active day but now... Worried

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
Robbie was very active today - playing with catnip toy and cleaning himself. But after dinner he just crashed and literally almost didn't wake up when I went to pet him (he ALWAYS stirs, makes a cute meow noise and greets me) he was 370 at amps +11 I gave him a big dinner so hopefully he would eat it and than not graze all night - So there is that he ate a big dinner (a full can of FF plus a tablespoon left over watered down with lots of water) but at +2 (and 4 hours since he ate) he's at 365 and seems a tad lethargic. He did get up after I tested him and "sharpened his claws" on his scratcher and is now sitting awake but still he just looks a tad out of it. I have the Ketone strips and will follow him if he goes to pee and see if he lets me test him (should be interesting). When does the food really show up and how long till it's effect will fade? He's freaking me out a bit here.
 
Hi Ellen -

I used to see the effect from the food for up to 4 hours - depending on how much he eats (often 2 cans FF). That's why I started tracking the food on my SS - time AND quantity. Since I've started the new bottle of ProZinc (Good Friday), I'm seeing less of a spike, and even numbers below the preshot at +1 and +2! Also, my food spike was typically 30 or more points. That's why I typically don't take a +1 - there isn't usually much to report at that point!

Okay, you've probalby explained this and I missed it... why are you feeding at +11? To make sure he eats/digests before giving the shot? So do you base your shot on the +11 test number? Most of us test, feed, shoot at the preshots; some of us also feed snacks or mini meals at least once mid-cycle. But typically we don't feed within 2 hours before a shot time - so the preshot number isn't influenced by the food.
 
The feeding is based on a few things - when I'm home, how he's acting and what his numbers are as well as how he's been "trained" since he was little - His shot time is or should be 7am/7pm - his "food clock" has been set for 10 years that 5pm is dinner time - having a hard time adjusting that although when possible we're trying to give dinner at 4ish if anyone is home. Work wise 7am/pm is the best time for me to have shots occur - I actually fed him at +10 tonight - basically at 5:15pm - shot was 7pm - don't know why I put +11 but he had been fed at +11 before too. I always test before I feed him and yes, I do take that number as the "unaffected by food" number and use that as well as what he tests an hour later (an hour after eating) to determine what I"m shooting at - for instance tonight he was 370 when I fed him - (I can't seem to re-adjust the SS so I can put the info in so it works - I write notes and try to keep track as best as it allows - I also have a diary I keep that's hand written) So I fed him at 5:15 and he was 370 I would have shot the same at 370 as I did at the 396 he was 2 hours later. He's given himself a bath, or a partial bath and gone and cried at the LB which led me to check and he has NOT pooped today - which is not good - although he's been very regular with all the water hes been having. But I did cut back on the metimucal so he might be sluggish because he hasn't gone and I now have to watch and make sure he goes soon cause this cat gets constipated and sick from it FAST.
 
If he is a little constipated, that could explain his lethargy, so yes keep a close eye on that. Especially if he goes to the box and cries without leaving you a present. The next sign would probably be a loss of appetite which isn't a good thing at all.

Carl
 
Carl I probably shouldn't put this in writing cause than he'll do the opposite but this cat has eaten and like an hour later been throwing up and foaming at the mouth from constipation (when we got home from vacation and had no idea he hadn't gone in 3 days till we grilled the ex-pet sitter) - he never seems to lose his appetite. At +4 we have a 258 - so at least there's some movement - now of course he's crying for more food cause it's 11:45pm (his historic snack time) I hate this... now the fight to not feed him for a bit longer.
 
I cut back the Metamucil to half (since he's been going twice a day with all the water he's consuming) and will be speaking to the vet about the change when we go in middle this upcoming week. Didn't want to just flip him over to the miralax - the Metamucil he's on is sugar free and he was on it the entire time he was OTJ so I'm having to guess it wasn't making that huge a difference. But I did cut it in half (he used to get am and pm now just am and only a teaspoon of it).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top