? 9/9 Xander AMPS 146 +2 80 +3 71 +4 72 +5 75 PMPS 120

At +2 (plus 15 min) he's at 80. I won't feed any more HC and try to get him to eat more of his regular food on and off.

So far today hes eaten 50g of his normal food and 25g of the high carb food
 
That's great! I hope this means that you've staved-off the cliff dive with the extra carbs! I wouldn't feed any more HC either. Try to stop feeding him after +6 until his little snack at +9, and see if that shaves some numbers off his preshot.
 
Hopefully! Will check in 20 min.

He's eaten just below his average AM amount, but i've had to open an embarrassing number of cans. I'm not sure if he isn't feeling well in his stomach/hairball or if he's just had a change of taste. I keep having to hide Flare's kibble. It's hard knowing he would eat better if he could just get the stuff that's bad for him.

I may give it another day or 2 to see if his appetite improves and then start trying other wet food options
 
Based on today does the 25g of 12% carb look like it was probably a little too much? The numbers with the HC food added weren't much different from the 0.1 dose.

I'm guessing it is still better to manipulate his levels using food rather than a lower dose because his night numbers are now in the greens as well and the PS numbers will eventually follow? Last night it was a decent amount of HC food fed, around 43g total. Wondering if this is considered too much needed to keep in good numbers? Should the carb manipulation be something that needs to be done sparingly, or do people regularly feed a higher carb mix to get their dose just right?

Also if I am able to get him in a predictable pattern with this dose plus higher carb food added, if he were to eventually make progress indicating a dose reduction would I first slowly reduce the amount of HC food given?

Sorry for all the questions in advance, it's just a little more confusing to me with the new variable of food carbs added.
 
Based on today does the 25g of 12% carb look like it was probably a little too much? The numbers with the HC food added weren't much different from the 0.1 dose.
I don't think it was too much. He had a nice surf in the 70s. You are looking for nadirs in the 50 - 80 range / no numbers above 120. So he did really well once the cycle got going.

I'm guessing it is still better to manipulate his levels using food rather than a lower dose because his night numbers are now in the greens as well and the PS numbers will eventually follow? Last night it was a decent amount of HC food fed, around 43g total. Wondering if this is considered too much needed to keep in good numbers? Should the carb manipulation be something that needs to be done sparingly, or do people regularly feed a higher carb mix to get their dose just right?
I think it is better to manipulate using food rather than to lower the dose right now. I'm not sure if the PS number will eventually follow--I hope so.

The amount of HC food is fine as long as it is holding his numbers where they need to be. People regularly feed higher carb to get their doses right. Take a look at these spreadsheets: Staci and Ivy (Ivy's bouncy, and Staci spends a lot of days/nights carb manipulating her because she often goes low); Seth and Bell (Bell has IAA (insulin resistant antibodies) which requires Seth to give her larger amounts of insulin; she also can be bouncy, and Seth has to often give her higher carbs to keep her in safer numbers).
Also if I am able to get him in a predictable pattern with this dose plus higher carb food added, if he were to eventually make progress indicating a dose reduction would I first slowly reduce the amount of HC food given?

Sorry for all the questions in advance, it's just a little more confusing to me with the new variable of food carbs added.
There is a question that this brings up for me, that I don't know the answer to: what is the value of keeping a cat in green numbers if he/she must be carb manipulated the entire time. I'd like to know the answer to that, if there is one. I know that we follow this dosing method (TR) and try to stay with it as closely as possible because it has proven to get kitties into remission. But I'm not clear on the endgame of persisting through carb manipulation when the kitty is having a hard time holding that dose and requires carb manipulation to remain safe. If Albert holds Xander in these greens by giving him higher carbs will Xander eventually stop needing these carbs? And will his preshots come down (hellooooo, crystal ball). Maybe @Sienne and Gabby (GA) can answer this for us.

Questions are always good! That's how we learn.
 
Hi Albert, this has been my experience with Trixie. I had to increase her dose to 2u. because her numbers were climbing but found she would often dive causing bounces, so I increased her carbs, mostly her am and pm shot time and +2 so she would have fresh carbs on board for when the insulin onset. I found this to help level her out and stay green. The longer she stayed in green the more she got used to them and the bouncing stopped. We got a week of green and I reduced her dose, but also decreased her carbs. It’s a fine balance between the two and it takes lots of experimenting with food, knowing how carb sensitive your cat is. As everyone says, every cat is different. You are doing a tremendous job managing Xander’s FD.
 
Also stopped by petco and bought a few of the low carb Weruva. I have a feeling he won't like it much more and ill just be wasting more expensive food but worth a try.

Also bought a can of Friskies, I know its not the best but also worth a try to see if it stimulates him to eat more
 
Back
Top