911..... Very low numbers.... Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Btwinny

Member Since 2019
Scouts pmps was 180, +2 was 89. I gave a nummie of honey and a little bit of high carb food. (I think she licked a little). Check my SS for an hour by hour until just now +6 is 76 and she hasn't eaten for almost 2 hours (she's just chilling... No odd behavior)

So should I force more food on her? High carb or any food in general?
 
My biggest concern was her dropping so low at +2 and not even being close to nadir. I had help on here for awhile but it's late and my help went to sleep.
 
Hi again, Kathy,
Those numbers in themselves are just fine. The most recent test showed a slight drop though, which may just be meter variance or 'could' be an actual drop.

Ideally, it would be good to see a couple of rising blood glucose numbers in succession, that aren't influenced by food. However, it may well be that you need to sleep!

I see that Scout does sometimes have a late nadir. And if the dose is too high then that 'may' mean the nadir is even later than is typical for her...

A few options...
If you're going to be around to check you could just try a small amount of low carb food and see if that steers her safely through nadir.
If you're not going to be around to check much, or if you are concerned, then maybe try a little medium carb food.
If you're very concerned - and you need to sleep and can't monitor - then you have the option of giving higher carb food.

These are really lovely numbers for Scout. So in a way it would be a shame to raise those unnecessarily . However, safety is the most important thing.

Are you going to be around to get another couple of tests?
 
I'm pushing my limit. I get up in 3.5 hours. I've tested every hour and she hasn't eaten since in-between +3 and +4. It's +6. I've tried the honey gums, offered high carb food but it's flake/shreds and she prefers pate.
 
I'm pushing my limit. I get up in 3.5 hours. I've tested every hour and she hasn't eaten since in-between +3 and +4. It's +6.
Okey dokey,
Well, my concern is that the last result was lower than previous tests (could be meter variance or could be an actual drop), and it would be good to see that the blood glucose is definitely rising.
How long ago did you get that last test?
 
I'm pushing my limit. I get up in 3.5 hours. I've tested every hour and she hasn't eaten since in-between +3 and +4. It's +6. I've tried the honey gums, offered high carb food but it's flake/shreds and she prefers pate.



Do you have any tuna juice or a treat you can crumble on top of the high carb food?

And/or work some high carb into some of her regular food?
 
I just shoved a few pieces of the shreds down her throat. (Probably 5 or 6 little pieces) It is the medium carb stuff. And I have some purebite treats she LOVES
 
I just shoved a few pieces of the shreds down her throat. (Probably 5 or 6 little pieces) It is the medium carb stuff. And I have some purebite treats she LOVES

I crumble those purebites right over their food and they gobble it up!

I'd add some water to the food if you don't already and it makes the purebites "stick" to the food a bit more so they have to eat it to get the purebites lol

I really really crumble it though.
 
I just shoved a few pieces of the shreds down her throat. (Probably 5 or 6 little pieces) It is the medium carb stuff. And I have some purebite treats she LOVES

I wouldn't do that... some cats have been known to protest puke lol

And you don't want her puking right now lol

I'd just keep trying to find ways to entice her to eat on her own, crumble those purebites on the food , or add some tuna juice.
 
Tested once more for good measure . 94. And she gobbled up some purebites and I left out some boiled chicken tidbits.

Pretty sure we're on the upside and I'm headed to bed


Thank you!!!!!

Leave food out just in case! lol especially since you have someone to pull it in the morning.

Keep that ss updated even if you don't have time/energy to post so that we know she's doing ok.

:bighug:
 
Leave food out just in case! lol especially since you have someone to pull it in the morning.

Keep that ss updated even if you don't have time/energy to post so that we know she's doing ok.

:bighug:
Take a look at her SS. With everything last night she did just fine. She's a little crabby with me. She hissed when I went to give her the shot. I came home for lunch to test her at +4 and she's just sleeping. 170 at AMPs and 117 at +4.
 
That's awesome!

Remember you don't have to be technically a certain number on the meter for the body to *feel* hypoglycemic and panic accordingly. It just has to be a big drop or a quick drop.

She's in much lower numbers than she's used to, so that *feels* like hypo to them, so she might be cranky. My guy gets that low blood sugar irritability in these numbers too. He was getting weird even in the 200s cause he just wasn't used to it.

She's doing great though! :bighug:
 
That is good to hear. I ran out of purebites last night during all that so I stopped at the store and got the biggest bag. She LOVES them. Whatever I can do to get something in her belly. She purrs when she eats them.

I guess last night was a good scare for me.... Made me realize what I need to do in a situation like that and what to expect. I'm going to do a curve tomorrow. I only gave her .5u this morning and I MIGHT just keep her at that thru tomorrow night.
 
That is good to hear. I ran out of purebites last night during all that so I stopped at the store and got the biggest bag. She LOVES them. Whatever I can do to get something in her belly. She purrs when she eats them.

I guess last night was a good scare for me.... Made me realize what I need to do in a situation like that and what to expect. I'm going to do a curve tomorrow. I only gave her .5u this morning and I MIGHT just keep her at that thru tomorrow night.

That sounds like a solid plan. Yeah, trial by fire! lol now you're an old pro! :D

I'd get some of the gravy lovers food too, it's about 15% carbs I think and they love it, heck it looks tasty even to me and most of their food makes me gag! lol The florentine for example...yikes...lol Also the gravy in the gravy lovers one can be used without the food if you just want to add it to low carb food, etc. It's a very flexible food lol
 
Oh, also, next time, if she goes hypo range, around 50 or so on a human meter... there is a special tag you can add to your post, it makes the 911 show up as red.

Once you're out of the woods, go back and edit the title to remove the 911. :)
 
I have a stash of high carb.... It's in a bag that says 911. I noticed my hubby y had written on the can "momma says no!!".
 
Will you look at scouts SS? I'm thinking were going to skip tonight. Except for the amps at 170, she's held steady at 117, 120 allllll day
 
Will you look at scouts SS? I'm thinking were going to skip tonight. Except for the amps at 170, she's held steady at 117, 120 allllll day

I would absolutely skip tonight ... if you feel like you must give something... you could try .25?

There is a "drop" method people do but its hard to explain...

She is very low right now, and she has been very sensitive to the insulin and she has been trending lower and lower and with the diet change, etc...

It seems like a great night to go ahead and skip.

But that's up to you.

You probably need a night where you can sleep without worry.
 
Considering it's been less than 3 weeks since being diagnosed I feel like she is doing awesome. I've seen other sugar babys as and seen months stuck at 2-3 u or higher (omg.... I saw one with 14u per shot!!!). If scout is this easy to get regulated then I'm comfortable skipping tonight.
 
Considering it's been less than 3 weeks since being diagnosed I feel like she is doing awesome. I've seen other sugar babys as and seen months stuck at 2-3 u or higher (omg.... I saw one with 14u per shot!!!). If scout is this easy to get regulated then I'm comfortable skipping tonight.

She's doing amazing!

Not to sound like a broken record but...lol... she's going lower and lower at preshot even with reduced insulin and like you said it hasn't been very long at all.

Some cats just need a diet change.

You need a good night's sleep where you don't have to worry and the way she's trending I think most any dose of insulin might keep me up at night with such a low PS.

She's doing so well and it's so early there is nothing wrong with skipping a dose and reassessing in the morning.

Even if she goes up some, it doesn't mean it was the wrong choice, it just means you both needed a break.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top