Abby AMPS 152 / +2 97 / + 5 112 / PMPS 210

SDAbby

Member Since 2020
Hi, I am home to monitor Abby today (she is eating and acting normal for her), but I just wanted to confirm under SLGS I should drop her dosing going forward by .25 (so down to .75). This new level (.75U) I would stick to for a week or until numbers showed that I should change? It just feels like the lower levels don't work for her (she was steadily rising at .5), but then she fairly quickly drops too low when insulin is increased. Thanks for any thoughts.
 
Can you get another test in an hour? Abby has to go under 90 to earn a reduction. And I suspect with that drop to +2 she might be doing that today.

I'd also like to stress the importance of always getting a preshot test, to make sure it's safe to give insulin. Is there a reason you haven't been getting them every time? Another value of the preshot test is to tell you how fast she's dropping, and it looks like she's doing a fast drop today. Fast drops mean more monitoring, or at minimum leaving lots of food out so she can keep herself safe.

Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity for those reading today's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...egulation-question-on-long-term-plans.236315/
 
Thanks @Wendy&Neko for the response. I greatly appreciate it. Responses below.

Can you get another test in an hour?
Yes, I just took a test at a little past +5 and she was at 112. I am home and have been monitoring her closely today given her numbers. She has eaten more than normal, but that is because I've been taking her to her FF every hour or so.

Abby has to go under 90 to earn a reduction.
OK, my confusion, since I'm using AlphaTrak and the numbers on the site are human test numbers, I thought 97 on AlphaTrak would be low enough to trigger reduction. Since it appears she is holding stable, it looks like i should continue with 1U tonight and just watch closely.

I'd also like to stress the importance of always getting a preshot test, to make sure it's safe to give insulin. Is there a reason you haven't been getting them every time?
Thank you for raising and I agree. That is my frustration from my last post that you copied (I hate giving blind doses, but Abby is not an ideal patient). Abby was described as acting worse than a ferral cat in connection with testing by the vet. The vet actually said she doubted we could home test at all and she thought it would be worse because she would act like she hated us. Most insulin shots and the limited testing I have been able to get involve some combo of 1) me pulling Abby out from under the bed; 2) her hissing/biting/flipping out and 3) her giving catitude until she senses its time to test again at which point she hides. I wish I was better at soothing her and/or she understood I'm just trying to help her. It has been a very rough 6 weeks and I'm doing the best I can given the situation. I am just thankful that I am WFH right now so that I can closely monitor her even when I can't get a blood test. I have tried treats (she has never been treat driven); pets (while she isn't ferral and she's been my cat for 15.5 years (adopted from pound) she is very much an independent stereotypical cat (I still love her!); talking/singing to her. I am able to use a warm rice filled sock as I've seen suggested on the board. I haven't tried her paw yet but will try that and see if she calms down for that (I'm hesitant since she hates being on her back and its really the "process" that she reacts to - I'm able to draw blood if I can calm her down and/or hold her down). I also am trying to get the vet's take on the freestyle monitor that you suggested based on my last post. The vet is not sure Abby is an ideal patient for that (haha - clearly my vet thinks highly of Abby) because Abby does not like foreign objects on her (she was going ballistic with the blood draw wrap from the recent fructosamine test and when we had her microchip removed in connection with it causing a tumor/getting infected she almost hung herself trying to get the bandages and shirt off). I am still researching though! Thanks again.

Anyways, thanks again for the response.
 
We don't have any way of translating from AT to human meter numbers. In the lower numbers they are quite close. So we just take the numbers at face value. With one exception, we don't want an AT kitty going below 68, so give high carb food if you see that.

However, looks like Abby had a lovely and safe cycle today. :cool:
 
With one exception, we don't want an AT kitty going below 68, so give high carb food if you see that.
ok, thanks for the AT68 tip (will remember this!) and its good to know 90 is the right target number for both meters. assuming all stays status quo (and I will be able to get a PMPS), I will keep her at 1U tonight. thanks again for the support/responses to my posts.
 
Back
Top