9 Aug 2022 - Whiskey AMPS=133 +4=40 +4.5=88 +9=56 PMPS=112 +2=139

Will you be reducing the dose or following the 3 drops rule?

Hi Bhooma, I'm honestly not sure.

She ate at +2 because of the experiment I did yesterday, and I honestly thought she'd hold to +4 which is normal mealtime. Only tested then today because I was going out and don't like to leave her pre nadir without testing and feeding lc or mc as needed.

At this point I'm so grateful that you advised me to stay on 0.75 and not shave up to 1u.

I'm factoring in the effect of the reduced infection levels due to the dental and am tempted to go to 0.5u, but will be guided by the group expertise.
 
I'm factoring in the effect of the reduced infection levels due to the dental and am tempted to go to 0.5u, but will be guided by the group expertise.
Yes. While she hasn't "earned" a reduction based on the rules for a cat that has fallen out of remission, considering that she is less than a year since diagnosis and that the dental could have taken care of the reason she fell out of remission, you could try a reduction to 0.5U. If it doesn't work, you can always go up in 4-5 days.
 
Yes. While she hasn't "earned" a reduction based on the rules for a cat that has fallen out of remission, considering that she is less than a year since diagnosis and that the dental could have taken care of the reason she fell out of remission, you could try a reduction to 0.5U. If it doesn't work, you can always go up in 4-5 days.
Thanks.

I'll do 0.5u tonight and monitor at +3, with feeding lc and mc combined at +2 as 5hr depot of 0.75u will still be working.
 
Btw, I'm trying to compile a list of low carb canned and raw food options to share with new members from South Africa (just added one on our FB group). This is what I post based on some inputs you had given in the past. Is this still correct and can more be added? I see a RawLove food in your Signature :-)

"Here are some low carb food options suggested by another member from South Africa - the range of Petleys Pates, Whiskas in Jelly and Bon Appétit mousse tins (more expensive) available on Takealot and also in Spar, Pick n Pay and Woolworths. The Petwise franchise stock some raw food options and Rawvolution makes some raw cat food too."
 
Btw, I'm trying to compile a list of low carb canned and raw food options to share with new members from South Africa (just added one on our FB group). This is what I post based on some inputs you had given in the past. Is this still correct and can more be added? I see a RawLove food in your Signature :-)

"Here are some low carb food options suggested by another member from South Africa - the range of Petleys Pates, Whiskas in Jelly and Bon Appétit mousse tins (more expensive) available on Takealot and also in Spar, Pick n Pay and Woolworths. The Petwise franchise stock some raw food options and Rawvolution makes some raw cat food too."
I'll add a few more to this thread, but off the top of my head, Pamper / Friskies pates and jelly food (they make Whiskey vomit so I don't use them) and Catmor Jelly pouches. Also Woolworths jelly pouches (don't use them often because they aren't popular with our two).

Feline Cuisine do pate and pouches but I don't like them because they are full of additives and very highly food colored.

The Raw Love is the raw I give them, but haven't been using it much for her since the dental.
 
OK. So...

Low Carb Wet Food
  1. Petley's Pates
  2. Whiskas in Jelly pouches
  3. Bon Appétit mousse tins
  4. Pamper Pates
  5. Friskies Pates
  6. Catmor Jelly pouches
  7. Woolworth's Jelly pouches
Raw Food
  1. Raw Love
  2. Rawvolution
  3. Petwise
  4. Raw Gold?
  5. Chef4Pets?
(There seem to be quite a few more raw food cos in SA! What I saw in Google)
 
OK. So...

Low Carb Wet Food
  1. Petley's Pates
  2. Whiskas in Jelly pouches
  3. Bon Appétit mousse tins
  4. Pamper Pates
  5. Friskies Pates
  6. Catmor Jelly pouches
  7. Woolworth's Jelly pouches
Raw Food
  1. Raw Love
  2. Rawvolution
  3. Petwise
  4. Raw Gold?
  5. Chef4Pets?
(There seem to be quite a few more raw food cos in SA! What I saw in Google)
There are a lot of raw food makers in South Africa.

But...many only supply in the area they are based in. Those are usually in the Western Cape or Gauteng.

I can only get Rawvolution (unpopular with my cats) or Raw Love in KwaZulu-Natal.

That said, most South Africans have reasonable access to venison butchery facilities. There is one we buy a lot of venison from in KZN, so I'm getting in some mixed venison mince, organs and pancreas soon. I'll test it out on my two and see if I can get them eating it. The same place sells ground duck and chicken mix whole carcass. Hopefully that will give them some protein source variety.
 
Feeding LC with a bit of MC at +2,she had the same at shot time. Over abundance of caution tonight because of the 40 at AM +4 despite food, but I suspect we may have a little bounce tonight too.
 
Back
Top