emchic
Member Since 2012
1st condo: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=100589
2nd condo: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=101062
Wendy suggested that I post here because Zoozey's numbers have been strange of late. Zoozey's bg numbers started to go up about five weeks ago, which was a week after we all came home to my parents' house for the summer. He had been fairly consistent bg wise for months. I went back to Arlington for a week and left my mom to take care of him. I expected some increase in bg because she was a bit nervous about taking bg readings, and that makes him nervous. Because he was high, I had planned to do a small dose increase to 1.75u when I got back. The day after I leave, his bg shoots up past 400, which was concerning, but he's negative for ketones. yHe's acting completely normal. Nothing is out of the ordinary. He's displaying no signs of stress. His tail is high, he wanders around the house, looks out the window, playfights, etc. He's eating, pooping regularly, peeing regularly, purring, playing, and he preens himself and my other two cats. Since I wasn't there, I told my mom to take him to the vet to check for any signs of infection. Her regular vet was out of town so there was another guy there. Since he didn't have any signs of infection or ketones, the vet upped his dose from 1.5u to 4! My mom didn't know any better, so she went ahead and gave him that dose. His numbers still didn't go down, so visiting vet told her to up his dose to 5u. Again, his numbers didn't go down. When I got back we took him to the vet again once my mom's regular vet returned. Zoozey still wasn't displaying any signs of infection. Dr Crum, the regular vet, agreed with me that the dose increase was too much, so he suggested lowering his dose to 3u because I couldn't just lower his dose from 5u to 1.5u. He also gave Zoozey an antiobiotic shot in case he had an infection brewing that just hadn't manifested itself. That was Thursday. His numbers started to come down a little. I even got a blue reading for the first time in weeks yesterday evening. I wanted to see what his cycle was doing, so I did a curve today (I haven't done pmps yet. He's got another 30 minutes to go). All the numbers were in the three hundreds except for one: amps 329 +2 381 +4 330 +6 313 +8 299 +10 308. He's still feeling fine, which I'm glad about. He's playing right now. If Zoozey is sick or stressed, then he's being really ninja-like about it. I can't find any signs of either in his behavior, and I've been watching him closely. I'd like to do a pm curve on him, but I have problems falling asleep, so once I go to bed I have to stay there, but I stay up as late as I can to get pm mid cycle readings, which are usually lower. He does seem to be trending downward, which is relieving, but I'm still concerned about seeing numbers in the 300s.
Any idea what's going on with him?
I'm headed back out of town on Thursday for a conference in California (which I can't back out of because the English dept picked me to go and my university is paying the $1100 fee for the for the conference) and I won't be back at my parents' until Aug 12. I won't be as available to my mom while I'm gone because I'm going to be in sessions all day long. I just don't want something bad to happen.
2nd condo: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=101062
Wendy suggested that I post here because Zoozey's numbers have been strange of late. Zoozey's bg numbers started to go up about five weeks ago, which was a week after we all came home to my parents' house for the summer. He had been fairly consistent bg wise for months. I went back to Arlington for a week and left my mom to take care of him. I expected some increase in bg because she was a bit nervous about taking bg readings, and that makes him nervous. Because he was high, I had planned to do a small dose increase to 1.75u when I got back. The day after I leave, his bg shoots up past 400, which was concerning, but he's negative for ketones. yHe's acting completely normal. Nothing is out of the ordinary. He's displaying no signs of stress. His tail is high, he wanders around the house, looks out the window, playfights, etc. He's eating, pooping regularly, peeing regularly, purring, playing, and he preens himself and my other two cats. Since I wasn't there, I told my mom to take him to the vet to check for any signs of infection. Her regular vet was out of town so there was another guy there. Since he didn't have any signs of infection or ketones, the vet upped his dose from 1.5u to 4! My mom didn't know any better, so she went ahead and gave him that dose. His numbers still didn't go down, so visiting vet told her to up his dose to 5u. Again, his numbers didn't go down. When I got back we took him to the vet again once my mom's regular vet returned. Zoozey still wasn't displaying any signs of infection. Dr Crum, the regular vet, agreed with me that the dose increase was too much, so he suggested lowering his dose to 3u because I couldn't just lower his dose from 5u to 1.5u. He also gave Zoozey an antiobiotic shot in case he had an infection brewing that just hadn't manifested itself. That was Thursday. His numbers started to come down a little. I even got a blue reading for the first time in weeks yesterday evening. I wanted to see what his cycle was doing, so I did a curve today (I haven't done pmps yet. He's got another 30 minutes to go). All the numbers were in the three hundreds except for one: amps 329 +2 381 +4 330 +6 313 +8 299 +10 308. He's still feeling fine, which I'm glad about. He's playing right now. If Zoozey is sick or stressed, then he's being really ninja-like about it. I can't find any signs of either in his behavior, and I've been watching him closely. I'd like to do a pm curve on him, but I have problems falling asleep, so once I go to bed I have to stay there, but I stay up as late as I can to get pm mid cycle readings, which are usually lower. He does seem to be trending downward, which is relieving, but I'm still concerned about seeing numbers in the 300s.
Any idea what's going on with him?
I'm headed back out of town on Thursday for a conference in California (which I can't back out of because the English dept picked me to go and my university is paying the $1100 fee for the for the conference) and I won't be back at my parents' until Aug 12. I won't be as available to my mom while I'm gone because I'm going to be in sessions all day long. I just don't want something bad to happen.