? *ADVICE FOR VACATION DOSE?* 5/18 Blaze amps 86 +3 83 +8 88 PMPS 82 +2 70 +4 64

B1FB8CE6-615A-471C-82F4-72D12E546FA9.jpeg
Blaze snuggling his brother, Tunchi
 

Attachments

  • B1FB8CE6-615A-471C-82F4-72D12E546FA9.jpeg
    B1FB8CE6-615A-471C-82F4-72D12E546FA9.jpeg
    82.4 KB · Views: 87
They are so adorable!! Two snugglies!! I wish Luci could have gotten along with her sibs...they were much older at the time...and have since passed...but she only wanted to attack and act crazy...neither of them liked her...

Blaze's numbers are absolutely fabulous! If you had a couple of weeks of those greens you could take him into the OTJ trial!!

This is just the trial info just in case you're interested in reading up:

OTJ trial instructions:
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day.
If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working! Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed.
He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on. Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
They are so adorable!! Two snugglies!! I wish Luci could have gotten along with her sibs...they were much older at the time...and have since passed...but she only wanted to attack and act crazy...neither of them liked her...

Blaze's numbers are absolutely fabulous! If you had a couple of weeks of those greens you could take him into the OTJ trial!!

This is just the trial info just in case you're interested in reading up:

OTJ trial instructions:
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day.
If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working! Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed.
He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on. Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
Aw that’s a bummer they didn’t get along with sweet little Luci! I definitely got lucky that my cats get along. Blaze and Tunchi, pictured above, were adopted at the same time. Blaze was 6 months and Tunchi was 3 months old when I adopted them together so they’ve grown up together and really are like brothers. We got Mitzy four years ago, my husband found here wandering around near our house, she was only three months old! We think someone dropped her off, we live out in the country and it happens often :( DH told me I had to find her a home when we found her and now she will be four this Wednesday and she’s our little baby girl:p the boys did not like her at first, they would hiss at her constantly! But now they all love each other like brother and sister, thankfully.

And I was wondering if Blaze stays in the greens for a week, should we try the one drop dose? He’s at 0.1 U right now. We will be out of town this coming weekend, Friday morning to Monday afternoon, so I was wondering if I should lower his dose to 1 drop while we are out of town and the pet sitter is in charge. She can only come over for AMPS and PMPS.
 
We will be out of town this coming weekend, Friday morning to Monday afternoon, so I was wondering if I should lower his dose to 1 drop while we are out of town and the pet sitter is in charge. She can only come over for AMPS and PMPS.

I think you should put a question mark on your post tomorrow and get some more opinions...this is a crucial time...I'd hate to lower his dose just to see him slip up to a blue...and then on the other hand, don't want to miss any of the action in case he slips lower - which is just what you're looking for right now. If he slipped to a lime now, it would mean he'd earn that reduction...to a single tiny drop...

I guess if it was me, I'd try to find a way to monitor him closely over the next couple of weeks...this is what you've been working for all this time....I know how much you need/want this break, but I'd probably find a way to take Luci with me on the trip...but that's just me. After all the time/effort you've put into this here we are at this juncture...

How about asking some of the other experienced members how they'd handle this?
 
I think you should put a question mark on your post tomorrow and get some more opinions...this is a crucial time...I'd hate to lower his dose just to see him slip up to a blue...and then on the other hand, don't want to miss any of the action in case he slips lower - which is just what you're looking for right now. If he slipped to a lime now, it would mean he'd earn that reduction...to a single tiny drop...

I guess if it was me, I'd try to find a way to monitor him closely over the next couple of weeks...this is what you've been working for all this time....I know how much you need/want this break, but I'd probably find a way to take Luci with me on the trip...but that's just me. After all the time/effort you've put into this here we are at this juncture...

How about asking some of the other experienced members how they'd handle this?
There’s just no way for us to take him camping with us. He does not do well in the car so I know he wouldn’t handle a two hour car ride well at all. I know that would stress him out and I don’t want to do that to him. And we camp in a tent, if we had a trailer, I would 100% bring him but we don’t have one. There’s a ton of reasons why it just doesn’t seem like a good idea to take him. It’s going to be cold up there, I would have to get some kind of enclosed playpen to keep him in all day, I would be terrified of him getting out and running off scared, I wouldn’t feel comfortable leaving him alone in the camp at all, meaning I couldn’t go fishing or hiking or biking at all. I think it would be more stressful for me to bring him. I really wish I could, I hate to go out of town for a few days when he’s doing so well. But I’m going back to work June 1st, it’s going to be extremely busy trying to catch up on all the patients who had to have their cleanings canceled during this quarantine so I know it will be months before I get another opportunity to go camping, or go probably go out of town at all.

I’m just going to have to figure out a dose for Blaze while we’re out of town. Maybe I can keep him on this dose and decide on a no shoot number for the pet sitter, and maybe I can have her feed him 12% carb to keep him up a little bit while we’re out of town. I guess I will post tomorrow to get some
other opinions like you suggested.
 
I’m trying to figure out what to do for this coming weekend when I’ll be out of town. We will have a pet sitter coming twice a day, for AMPS and PMPS. She won’t be able to test any more than that.

Maybe while we are out of town this weekend, we can keep Blaze’s dose at 0.10U for the pet sitter, she can feed him his normal LC food for breakfast and dinner and I’ll have her put 12% in the auto feeder for his snacks. And maybe we can figure out a “no shoot” number for her. Like if he’s under 80, no insulin?

Or, starting Wednesday, I could reduce him to 1 drop and have the pet sitter feed his normal LC food for breakfast/dinner and snacks while we’re out of town.

Any advice?
 
As I suggested before, I would try the “wave a syringe over his head, but do not inject” dose next. ;) The drop dose isn’t even mentioned in the protocol Sticky and was started as another dose to help cats that seem to need some insulin support to go all green. I don’t think Blaze needs it and it would be safer while you are away.
 
Back
Top