Advice- Need to give 1.5hrs early amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
I need your advice all. I have to leave tomorrow am early and have to give amps 1.5hrs early. What should i do? SHould i give a reduced dose depending on the amps? What do you think i should give? I had to give shot 1/2 early each cycle today to try and get earlier tomorrow. He did pretty well today on the .8(fat) and go in the blue's. SHould i give maybe .6u tomorrow am? Since i had to give earlier each cycle the last couple of days to catch up a little on shot times, i'm afraid it will be too much?

Thanks
Lori
 
Hi Lori, I personally would be very wary of shooting 1.5 hrs ahead of schedule only because I got burned shooting an hr early. In addition, you won't be around to monitor. I would go with a reduced dose, perhaps .4-.5?? What is your comfort level with the .6u?
 
Lori,
I'm a little confused on the timing.
Tonight was 1/2 early...so you shot at +11.5 from this morning's AMPS? And in the morning, will that be 1.5 hours early from tonight's shot? From the PMPS tonight, will you be shooting at +10.5?

I'm thinking I would draw a line in the sand, and say IF AMPS is higher than X then I will shoot .6, and if lower than X I will shoot .4? Depending on the answer to my questions about timing, we can figure out what "X" is.

Carl

PS, I looked at the SS, Lori, and what I don't see lately is the "long duration" issue Copper has had from time to time, not lately anyway. That's a good thing, IMO. The SS doesn't look terrible. I'd be happy to see some "blues" on it of course, but I think the only way you will get there is with a slightly higher dose. But don't think about that yet. Let's wait until his schedule and yours get back to normal.
 
Carl,

Thanks for advice. i did shoot yesterday's amps and pmps 1/2 hr early/each(11.5 each time). Today the same thing: amps and pmps(11.5/each)- Was trying to get him at least 45min earlier, but just couldn't get it done.

So tomorrow morning i have to give 2hrs earlier(+10)- Don't like to do that, but i have no choice. I don't want to leave him hanging with nothing. Today his nadir was in the blue's and that was on 1u. Shot 1u again tonight and now he is high @+4. Not sure what to think. Maybe giving 1/2hr earlier is messing him up? Can't imagine it would. Also, not sure my meter is very accurate lately. It is running a little higher than the alpha Trac.

THought maybe to shoot half the dose(.5u) i've been shooting just to be safe. The kids will be here with a sitter all day so they can watch him and feed him every couple of hours. They can't test him though. If he does hypo for some reason the sitter has instructions on what to do. My kids know what to do too.

Does this sound about right? Does the timing make sense now?

lori
 
Yes, that makes sense, Lori.

.5 is a good idea.
I agree with you that 30 minutes either way is not a big deal. 2 hours is a bit different. But with a "half dose", he should be just fine.

If you do get a low PS, like under 225? Just skinny up that .5

Tomorrow PMPS, is that going to be 12 hours after the AMPS, or longer than that?

Lori, don't stress too much over this. Sometimes you have to schedule diabetes around your life, and not your life around the diabetes. Bob's shots were not very often given exactly 12 hours apart. 11-13 hours was the rule rather than the exception.
Carl
 
Thanks Carl for encouragement. I know my whole life has changed for Copper since September 2011. I will try not to stress. This is the first i've been able to leave him more than 4hrs at a time. Feels just like when i had to leave my kids with a sitter for the 1st time. Nervous wreck!

Yes, i will try to give pmps +12. I hope to be home by then, but not 100%sure. If i'm delayed too much, i'm not sure what i will do.

Lori

P.s.
Need the sunrise pics to destress!
 
well, for tonight, sunset will have to do...

Have a great day tomorrow, and when PMPS time comes, if you have questions, ask away!
Carl
 

Attachments

  • sunsetJPG.JPG
    sunsetJPG.JPG
    27.4 KB · Views: 251
AWESOME sunset. i like them too!

THANKS!!!! Now i can get some zzzzzz before i have to get up and leave in 5hrs.

Goodnight!

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top