BJM
Member Since 2010
@tiffmaxee Chris has seen numerous vets over the past week or so, with varying helpfulness. You should see some of the earlier posts!
Sorry but mirtazapine doesn't work well enough alone for nausea.
You are so right based upon my personal experiences and those of so many others.I completely agree with Elise on this. The one dose of mirtazapine that Saoirse had she was crazed with hunger (among other unpleasant side-effects - got the drop of my life when I discovered that night that mirtazapine can cause serotonin syndrome) but she was still licking her lips and pulling faces when eating. Appetite stimulants may get a cat to eat, but it doesn't automatically follow that the cat is no longer nauseated just because it's eating.
Ah, well, of course here on FDMB we all are big on testing, and the sicker a cat is the more essential testing is. We've seen how important the testing is.
I saw your earlier discussion about whether or not the relion is accurate - the thing is that the only essential blood sugar numbers are low ones. It's critical you know if a cat goes low - under 50 on a human glucometer or under 68 on an AT2.
If a cat is high, it doesn't matter if the meter reads 350 or 450 or HI. You know they are high and that's good enough.
So, for your purposes, you're going to save a lot of $$ by using the Relion and be able to get more tests in - and data is critical with every diabetic cat, moreso when the cat is ill like Poncho. I'd stick with the relion. If your vet wants an AT test here and there, give it to her. But overall, i think you can feel ok using the Relion and not worry about its exact accuracy. Does that make sense?
BJM, the vet has the records from the previuos vet who ran the 2 failed curves but I don't know if she focused on themaZI'm glad you've got him stabilized.
It is really important that the vet see how Poncho reacted to the aborted curve, ie, the dose has to be lower at lower numbers, or Poncho may crash.
The scale I provided seemed close to what he needed using the human glucometer and if you line up the estimates for the AlphaTrak next to them, she can see them side by side.
If she has e-mail, or can get on the internet from her office, getting her the link to your spreadsheet will show her how responsive he can be to the insulin.
I'm going to try to get the spread sheet to her. She gave me a scale to follow, testing only preshot. Here it is:
200-300 give 1/2 unit
300-400 " 1 unit
over 400 give 1 1/2
if under 200 no shot
What is making her think Cushings is possible? A key sign of that is very, very fragile skin that tears easily. Does Poncho have that? You hadn't mentioned it.
She said Poncho's skin is too thin.
Here's some links and info from our high dose forum ... and Poncho is definitely NOT high dose!
"
http://www.cat-health-guide.org/felinecushingsdisease.html
http://www.cat-lovers-only.com/cushings-disease-in-cats.html
Cushing’s disease is caused by a tumor of either the pituitary or adrenal glands, causing the production of excess cortisol. Cortisol is a naturally-occurring chemical in the body, which helps the body respond to stress such as infection or pain. With Cushing’s disease, however, the body continues producing cortisol even when the stressor has been removed. This causes a number of problems one of which is insulin resistant diabetes.
One particular symptom that helps differentiate this disease from acromegaly so quickly is that Cushing’s causes very thin fragile skin that may tear easily and/or not heal well. Females are most often the target."
She said his skin is very thin.I'd ask why they think he has Cushing's. It's rare in cats and may not be necessary to test for.
Will do, thanks.Let me know if you strike out with the mobile vet. I'd mention the IDEXX ROUND TABLE article if given a hard time. Tell them you fear fatty liver disease and food aversions if he is fed while nauseous. Good luck.
Thin skin was the reason. I posted the Alphatrak 12 hr scale she wants me to follow and it seems reasonable, but I'm a novice at best. I'm being conservative with determining dose given BG reading after the hypo incident.I don't see high insulin doses, nor mention of fragile easily tearing skin in any of your posts, Chris. I wouldn't spend money on a test without some good clinical reason to do so.
Thin skin was the reason. I posted the Alphatrak 12 hr scale she wants me to follow and it seems reasonable, but I'm a novice at best. I'm being conservative with determining dose given BG reading after the hypo incident.
I'll check it out. He's been eating some Friskies pate but is very finicky. Thanks.EVO wet foods are fairly high in calories compared to other brands.
I'm sorry Sarah, it was in a reply to BJM's #49 post....still trying to adjust to new sleep schedule so not thinking clearly.Where did you post the scale? Do you mean on the forum?
I'm tweaking it....ex: this am BG 300...o.5 unit instead of 1 full unit. Scale is too general so I'm drifting to next lower range if BG is on low end of range. II think your vet's sliding scale is too aggressive and is likely to send him into another hypo, especially as you switch to a lower carb food.
Shooting a full unit with a pre-shot of 139 was too much for him.
In the vet's favour, she did acknowledge her error to you. You need prescriptions. It can be a bit unnerving, but one thing I've learned the hard way is that when it comes to veterinary treatment one really does have to be an advocate for one's cat. You're recording Poncho's response to insulin in his spreadsheet so you've got data to back up any reservations you may have in the future about agressive dosing and perhaps you could review the data with your vet when discussing dosage. As is often said here, you're the one holding the syringe, and - most important of ally - you're the one that loves Poncho.I'm tweaking it....ex: this am BG 300...o.5 unit instead of 1 full unit. Scale is too general so I'm drifting to next lower range if BG is on low end of range. I
Her recommended dose was too high given 139 and I double checked with her and she said ok to give. Next day she admitted her mistake and that she had realized 1 hr after shot she might have been too high but didn't contact me. I'm not sure now I want to stick with her, but right now she's giving Poncho the fluids, meds to climb out of the hole....so far so good, except for insulin issue. I wont let that happen again if I can help it.

Thanks. It looks like the Friskies pate he's been eating is ok alternative. I welcome any recommendations from members as I'm still unsure of myself, but increasingly less so as I proceed and learn.Many of us disregard the vet on dosing and follow what works, often based on recommendations here.
You'll want to be eagle-eyed as Poncho eats more on his own as the changing carbohydrate levels may further reduce his insulin need.
An alternative is to use the food list from Cat Info and pick up some retail foods with similar carbohydrate levels as the A/D, then worry about reducing those once he is really stable again.
Most of his diet is the AD....he eats the Friskies on his own which is around 25% of daily food.Friskies pates, except Mixed Grill, are all low carb; watch those glucose levels!
So is mixed grill medium or high carb?Friskies pates, except Mixed Grill, are all low carb; watch those glucose levels!
Yes, I was concerned about contamination also. I started a new thread.....thanks!No idea. Not sure introducing air is such a good idea as I would have thought it has to remain sterile.
I think I would start a new thread with a description of the help you need as not everyone will read this thread.
It's hanging....just deflated and hard to read while giving fluid. Thanks.Don't inject any air into the bag (bacteria). If you are able to hang it from something with a clothing hanger where it will free hang, even with the vacuum created, it should read the right reading on the markers. Try maybe a shower curtain rod or closet rod. As the bad gets emptier, the markers are harder to read, no way around it.
The lower numbers are meant to be read once this vacuum is created.
Thanks Sarah. Poncho is having a bad weekend....like he's shutting down, lethargic to the point of limp and very weak. I think he's been sliding since the hypo incident. I'm testing every 2 hrs or so since I was only able to get 20ml of food in him. +5 BG was 194 with Relion. I hope it's just a rough patch. Tomorrow morning we have a vet appt. I'm calling the mobile vet I use to see if he'll drop off some anti nausea meds. Prayers needed.Hey Chris. Cute photoHope poncho is doing okay