s important that he eats something but didn’t want to go straight to the kibble if I could avoid it.

I know this will get easier once I get more data but I’m not sure if I jumped the gun on reducing his dose this morning…
I just found the prozinc dosing methods on the FDMB but iguess I don’t know how to confidently dose when I don’thave enough data yet.
 
I would suggest giving your kitty a tablespoon of low carb and re-test in 30 min. If numbers are where they currently are after the feeding, waiting 30 min, and re-testing, they give a small amount of HC food.

HOWEVER, if you are using an AlphaTrack or other pet specific meter, go right to high carb food. .
 
I would suggest giving your kitty a tablespoon of low carb and re-test in 30 min. If numbers are where they currently are after the feeding, waiting 30 min, and re-testing, they give a small amount of HC food.

HOWEVER, if you are using an AlphaTrack or other pet specific meter, go right to high carb food. .
I just retested, about 45 minutes since 62 and a little over 3 hours since he got 0.5 prozinc. Right now two back to back tests read 68 and 65. I’m going to try to keep him close to me and make sure he eats

I’m using Relion human meter
 
@JackieP ....unless he drops below 50 on a human meter, you should just try using a little regular low carb food to see if you can stop him from dropping too much more and hopefully stabilize ....You don't want to give HC because that defeats the purpose. We want them spending as much time as possible between 50-120.

Next time you get a PS under 200 (since you don't have much testing data yet) you should stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see where the blood glucose is going. Use that time to post here with a clear subject line like "STALLING! NEED HELP!" (once you have somebody's attention, you can edit your subject line)

It'll also help if you'll work on your "Signature" and start a spreadsheet. There's some good information in this "How to help us help you" thread.

If spreadsheet's aren't your thing, I'd be happy to set one up for you. You can contact me privately here or on Facebook.
 
Thanks Chris! You actually helped me set up a spreadsheet the other day… I’ve been using it and it’s been super helpful! Today is my first day using the forum so I’m still learning my way around but I’ll get a better handle on proper etiquette and get a signature setup ASAP. Just was kinda panicked after a fb comment that my kitty might be in trouble

so far since his half dose:
62 @ +2.5
68/65(took two tests)@+3.5
79 @+4 (after slightly panicking and offering kibble… was so worried he was gonna continue to drop rapidly.
Still planning on testing in 30 minute intervals until he passes his nadir…. And possibly skipping tonight’s dose if he’s under 200
 
Okay I just added the link to my signature! I’m going to go ahead and remove the urgent 911 from my title because I have a rough idea of what I’m doing now… I just panicked earlier
 
Okay I just added the link to my signature! I’m going to go ahead and remove the urgent 911 from my title because I have a rough idea of what I’m doing now… I just panicked earlier

Great job! When you have a few minutes, also add some other info to your Signature like:

Your name/Cat's name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health issues or meds? and then the link to your spreadsheet goes at the end.

As for panicking, that's totally normal!! Now don't tell anybody, but the first time China dropped below 50, I knew I could use syrup so I dumped a bunch in a bowl and gave it to her. She liked it!! Needless to say, her BG went up...and up...and up!!

Later I found out I was supposed to just use a drop or two, not half the bottle!
 
It’s showing on my end….

also just tested at +5 and updated my spreadsheet… still rising at 89
Now I can see your signature, one thing can you please add to your signature what he's eating, is it low carb wet, or wet and kibble? We need to know this :cat:
What a cute pic you have of your baby Mickey
 
Also I will give you the link for the dosing methods for Prozinc
Can you please choose one to follow
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
I’m leaning toward “start low go slow”
Since he is less than a week in and we are switching to low carb canned… the only reason I gave him dry food yesterday was because by +3 it looked like he was dipping too fast. This morning I decided to skip his shot all together because he was at 112, very close to where he was yesterday morning, where I ended up regretting even giving him 0.5.
I think I should be able to check him every few hours today and see how things go. He had a vet appt scheduled for today at +6 but since I didn’t give him his shot I guess I’ll go ahead and cancel that
 
I’m leaning toward “start low go slow”
Since he is less than a week in and we are switching to low carb canned… the only reason I gave him dry food yesterday was because by +3 it looked like he was dipping too fast. T
Can you add SLGS to your signature
Instead of the kibble you should have some of these at home and honey
only reason I gave him dry food yesterday was because by +3 it looked like hewas dipping too fast.
Instead of the kibble have some of these at home and some honey
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top