A few useful hints

Status
Not open for further replies.

Capoo

Member Since 2016
Hi,

I just wanted to give you some hints that I find very useful:

The first one is how to immobilize a cat (for whatever reason, but I use this when I want to test his glucose level). You only need one binder clip and the photo below will show you how to use it:

IMG_1249.jpg


That's really magic!!!

The second one is about the signs of hypoglycemia: I have encountered one of this episode, and the main sign is never reported: vomiting. According to my vet, the cat is so much stressed to feel his glucose level dropping down that he vomits.

I really hope that the above will be useful for you too :)

Sophie
 
Hi,

I just wanted to give you some hints that I find very useful:

The first one is how to immobilize a cat (for whatever reason, but I use this when I want to test his glucose level). You only need one binder clip and the photo below will show you how to use it:

View attachment 19018

That's really magic!!!

The second one is about the signs of hypoglycemia: I have encountered one of this episode, and the main sign is never reported: vomiting. According to my vet, the cat is so much stressed to feel his glucose level dropping down that he vomits.

I really hope that the above will be useful for you too :)

Sophie

Thank you, Sophie, for sharing those ideas! It's little tricks like those that really help us deal with our sweet kitties! :):):)

Lucy

P.S. Is that your kitty in the picture? Gorgeous!!!
 
Hi Lucy,

Yes, it's my kitty in the picture: Capoo, 12 years old, a mix between an European cat and an Egyptian Mau.

After a long period of 3 months to find his ideal dose, we finally found it (I said "We" because I am in close contact with my vet, even during the week end, with the help of SMS. I used to send him results of BG curves to adapt the dose). So, at the end, the perfect dose for him is 4 units of Caninsulin (Vetsulin) twice a day, and he eats Orijen freely.

How to say? Since we found the correct dose, I think that the name of my cat has to be changed into something like Belzébuth: he runs around, he climbs everywhere, plays a lot, pees only twice a day, follows me everywhere,......

In brief, "C'est le Paradis!" (it's the Paradise!)

Sophie
 
I'm so glad that Capoo is doing so well! Finding that perfect dose works like magic, doesn't it?! I love your description of his happy, healthy behavior, lol. Yes, it really is Paradise! :):):)
 
I'd forgotten that! Thanks for posting. Someone called it the clothespin trick -placing a few clothes pins along their back. Looks like a binder clip works great also. We used to suggest it for kitties hard to shoot or test.
 
Hi everyone!

Once again, it's a disaster!!!!!
With 4 IU of Vetsulin / Caninsulin, Capoo seemed to be a kitten once again, but last Sunday, we met an episode of hypoglycemia.
So, we divided the doses by 2, and now, he is on 2 IU twice per day since one week.
Once again, I have pees during the night, and once again, Capoo wakes me up a lot of times during the night with noises of litter.
Yesterday, I tested him:
AMPS : 406
+3 : 117
+4 : 137
+5 : 265
+6 : 423.

And the same today:
AMPS : 487
+2 : 278
+3 : 200
+4 : 191.

I also have to tell you that on Friday evening, I suffered for the first time of my life of a true migraine, with nausea, drop in blood pressure, loss of balance,....
I'm at the end of my rope, please help me!!!!!
 
Hi everyone!

Once again, it's a disaster!!!!!
With 4 IU of Vetsulin / Caninsulin, Capoo seemed to be a kitten once again, but last Sunday, we met an episode of hypoglycemia.
So, we divided the doses by 2, and now, he is on 2 IU twice per day since one week.
Once again, I have pees during the night, and once again, Capoo wakes me up a lot of times during the night with noises of litter.
Yesterday, I tested him:
AMPS : 406
+3 : 117
+4 : 137
+5 : 265
+6 : 423.

And the same today:
AMPS : 487
+2 : 278
+3 : 200
+4 : 191.

I also have to tell you that on Friday evening, I suffered for the first time of my life of a true migraine, with nausea, drop in blood pressure, loss of balance,....
I'm at the end of my rope, please help me!!!!!



Sophie

I am so sorry you are having trouble with Capoo. This definitely sounds like an insulin related issue, but since I am not familiar with Vetsulin (caninsulin) I can't offer advice about dosing. To get more attention on this issue you should post a new thread with something like "Need help with Vetsulin dosing and cat peeing" and use the "?" icon in the title. Since this thread is older people will not know that there are other question and problems you need help with. There are a number of people here who use Vetsulin/Caninsulin and hopefully they will have ideas on how to help.
 
I agree with Larry.

Is there any chance you might post the numbers for last Sunday's cycle with the hypo incident, please?


Mogs
.
 
Hi everyone!

Once again, it's a disaster!!!!!
With 4 IU of Vetsulin / Caninsulin, Capoo seemed to be a kitten once again, but last Sunday, we met an episode of hypoglycemia.
So, we divided the doses by 2, and now, he is on 2 IU twice per day since one week.
Once again, I have pees during the night, and once again, Capoo wakes me up a lot of times during the night with noises of litter.
Yesterday, I tested him:
AMPS : 406
+3 : 117
+4 : 137
+5 : 265
+6 : 423.

And the same today:
AMPS : 487
+2 : 278
+3 : 200
+4 : 191.

I also have to tell you that on Friday evening, I suffered for the first time of my life of a true migraine, with nausea, drop in blood pressure, loss of balance,....
I'm at the end of my rope, please help me!!!!!
I'm going through a similar thing with Joshi this weekend. She is also on Vetsulin. I would say lower the dose was wise to avoid more hypo incidents, but you may want to consult your vet if you haven't already.
 
Mogs :
Below are the numbers of last Sunday. Unfortunately I don't have the AMPS, but anyway, he wasn't low : he peed at 6 AM, 7 AM, and 11 AM. A few days before this Sunday, pees have started again. I even thought that I missed some shots, but now, it seems to me that it was just rebounds: 3 days before this hypo episode, he peed at 1 AM, 5 AM, 7 AM, 1 PM. I tested him at +5, +6,5, +12, and always the same result : 300.
So, for last Sunday:
+3: 143
+4: 62. My vet asked me to give him honey.
+5: 82
+6 93
+8 241
+12 431.

Lara, I'm in close contact with my vet, even during the weekend via SMS, and I never change the dose without his advise.

Sophie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top