911 amps 17 but acting like it’s low 09/12

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Catrina, Sep 13, 2023.

  1. Catrina

    Catrina Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    Molsons amps is 17 but he’s wobbly and not moving and didn’t eat. And he puked.
    We just started a new insulin bottle too
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2023
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Wobbly could be due to hind leg neuropathy. What did the puke look like? Hairball? Scarf and barf? Stomach acid from a long gap between meals?
    Did he eat again?

    You are holding doses too long even for SLGS. Do you think you can get more spot checks to see how low he's going on 3.25U? Maybe a curve on weekends? Hard to say without enough data, but it does look like he needs more insulin.
     
  3. Catrina

    Catrina Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    I was holding the dose because I was getting to the end of the insulin bottle and it seemed like it stopped working. So I didn’t want him to have too high of a dose and then get a new insulin and it be way too high for him. It took a couple of weeks to get the new bottle due to money.
    The puke looked like wet food.
    I can’t get him to eat now. He doesn’t move too much he’s just sitting there and moving slowly. He won’t eat and normally he lives for food.
    Idk what to do or what’s wrong with him because I thought it could be low blood sugar but he was 17
     
  4. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Have you tested for ketones lately? Skipping a shot when he's not feeling well, not eating, and in high numbers can be a problem if ketones are present. A half dose is an option.
     
  5. Catrina

    Catrina Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    What are symptoms of ketones? I can’t test his ketones cuz I can’t get to his pee in time.
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

Share This Page