A sputter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericbakes

Member
Hello, PZI friends. I know I've been absent for a while, but I have been checking in occasionally. Melville has been so predictable lately that I haven't felt the need to post. In fact, I have even neglected my spreadsheet up until a few days ago (I have paper records if needed).

Recently, Melville BG levels have started to trend downwards. I would love to get a few sets of eyes on this to make sure I'm not misinterpreting.

The first sign was on St. Patrick's day, when his AMPS was at 96. This startled me, so I fed him, waited two hours and tested again. Even after that length of time, he was only at 269. Historically, he would be brushing up against 400 two hours after eating. I gave him 2.2 units.

My next clue was on the night of the 18th. His preshot number was 295, which seemed a little high until I realized that I forgot to give him his AM shot! In the past, such deviance on my part would have resulted in something much higher.

On the 19th, his PMPS was 138, so I decided to wait. After an hour, he was only at 167. Finally, after 3 hours, he broke 300. 2.2 units.

Tonight? +10 = 138, +12 = 64 :shock: and +14 = 138. At this point, I'm inclined to skip a dose, or to give him something very small, like .5. What do you folks think?
 
Depends on how long you'll be up. If you're headed to bed, I'd probably skip - or set the alarm to test in a couple of hours. If you're up for awhile, I'd ride it out and see where he goes.

Maybe he's heard about the kitties that are working their way to OTJ... and wants to join them! Not a bad place, that's for sure!
 
Wonderful news!
Depends what you are up for
but If it were me, I think I might hold out since it seems like he an drop on his own!
 
Looks like you have a good problem. This is a good spot to be in. It's also a very sensitive place.
What you need to do is come up with a number you feel comfortable shotting into. For example 200. Keep testing & catch when it's rising & then shot that number. You need to keep testing after that too just to make sure he doesn't drop to low.
Like I said this is a good place, but it's also can be a tiring place because you need to test so much. This is a time to stay stocked on your testing supplies. It takes a lot of testing to figure out the dose & how his body reacts. If the pancreas is trying to work you want to help support it with micro dosing.

I hope this helps.
Jenn & Baxter cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top