Jenn
There are really two answers to that question.
But isn't .25 to much when he is at 153 already after 1 hour of food?
Shooting .25 with a BG of 153
could be okay. But not in this case.
Shooting any insulin when his number is dropping instead of rising is not a good idea. So you wouldn't want to give him any shot.
Anytime you give a shot, especially when you are in these nice low ranges of numbers, you have to be sure that his BG is on the way up, and not on the way down.
It is actually encouraging that his numbers are dropping after he eats. That makes it look like he is producing some insulin on his own. It may not be enough to push the BG all the way down to "normal" (50-120), but it is a good sign!
Your vet is most likely recommending that you give insulin in that small a dose because Baxter is pretty close to not needing any insulin, and rather than giving "none", which will allow his BG to rise, he's suggesting a tiny dose to stop that from happening.
It's kind of a hard place to be in for you right now. You have to question every shot. You have to do two things, I think.
Figure out a number that you are comfortable shooting at. It looks to me like you decided this morning that "above 200" was where you drew a line? IF you see that again in the morning, and you feel good about it, try .25 instead of the .5 you shot today. What that may do is give you a chance to shoot that small amount again at the PM shot tomorrow, and insulin will be in Baxter more consistently over the course of 24 hours.
At this point though, it's very important to know his number is on the way up when you give him a shot. The easiest way to do that is to test him at +11, and again at AMPS or PMPS. Don't feed him during that time If he's going up, AND over 200, then .25 should be okay. Then you feed him and give him his shot. Then you can check him about 2 hours later and see if he's come down from the insulin, after the food should have made the numbers go up. His pancreas seems to be doing something. It may, or may not, need a little help.
It's probably driving you crazy, but it's a nice problem to have. There's probably a lot of people looking at this thread that would be more than happy to switch places with you.
