Acutrak2 versus human meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marylou and Malika

Member Since 2018
I was reading in the Vetsulin/Catsulin forum referencing when to shoot and when not to shoot. It said when a human reader is at 200 or below, don't shoot. Using Acutrak2, you can 'not shoot' if the number is a little higher.
Does anyone know what the ratio is for a human meter versus Acutrak2? I spent the 'big bucks' for what I thought would be a more precise measure, but I don't see a lot of information using those numbers. I generally have to convert something.
Any insight on how to make the correct association / conversion would be appreciated! Thanks!!
 
I was reading in the Vetsulin/Catsulin forum referencing when to shoot and when not to shoot. It said when a human reader is at 200 or below, don't shoot. Using Acutrak2, you can 'not shoot' if the number is a little higher.
Does anyone know what the ratio is for a human meter versus Acutrak2? I spent the 'big bucks' for what I thought would be a more precise measure, but I don't see a lot of information using those numbers. I generally have to convert something.
Any insight on how to make the correct association / conversion would be appreciated! Thanks!!
Unfortunately, there's no easy way to convert AT meter readings to human meter readings. The human meter will read lower and the difference is less at low BG numbers but more at high numbers. There's probably some unspecified % difference between the two types but we don't rely on that. The general advice is to pick one meter, learn what its ranges mean and stick with it. Put the other out of your head. The AT meter will give you data that's closer to what your vet would measure but the strips for it are very expensive. That's why most people here opt for a human meter.

The key numbers are:
  • BG getting too low - intervene with food: 50 on a human meter/68 on an AT meter
  • for new users - no insulin if BG is below: 200 on a human meter/250 on an AT meter.
 
Unfortunately, there's no easy way to convert AT meter readings to human meter readings. The human meter will read lower and the difference is less at low BG numbers but more at high numbers. There's probably some unspecified % difference between the two types but we don't rely on that. The general advice is to pick one meter, learn what its ranges mean and stick with it. Put the other out of your head. The AT meter will give you data that's closer to what your vet would measure but the strips for it are very expensive. That's why most people here opt for a human meter.

The key numbers are:
  • BG getting too low - intervene with food: 50 on a human meter/68 on an AT meter
  • for new users - no insulin if BG is below: 200 on a human meter/250 on an AT meter.
Thank you for that information! I was under the impression that I shouldn't shoot if the AT is 200 or below. She's finally getting close to the 250 number and I don't want to be the one responsible for putting her in danger by getting her too low.

I'll be doing a curve tomorrow and this should let me know if her behavior after a shot is because she's going too low too fast. I did a comparison of meters at the vet (both AT2) and there was a delta of 25-20, with the vet being lower than mine.

I'm working on getting better at this!
 
The guideline to not shoot at 200 on a human meter/250 on a pet meter is for those just starting out without a lot of data to go off of. Once you get more comfortable with dosing and a better idea of how low your kitty will go on a dose, the lower you can safely shoot.
 
doing a curve and some mid day tests on random days will help to guide you with a no shoot or shoot less number...I use AT and my boy is a diver over time I have found a way to control his dives by steering with food.
good luck :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top