Abigail PMPS 260 +4.5 244

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdmnore88

Member Since 2013
A little higher than yesterday. Maybe I should go up a little. She is only getting 1 unit- however I am scared to do that because we are switching to the zero carb Young Again food as soon as it arrives.
 
She has only been on insulin 3 days it takes between 5 to 7 days for her shed to fill so right now just hang tight with her dose...if at all possible can you try to get her morning preshot numbers...the reason I ask is because a lot of cats run lower over night than they do during the day, and I want to make sure she isn't going low and bouncing up.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
She has been on insulin since June. I just started monitoring her the last few days. She is getting 1 unit in the am and 1 in the pm since we started last summer. But what brought me to look on the internet for info on diabetic cats was because she was OK, but just OK. She was a little too skinny, her coat was dandruffy, and she was always hungry. So it's been months since she started insulin. I've listened to the vets the entire time. I am not seeing good results. She is alive but still not well. Not back to her normal super spoiled self. She is only acting slightly like a princess right now
 
Awww then that changes the whole thing..yes you probably would be easily safe to take her up to 1.25u but I would do it on a day that you will be around to monitor her.

Yeah most vet's are happy if they can keep a diabetic cat in the mid 200s, I know mine just about fell over when Maxwell went OTJ.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
The vet said that it is better to be a little high than too low. If you go too low too fast then its almost instant death. She started at 2 units. Then on her first curve the vet said to lower it to one unit. But that was before I started any of this monitoring. There are so many factors going on. I may just bump it up a tiny tiny bit then see how it goes. Someone will be home tomorrow and Sunday to watch her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top