99 two days ago - 291 today - Arrrgh!

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is his cycle: one day of great numbers, followed be increasing BGs for about 7-9 days and then a good day again. I can not figure out why. Or what to do about it. Sigh....
 
just at a glance, last years .5u "seemed" to give the best PS numbers and the one curve I see form the .5u looks pretty good. There isn't a whole lot of other data on the .5u, so I can't put that in concrete- but at a glance...

On the other paw, you do seem to have alot of data recently on the .6 and .7.

...the source of frustration may be the missing data on the .5u -maybe you are projecting that the .7 or .6u are worse curves ( where there is only one on the .5u recent enough to count) b/c of what you imagined the .5u must have been doing otherwise based on the one curve there is ( when it could have been worse if you had so many curves on the .5u as you do on the .6 and .7).

My thought would be to go back to the .5 that seemed to be doing fine and get more curves to compare with the .6 and .7 over a period of a few weeks ( providing, of course there are no super highs or lows that require dose to change sooner).

Also, not sure what your goals are with Jeddie or if you have deinfed them, but now might be a good time to look into that.

Are you going for OTJ? It may never happen and "forcing" numbers to go that direction may be back firing.

Can you be okay with keeping him below renal? Does that seem like failure to you if you are not constantly working for OTJ?

Is it possible that Jeddie might just be a cat that stays under 300, but not under renal? ( I doubt it, but leaving it as an option)

having been OTJ ourselves, then returing to insulin, I fought the good fight thinking if he'd gone there once, he'll do it again, dag nabbit! Alas, my boy is a much more happy and content kitty without the swings that aiming at OTJ can bring ( forcing numbers down with more insulin...getting 400 to 30 and back in one cycle).

I don't see it as a failure on my part since PK is most obvioulsly better off between 100-300 in a single cycle than getting him down to 50 only to see him shoot up to 300 or 400 again....and I havn't taken it off the table that he'll never get under renal or even OTJ, but it isn't in the forefront anymore. My house is much more relaxed now b/c of it, too.

Not saying that any of this applies to you or not, just putting it out there.

Define the goals...it might help?
 
Addressing goals, cause I understand that question/comment: I do not have OTJ as a goal. Would it be wonderful for him and me? Yes. But realistically, by now I don't think that will happen (of course I NEVER thought it would happen with Beau...). I would like him under renal threshold for as much of the day as I can get him. I have noticed that he drinks more when he is higher.

Now, for the rest of what you said, not sure I am following it - or maybe you aren't getting my comment? I think the two cycles this year where his nadir was about 98 and he was in low 100s the rest of the time are great. I just can't figure out why that happens for one cycle and then he goes "off" for 8 or 9 days (16-18 cycles) before having another good one.

What I think I know about Jeddie's numbers is that if he starts out in the mid 200s, he stays in the mid 200s. I have gotten enough spot checks to show that. Conversely, if he starts out in the low 100s, he stays there. In both cases the number variance doesn't seem to be more than 50 points. I though this indicated rebound - with the flat numbers in the mid/upper 200s most of the time and an occasional drop to 100 or so - but just a tiny amount of rebound, so I lowered his dose to .4u (from .5u) and things didn't get better, so next time I lowered it to .15u and things didn't get better, so I thought I went the wrong way and raised it back to .5, then to .6 and now to .7u. A few months ago he dropped to 39 on .75u, so I didn't think that was a good dose.

Others said I needed more numbers so I am trying to test more....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top