a 43??

Status
Not open for further replies.
You have not given insulin in two days -- correct?

That is what it appears from your SS .

If you had given insulin and got a 43 reading during your 12 hour cycle--that would be reason for concern. Anything under 50-- is alarming and considered hypo---IF a cat is getting insulin.

BUT, you have given no insulin it appears for 2 days.

If a cat is getting no insulin, like Motor, and test 43-- that means their Pancreas is working.

So glad you started hometesting yesterday and did not give insulin on the 43 reading.

Remember the no shoot numbers.

I don't know why I am awake-- but .....

In the morning you will get more responses.

But, I am so thankful you are hometesting and did not give Motor any insulin.
 
Yes Kim, why are you awake at that time of morning? :smile:

Hi, I'm Barbara, I'm too new around here to give advise on dosing but if you haven't given insulin in 2 days I'd say your kitty might be goint OTJ! Don't know how long he's been on insulin but it appears he's doing very good! Just an FYI, there's not a lot of traffic on this board late at night so if you have a question & need a quick response you can post over on Health. There's a lot more people on over there usually. I haven't read any of your posts so forgive me if you already know all this. :smile: And you may already know this but please don't give him any insulin with #'s under 100-250. Welcome to our little group & some of the more experienced people will be on later to give you more advice!
 
Congradulations! Thank goodness you started testing :-D or Motor could have been in trouble if you had given him insulin without knowing his bg was only 43.

A cat with NO insulin in their system can not hypo.

They have to go 14 days without insulin in non diabetic numbers (50 to 120) before we call him officially "Off The Juice" and have a party.

Great job, keep testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top