Adjusting Lantus With Chronic Pancreatitis and UTI's?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaxieMooMoo’sMom

Member Since 2020
I started testing Maxie Moo Moo during a bout with Pancreatitis (12/7/21). The vet thought he was insulin resistant but my home testing proved them wrong. During this time he was getting fluids for pancreatitis and antibiotic for suspected UTI since he was urinating out of the box around the house.

I reduced his insulin from 10u to 5u two times a day during that time and he did very well and recovered.

Since then he has gone to a completely wet diet, I noticed that he was urinating more, he started urinating out of the box and the urine was very sticky. I assumed his blood glucose was too high, spot checked a pre-shot at 240 and adjusted his dose to 8u two times a day.

Did a curve on 1/6/21 and all tests were under 268 @ 8 units.

Preshot the next day was 193 and I couldn't stall and stay home so gave him a reduced amount of insulin 7u. That night preshot he was 188 so I reduced it to 6u because unfortunately, again I couldn't stall.

This morning he was at 202 and I gave him 7u.

Am I doing the wrong thing by adjusting his dosage too much? I know Lantus is a compounding insulin so what I do today is not affecting his numbers until 3ish days from now.

Also, does an antibiotic affect the blood glucose numbers?

Thank you all!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top