911 Too low pmps on prozinc?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katsallday

Member Since 2021
Tuna's last BG was +11 168, his pmps is coming up in 15 minutes. What do I do if it's under 200? I can't give a token dose because I don't have a usual dose to base it off of as this was his first day on Prozinc. He probably would have went hypo today if I didn't give extra food before and during nadir. +4 153 +5 97 +5.5 92 +6 94 +7 85 +8 119 +9 153 +11 168
 
So sorry you didn't get an answer earlier, Katrina! If that happens again, make a new comment on your post so it brings it back to the top of the forum.

Tuna went up 40 points in that last hour....that's a pretty good indication that the last shot is wearing off and you can go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose, especially if you can test a few times in that cycle.

For now, it's better to try to give the same dose both AM and PM so we need to find a dose where you can do that. (Sometimes ProZinc can be used with a sliding scale dosing method, but we like to try a consistent dosing method first).

Do you have syringes with half unit marks? It might be worth trying a 1.5 unit dose for both AM and PM cycles for a few days and see how it goes.
 
So sorry you didn't get an answer earlier, Katrina! If that happens again, make a new comment on your post so it brings it back to the top of the forum.

Tuna went up 40 points in that last hour....that's a pretty good indication that the last shot is wearing off and you can go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose, especially if you can test a few times in that cycle.

For now, it's better to try to give the same dose both AM and PM so we need to find a dose where you can do that. (Sometimes ProZinc can be used with a sliding scale dosing method, but we like to try a consistent dosing method first).

Do you have syringes with half unit marks? It might be worth trying a 1.5 unit dose for both AM and PM cycles for a few days and see how it goes.
Hi @Chris & China (GA)
Hi Chris just wanted to let you know this was addressed on another thread
last night

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/switching-from-vetsulin-to-prozinc.247602/#post-2793415


Edit
Below is her latest post :cat:


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tunas-bg-is-toying-with-me.247656/#post-2793509
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top