Advice for Horribly timed fur shot

Charlie'sMom22

Active Member
I feel like an idiot and I’m so mad at myself! Newly diagnosed cat and I’ve had to skip the last two nights’ shots because I didn’t have a glucose monitor. Finally got it today and have been testing all day. He really needed his shot tonight and I totally screwed it up!! I’m not sure what to do. It looked like most it didn’t make it in. His pre shot level was 294.
 
I feel like an idiot and I’m so mad at myself! Newly diagnosed cat and I’ve had to skip the last two nights’ shots because I didn’t have a glucose monitor. Finally got it today and have been testing all day. He really needed his shot tonight and I totally screwed it up!! I’m not sure what to do. It looked like most it didn’t make it in. His pre shot level was 294.
Don't feel like an idiot we all have been there and done that, it happens, especially when we anticipate, 294 is high but not too bad, just wait to AMPS, tomorrow is another day:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:;)
 
Last edited:
I feel like an idiot and I’m so mad at myself! Newly diagnosed cat and I’ve had to skip the last two nights’ shots because I didn’t have a glucose monitor. Finally got it today and have been testing all day. He really needed his shot tonight and I totally screwed it up!! I’m not sure what to do. It looked like most it didn’t make it in. His pre shot level was 294.
@Christie & Maverick
Hi Christie just to keep you in the loop since you helped her on her introduction post , She finally got the meter
 
@Christie & Maverick
Hi Christie just to keep you in the loop since you helped her on her introduction post , She finally got the meter
Good morning, I see a good morning for Charlie with nice blues, you might have not given a fur shot after all, it happens to me as well I panic because I could’ve sworn it was a FUR SHOT( I even note it in Corky’s SS in remarks with an * after the high BG,,then by + 6 he’s making me look bad, just do remember when you have a fur shot the fur will be wet or will squirt out of the syringe, if that were the case do not give another dose, we don’t know if and how much insulin really went inside , and is better to be safe than sorry:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
@Charlie'sMom22
Hi Jess where you put the P you need to put PFS on the unit cell just not a P
Also I don't understand the BG numbers you have for today , the way you entered them on the spreadsheet
I'm assuming the 169, 184 and the 179 BG numbers should be in the AMPS cell above the 187 you have ?
Nice blue numbers :cat:

Did you get another text last night after the 294 BG number?

If you ever think you have a fur shot Maria is correct the fur will feel wet and never give another shot.
Plus the Lantus will smell like a bandaid
 
Last edited:
@Charlie'sMom22
Hi Jess where you put the P you need to put PFS on the unit cell just not a P
Also I don't understand the BG numbers you have for today , the way you entered them on the spreadsheet
I'm assuming the 169, 184 and the 179 BG numbers should be in the AMPS cell above the 187 you have ?
Nice blue numbers :cat:

Did you get another text last night after the 294 BG number?

If you ever think you have a fur shot Maria is correct the fur will feel wet and never give another shot.
Plus the Lantus will smell like a bandaid


Okay, thank you! Updated. I didn't get another test last night, but I will try to get a couple during tonight's cycle. I wish the vet had given me more information before I decided on the timing of his shots--we usually go to bed by 1AM (+3) so I will have to set an alarm to wake me up at 4AM if I want to get a +6 reading :eek:

I'm having a lot of trouble getting his ears to bleed today too and I had to take a break because I'm super frustrated. I went through 6 test strips just now! Thankfully he sits still and is such a good boy, but his ears are looking quite beat up :( I'm really looking forward to having the Libre CGM placed in a couple weeks to give us both a break.

I'm positive it was at least a partial furshot last night, I saw a big fat drop come out and drip down the needle and he smelled like a bandaid all night, haha.
 
@Charlie'sMom22
Hi Jess I'm pretty sure if you want to start to shoot earlier
You can move your shot time back by 30 minutes per day under most circumstances without messing things up. it's generally acceptable to shoot 30 minutes early/late with minimal impact. Any earlier could act like an increase . I'm going to tag a few members for you to be sure
Sorry you had to poke Charlie so many times to get a reading.
If his ears look beat up you can put some pure coconut oil on them . Give me a minute


I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil
It's fine if they lick it
 
Last edited:
I wish the vet had given me more information before I decided on the timing of his shots--we usually go to bed by 1AM (+3) so I will have to set an alarm to wake me up at 4AM if I want to get a +6 reading :eek:
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Christie & Maverick
@Angela & Cleo
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom

Hi ladies if Jess wants to shoot earlier so she can get a +6 I gave her this information on how to do it , is this correct

if you want to start to shoot earlier
You can move your shot time back by 30 minutes per day under most circumstances without messing things up. it's generally acceptable to shoot 30 minutes early/late with minimal impact.
 
Last edited:
@Charlie'sMom22
Hi Jess I'm pretty sure if you want to start to shoot earlier
You can move your shot time back by 30 minutes per day under most circumstances without messing things up. it's generally acceptable to shoot 30 minutes early/late with minimal impact. Any earlier could act like an increase . I'm going to tag a few members for you to be sure
Sorry you had to poke Charlie so many times to get a reading.
If his ears look beat up you can put some pure coconut oil on them . Give me a minute


I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil
It's fine if they lick it

Thank you! I tried the warm rice in a sock and that did the trick! Just tested and got 133. I've been putting a bit of neosporin ointment on after--is that okay?
 
Thank you! I tried the warm rice in a sock and that did the trick! Just tested and got 133. I've been putting a bit of neosporin ointment on after--is that okay?
@Charlie'sMom22
I tagged a few members for you to see if the information I gave you is correct if you want to move your shot time up

don't use the Neosporin. There is new information that one of the ingredients in it is not good for cats. Check out this post:
Warning about Neosporin

I'm glad the rice sock worked . Are you using either 26 or 28 gauge lancets also
That's a nice blue number :cat:

What is your shooting time now. When you skipped the 2 shots before you got the meter you could have shot any time you wanted to. But who knew you might want to start shooting earlier :cat:
 
Last edited:
@Charlie'sMom22
I tagged a few members for you to see if the information I gave you is correct if you want to move your shot time up

don't use the Neosporin. There is new information that one of the ingredients in it is not good for cats. Check out this post:
Warning about Neosporin

I'm glad the rice sock worked . Are you using either 26 or 28 gauge lancets also
That's a nice blue number :cat:
You can also get a small flashlight, I place it in my mouth to see the blood drop, and you can squeeze the sides of where you pinched to milk the blood out, don’t beat yourself up after 2 years+ pinching Corky’s ear just Sunday I used 5 strips on AMPS, myself it happens that’s why I always have a 250 monthly supply of strips, aside that I am a compulsive tester I admit it :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
@Charlie'sMom22
I tagged a few members for you to see if the information I gave you is correct if you want to move your shot time up

don't use the Neosporin. There is new information that one of the ingredients in it is not good for cats. Check out this post:
Warning about Neosporin

I'm glad the rice sock worked . Are you using either 26 or 28 gauge lancets also
That's a nice blue number :cat:

What is your shooting time now. When you skipped the 2 shots before you got the meter you could have shot any time you wanted to. But who knew you might want to start shooting earlier :cat:
Noted! I'll get some coconut oil. I use 28 gauge.

I shoot at 10AM. We usually wake up around 9AM and go to bed around 1AM. Right now it takes about an hour for me to wake up, eat my breakfast, and feed him his breakfast & test about 1/2 hour before his shot. Maybe once I get faster I'll start moving the time back. But if I do that then I'll have to wake up earlier which is much easier said than done ;)

If I were only able to test once or twice for a few PM cycles until we get the sensor, what are the most important times? +2 and +6?
 
Last edited:
Noted! I'll get some coconut oil. I use 28 gauge.

I shoot at 10AM. We usually wake up around 9AM and go to bed around 1AM. Right now it takes about an hour for me to wake up, eat my breakfast, and feed him his breakfast & test about 1/2 hour before his shot. Maybe once I get faster I'll start moving the time back. But if I do that then I'll have to wake up earlier which is much easier said than done ;)

If I were only able to test once or twice for a few PM cycles until we get the sensor, what are the most important times? +2 and +6?
Yes that's Right, I just realized you are changing his shot time, so as Diane suggested is the times to test, not +2+6
 
Last edited:
Noted! I'll get some coconut oil. I use 28 gauge.

I shoot at 10AM. We usually wake up around 9AM and go to bed around 1AM. Right now it takes about an hour for me to wake up, eat my breakfast, and feed him his breakfast & test about 1/2 hour before his shot. Maybe once I get faster I'll start moving the time back. But if I do that then I'll have to wake up earlier which is much easier said than done ;)

If I were only able to test once or twice for a few PM cycles until we get the sensor, what are the most important times? +2 and +6?
Ok well if you decide to change the shooting times you know what to do. For now
So I guess for now until you get the Libre Sensor try and get the+3 before you go to bed
We do like to get a +6 though.
Just want to be sure you are withholding feed him 2 hours before you test him , you don't want the number to be influenced by food

I don't know if you work , if not during the day try and mix up the testing times such as get a+2 , a+4 and +6

Maybe next day get a+3 , a+5 and a+7

Same goes for the weekends if possible
@Charlie'sMom22
 
Last edited:
Ok well if you decide to change the shooting times you know what to do. For now
So I guess for now until you get the Libre Sensor try and get the+3 before you go to bed
We do like to get a +6 though.
Just want to be sure you are withholding feed him 2 hours before you test him , you don't want the number to be influenced by food

I don't know if you work , if not during the day try and mix up the testing times such as get a+2 , a+4 and +6

Maybe next day get a+3 , a+5 and a+7

Same goes for the weekends if possible
@Charlie'sMom22


Okay thanks for the advice! I WFH so I can easily get a +6 during the day, but that one will be influenced by food as he is usually fed a small amount of wet food every couple of hours and he grazes on it. He gets his last meal of the day with his PM shot. Going to try and get a +6 right now and then give him a break until his PM shot--his ears are bruised :blackeye::( I must be poking too deep or something or maybe the sock is too hot?
 
Okay thanks for the advice! I WFH so I can easily get a +6 during the day, but that one will be influenced by food as he is usually fed a small amount of wet food every couple of hours and he grazes on it. He gets his last meal of the day with his PM shot. Going to try and get a +6 right now and then give him a break until his PM shot--his ears are bruised :blackeye::( I must be poking too deep or something or maybe the sock is too hot?
it could be the sock, test the sock as a baby's milk, in a bottle, I do not heat the sock, never had, like I said I do some things differently.:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Okay thanks for the advice! I WFH so I can easily get a +6 during the day, but that one will be influenced by food as he is usually fed a small amount of wet food every couple of hours and he grazes on it. He gets his last meal of the day with his PM shot. Going to try and get a +6 right now and then give him a break until his PM shot--his ears are bruised :blackeye::( I must be poking too deep or something or maybe the sock is too hot?


Jess you only have to withhold feeding 2 hours before the first test , the AMPS and PMPS . It's ok if he grazes on it. You said his last meal is his PMPS , you can give him about a teaspoon or two before you go to bed
@Charlie'sMom22
 
After you get the blood onto the test strip, firmly hold a tissue on the ear to stop the bleeding and minimize any bruising. Bruising is common with new diabetics. If you're using the lancet device, use the lowest setting that just gives you enough blood with a warmed up ear. You might have to try a different setting when getting spot checks in to see what is the best setting.

If the sock is too hot, your cat will let you know by flinching. Let the sock cool for a few minutes and try again. Next time, warm the sock up for less time in the microwave. If you have uncooked rice or beans in the sock you may find that you have to use less microwave time as the rice or beans lose moisture from being microwaved multiple times a day.
 
Jess you only have to withhold feeding 2 hours before the first test , the AMPS and PMPS . It's ok if he grazes on it. You said his last meal is his PMPS , you can give him about a teaspoon or two before you go to bed
@Charlie'sMom22
Ah okay, I think I get it. So if I give him the shot at 10 which means I start testing and feeding him around 9:30, I should not feed him after 7:30? It’s easy to do that with AMPS as we’re sleeping at that time but I’ll have to be make sure to feed before 7:30pm so he doesn’t get hungry. Is it okay to give a couple of treats during that window like if I’m doing a spot test?
 
After you get the blood onto the test strip, firmly hold a tissue on the ear to stop the bleeding and minimize any bruising. Bruising is common with new diabetics. If you're using the lancet device, use the lowest setting that just gives you enough blood with a warmed up ear. You might have to try a different setting when getting spot checks in to see what is the best setting.

If the sock is too hot, your cat will let you know by flinching. Let the sock cool for a few minutes and try again. Next time, warm the sock up for less time in the microwave. If you have uncooked rice or beans in the sock you may find that you have to use less microwave time as the rice or beans lose moisture from being microwaved multiple times a day.
Thank you so much! I feel a lot better knowing it’s common. His ears are pretty hairy and it’s impossible to see any veins aside from the marginal one and I keep poking through his ear :( my poor baby. Im freehanding the lancet because I read something about the clicking of the device freaking them out which I can definitely see happening with him. Thanks for the tips!
 
Thank you so much! I feel a lot better knowing it’s common. His ears are pretty hairy and it’s impossible to see any veins aside from the marginal one and I keep poking through his ear :( my poor baby. Im freehanding the lancet because I read something about the clicking of the device freaking them out which I can definitely see happening with him. Thanks for the tips!
Use a small flashlight to look at the veins from the inside then to see the blood drop from the outside I have a small one I put in my mouth to have free hands to test, the monitor in front of Corky, the speck on one hand the lancet on the other I use a small piece of tissue after to hold the ear from bleeding more I hope this helps:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Ah okay, I think I get it. So if I give him the shot at 10 which means I start testing and feeding him around 9:30, I should not feed him after 7:30? It’s easy to do that with AMPS as we’re sleeping at that time but I’ll have to be make sure to feed before 7:30pm so he doesn’t get hungry. Is it okay to give a couple of treats during that window like if I’m doing a spot test?
If you test him at 9:30 AM and his BG number is high enough to give him the Insulin
With Lantus you test, feed and shoot all within 5-10 minutes.
If you shoot at 10:00 AM you withhold food starting at 8:00 AM ,you can give him a few low carb treats at 7:30 AM
Same goes for the PM cycle
Lantus doesn't kick in until 2 hours after you shoot

If you test , feed and shoot at 9:30 AM then you withhold food starting at 7:30 AM you can give him a few low carb treats at 7:00 AM
Same goes for the PM dose

What kind of treats are you talking about


Here is some information on freeze dried treats
Click on this link and look at post #6. Numbers are to the right
You can get any freeze dried treats ,information is there
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/brand-new-many-questions-3.255627/#post-2878703

Freeze dried treats that only contain one ingredient (the meat or fish) is zero carb and fine to feed to a diabetes



@Charlie'sMom22
 
Last edited:
If you test him at 9:30 AM and his BG number is high enough to give him the Insulin
With Lantus you test, feed and shoot all within 5-10 minutes.
If you shoot at 10:00 AM you withhold food starting at 8:00 AM ,you can give him a few low carb treats at 7:30 AM
Same goes for the PM cycle
Lantus doesn't kick in until 2 hours after you shoot

If you test , feed and shoot at 9:30 AM then you withhold food starting at 7:30 AM you can give him a few low carb treats at 7:00 AM
Same goes for the PM dose

What kind of treats are you talking about


Here is some information on freeze dried treats
Click on this link and look at post #6. Numbers are to the right
You can get any freeze dried treats ,information is there
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/brand-new-many-questions-3.255627/#post-2878703

Freeze dried treats that only contain one ingredient (the meat or fish) is zero carb and fine to feed to a diabetes



@Charlie'sMom22


Got it, thank you! Maybe someday it will only take me 5-10 minutes to test, feed, and shoot, but he's a slow eater and I'm terribly clumsy so it takes us closer to a half hour to get everything done hahaha. And I give him Whole Life Just One (freeze dried chicken). He also gets Whole Life Gut Health treats once a day in his treat dispenser ball to get him to walk around.
 
I just saw in remarks that Charlie had not pooped for 7 days, that is not good, I am glad he did, with wet food they do not poop as often as with dry food because there less waste going in their system, Corky and Coco tend to be constipated from time to time, the Forum recommended MIRALAX, it is an soft human laxative over the counter 1/4 tsp twice a day for about 4-5 days twice a day, or LACTALOSE, needs prescription or the Vet usually have it handy, you give 1.5ml twice a day also 4-5 days twice a day, both can be added in the food, it is tasteless, this will make them regular, and repeat if you see more than 4 days without pooping never let Charlie not poop for 7 days, that can be dangerous:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I just saw in remarks that Charlie had not pooped for 7 days, that is not good, I am glad he did, with wet food they do not poop as often as with dry food because there less waste going in their system, Corky and Coco tend to be constipated from time to time, the Forum recommended MIRALAX, it is an soft human laxative over the counter 1/4 tsp twice a day for about 4-5 days twice a day, or LACTALOSE, needs prescription or the Vet usually have it handy, you give 1.5ml twice a day also 4-5 days twice a day, both can be added in the food, it is tasteless, this will make them regular, and repeat if you see more than 4 days without pooping never let Charlie not poop for 7 days, that can be dangerous:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Thank you!

The vet is aware—this was the longest he’s gone. I switched his food about a month ago and it caused ongoing constiptaion issues, not popping for 4/5 days, leading up to this diagnosis (I asked for a full workup because I felt something was off). The vet did an x-ray to check for blockage/mega colon and everything looked good. They had me put him on miralax 1/4tsp 2x per day. I got him down to pooping every 3 days and then had to take him in for a cystocentesis urine test for the diabetes which I believe spiked his glucose further and caused him to regress. I spoke with the vet on Monday that it had been 6 days since he pooped. They said to just keep giving him insulin as the high BG could be contributing to it and if he hadn’t gone by Tuesday I’d have to bring him in for an enema. Luckily he went.

I was adding pumpkin to his food as well but now he’s sick of it so I’m trying to find something else that will help with fiber and moisture. Something like a chicken flavored food topper would be ideal. Any ideas?
 
I feel like an idiot and I’m so mad at myself! Newly diagnosed cat and I’ve had to skip the last two nights’ shots because I didn’t have a glucose monitor. Finally got it today and have been testing all day. He really needed his shot tonight and I totally screwed it up!! I’m not sure what to do. It looked like most it didn’t make it in. His pre shot level was 294.
I’m pretty new here, too, and have made my share of mistakes, and asked what seems like dozens of questions! We love our furbabies, and this is so scary. You’re not alone! Hugs to Charlie!
 
@Charlie'sMom22
Hi Jess I just noticed you haven't picked a dosing method when using Lantus .
I'll give you the link so you can read about the 2
Each one will tell you when to increase or decrease when needed. When you decide please add it to your signature and spreadsheet up top

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

With TR you can increase every 3 days if needed. With SLGS you can increase after 7 days if needed.
TR is more aggressive

The minimum number of tests with either TR or SLGS is 4 -- your two pre-shot tests and at least one additional test during the AM and PM cycles. While more tests are always better,

But please read about each one
Hopefully you can get another test in at night that's closer to +6
Maybe a +4
 
Last edited:
I was adding pumpkin to his food as well but now he’s sick of it so I’m trying to find something else that will help with fiber and moisture. Something like a chicken flavored food topper would be ideal. Any ideas?

Chicken broth that you make yourself from scratch. You literally just poach a chicken (breast, thigh, whole chicken if you want) in water. Shred the meat to use for your meals and keep some as cat treats. Freeze the broth in ice cube trays to use as needed. Too much broth? Save some to make chicken soup or any recipe that calls for chicken broth for yourself :)

You can also soak freeze dried chicken treats in water for half an hour or so. Give the now super soft treats to your cat and use the water to add to canned food. Some brands might not rehdyrate well. If the treats you try don't get soft after soaking, try a different brand. Treats that have more of an astronaut ice cream texture are easier to soak than hard ones.

I'm pretty sure there are fiber supplements for cats. You can look into that. Cat grass provides some fiber but not all cats will eat it and some cats who do will mostly scarf and barf which means it's kind of pointless as a fiber supplement :rolleyes: Unflavored Benefiber or Metamucil may be used. Ask the vet first.
 
Thank you!

The vet is aware—this was the longest he’s gone. I switched his food about a month ago and it caused ongoing constiptaion issues, not popping for 4/5 days, leading up to this diagnosis (I asked for a full workup because I felt something was off). The vet did an x-ray to check for blockage/mega colon and everything looked good. They had me put him on miralax 1/4tsp 2x per day. I got him down to pooping every 3 days and then had to take him in for a cystocentesis urine test for the diabetes which I believe spiked his glucose further and caused him to regress. I spoke with the vet on Monday that it had been 6 days since he pooped. They said to just keep giving him insulin as the high BG could be contributing to it and if he hadn’t gone by Tuesday I’d have to bring him in for an enema. Luckily he went.

I was adding pumpkin to his food as well but now he’s sick of it so I’m trying to find something else that will help with fiber and moisture. Something like a chicken flavored food topper would be ideal. Any ideas?

When Corky and Coco also were constipated for almost a week the Vet also talked about an enema, they needed to be sedated and almost $200+ each, The Lactulose and MiraLAX, did the job just fine,( the pumpkin didn't help), I still use both now and then when they have not pooped for 3 days, all those vet visits, procedures definitely will spike up the BG, Corky's and Coco's BGs never spiked because of constipation, but as we know all cats are different :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Back
Top