Advice? 911?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vanlora Light

Member Since 2021
Hi,

So I have two things that concern me at the moment. First is his dosage that I don't know if it needs to be reduced/increased because of his recent numbers, ever since going from 0.50 to 0.25 units of Lantus. Following the 'go slow' method now as well, haven't changed it on the spreadsheet yet.

Second, yesterday he got the rabies vaccine and now in the morning he refused to eat and later I could get him to eat only a little. He is isolating himself, wants to be alone, slow movements. Does not want to be picked up. Called the vet, they said to take him to emergency if he doesn't eat and if it gets worse but I didn't get any other advice or information about this, and if it's normal. They aren't helping.

Now I measured his glucose and it was 349 at 1:30pm! I haven't seen this high for weeks now and I don't know if it's because he is feeling sick from the vaccine or if it's the dose and what I should be doing now.
 
Hi Missy if this is urgent, you might want to edit your thread title and add a 911 or a question mark, that gets the admins attention more quickly (top right, thread tools).

The inappetence and lethargy is concerning for sure.

I am fairly new here so I can't offer any expert advice on this I'm sorry. Maybe Melissa is around? I dont see her online.

@FrostD @Elizabeth and Bertie
 
Hi Missy if this is urgent, you might want to edit your thread title and add a 911 or a question mark, that gets the admins attention more quickly (top right, thread tools).

The inappetence and lethargy is concerning for sure.

I am fairly new here so I can't offer any expert advice on this I'm sorry. Maybe Melissa is around? I dont see her online.

@FrostD @Elizabeth and Bertie
He is less lethargic now and he ate a bit, but I'm still concerned about the other things. My other two pets also got the same vaccine and they are fine, but also Missy has CKD too, I think that is why it takes him more time to recover. But I don't know what to do now when it comes to his insulin dose or the high glucose.
 
Dose is ok for now, with SLGS you reduce under 90 and hold if nadirs are 90-150. He may need an increase soon though.

I suspect raised BG is in response to vaccine, remember that vaccines work by triggering the body to develop an immune response/antibodies. But, it could also be something else entirely...UTI, pancreatitis.

Have you checked ketones?

Is he drinking? Do you give any fluids for CKD or is he early stages?

Sometimes they can be enticed to eat if you crush up treats and sprinkle on top, or plain tuna water (no onions or toxic stuff).

It also sounds a bit like pancreatitis so it's all a bit hard to say without him being seen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top