Re: AB's=vomit, but amps:484. Should I shoot?
I certainly would not give the full dose. Sometimes if my cat vomits or doesn't eat well one day I will skip the dose if his BG is fairly low. However with a BG of almost 500 I would be concerned about leaving it that high. AS you know high BG and infections can be a recipe for ketones to start. Under circumstances like this, some other board members have advised to do a half dose and moniter more often. This certainly seems reasonable. I would also moniter for ketomes if you have the urine stix to do this.
When human diabetics are vomiting or dehyrated, rarely is the insulin held back altogether unless the BG is really low (like 200 or under). Usually a low dose is given because the body still needs some insulin. I would certainly still try to get your kitty to eat. Even if he does vomit he would still likely retain some fluids and food in his GI tract
You might want to even consider giving him a third of the usual dose and moniter closely today. I am sure by the time I post this you will get more feedback from other members. I hope your kitty feels better today and your vet can prescribe a new antibiotic .