A little too Low for comfort. How many units ? Please help

Brandy & Max

Member Since 2020
Good evening all. So Max dropped a little too close for comfort this morning and I had to get him syrup to get his bg back up. I am afraid to give him 1.5 tonight.
 
With SLGS , a BG under (90) earns a decrease, so you would give 1 unit this evening.


What is Max's feeding schedule. It looks like he does a little dip around that +3 and might need some food to help him navigate his onset.
 
Well right now, I am giving him Fancy Feast pates 2/day. Usually in the morning, at lunch or a little after and in the evening. Usually he doesn't eat them all in one sitting so I re-warm them/offer them to him again with petting and encouragement throughout the day to get the calories in because he does need to gain a couple of pounds. I also keep dry food out. I know....that is a big "no no." He was on Royal Canin HP from the vet and i switched him to Elsy's. So I am in the transition of changing his dry food over now. Mixing the two together if you will. I ended up giving him 0.5units but now I don't think that was enough. When I drew the insulin up to the 1 unit it looked so close to the 1.5 I was too scared to give it.
 
He earned a dose reduction to 1.25 units tonight, not 1.0 units. Cats are sensitive to even such small changes in insulin dose. I expect he'll bounce tonight and the reduced dose will make him high in the morning.

I agree with Ari - a second meal a couple hours after his main meal might help slow down the drops. Just feed a little less at PS and feed the remainder later.
 
:banghead: duh. 1.25, yes- not 1 unit. Although it seems like you weren't comfortable giving the 1 unit...

There is a post on fine dosing in the " Insulin care " section. I'll post it below.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/

I don't know if you have thought about using an automatic feeder for giving snacks when you are not home but many of us have them. I freeze him some canned food and leave it in the tray to open at a certain time. It might help you phase out the dry food which can also mess with their BGs. Diabetic cats seem to better with frequent, small meals.
 
Back
Top