9/9 Toby,s PMS+1=462+3=354+8=174+11=215

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Kind of getting nervous Toby is dropping pretty fast hope he slow down soon. Don't know if you saw my post but, gave Toby a vitamin b 12 shot . Took a urine sample 2hrs later and it was reddish. Hope it was the shot and not blood. We are going to the
vet. at 4.00 pm to make sure he's alright with that and the ketones. He isn't eating so good today. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Toby,s bg is now at 141 at +8 has slowed down some but, don't know what to do about dosing tonight. now he doesn't want to eat of course. Glad we are going to the vets. soon. peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Peg

Let's just see where he is as it gets closer to shot time. Lots can happen between +8 and shot time especially with a vet visit. I am not sure what time you are going to the vet so it would be good to get a test at +10 or +11 so we can see if he's dropping by PMPS. he's at a very safe number now. It's possible he'll bounce back up because he's not used to these numbers.

I'm concerned about urine being red. What do you mean by "you hope it was the shot". You mean B12? That shouldn't make his urine red. Be sure the vet takes a urine sample by cystocentesis and checks for bacteria. He might have a UTI which might be the source of the infection causing the ketones along with the insulin decrease from PZI to lev. Did you check his ketones when you got the urine sample? Was it negative?

Any time you need to get our attention, just open the first post in your condo of that day (one condo per cat per day) and click "edit" then click on the "?" button above the subject line; you can also add something in the subject if you want like "need help" and then click submit. Once someone has helped you, then open the first post again, click "edit", unclick the "?" and take the "need help" out of the subject line and click on "submit". Thanks!!
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

I agree with Marje about getting a test in closer to shot time. That can help to guide a decision about dose at PMPS.

There are some reports about B vitamins changing the color of urine. If the B-complex you gave was colored, that may be the reason -- there may be a dye that's being excreted. Some of the B vitamins can change urine color to neon yellow and some more orange. If you're going to the vet, see if you can get a urine sample to rule out any blood in the urine which would make the urine red. This often happens with a urinary track infection.
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Peg said:
Toby , Just got back from the vets. he has uti. His ketones are trace and his electrolytes are alright. Vet. Gave subq fluids
to help clear ketones. Toby bg at + 11 is 429 elevated because of the vet. visit. What do you think for a dose tonight . He went down 266 points in 6 hrs. Will his bg be elevated with the utI? Was up most of the night. Don't want him to get in trouble and me not hear him. Glad ketones are coming down. Peg and Toby

The UTI can elevate BG. Any infection or inflammation can cause BG to increase. This is also important to know since the UTI that's been brewing may be the cause for the ketones.

The issue now is that he has an infection and you've been dealing with ketones. IMHO, providing numbers aren't rapidly dropping at PMPS, I would still give the 4.0u of insulin. If you need to feed high carb food to keep the numbers up, that's OK. Remember, the third element that contributes to ketones is not enough calories. So, food is important. Even more important is making sure Toby is getting enough insulin to keep the ketones in check.

If you could get a test and post the results, we'll keep an eye out for your PMPS numbers.
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

I got too many posts going His pm numbers are 429 . Due to a lot of stress the poor cat was panting . He is very senitive and the vet. visits up set him terribly. Right now he out on the couch. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Stick with posting everything in this condo - this is the one everyone will watch for updates and info.

Sienne's dosing suggestion and info is great.

Sending prayers, and please keep us posted...we're here to help you as much as possible!
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

several of us are watching out for you, peg. Just keep posting updates here.

You're eastern time - what time do you shoot?

Two things to know - you'll be able to steer his blood sugar with food if he goes below 50. and 50-120 are normal numbers.

if he's completely not eating at pmps, then that might change the dose picture, but as long as he's eating some, like say 30% at least, of his normal dinner, then you want to give the shot as normal.
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Gave 4 units tonight. Hope everything goes alright. Will monitor tonight and see what happens. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

get a +1 and a +2 tonight so we can see what he's doing. great job handling everything today.
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Tried to get rid of the other condos but can,t click on edit and is the x up on the left top.
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

don't worry about them. Pretty much everyone new opens several. :-D they'll eventually drop down on the page - it's fine. we just keep to one condo/thread per day because it does 2 things - it keeps all the info in one place, and it also keeps everyone posting in one day on the front page. that's pretty important because we don't want anyone to get missed.

but all is well. :-D

i think you could go 3 hrs til your next test, if you want. it's up to you.

is he eating ok tonight? what antibiotic is he on for the UTI?
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Peg,

Glad you took Toby to the vet. The fluids will help him. Did the vet prescribe an antibiotic for the UTI? Which one?

As I thought, the vet visit raised his numbers coupled with the infection. I'm still leary of the dose, but you are watching him carefully. Too bad your vet doesn't have more experience with Levemir.

Keep in touch,

Claudia
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Toby is on Clavamox for the uti. Will wait till +3 to test as he is so stressed out. He is eating pretty good tonight they gave him an appetite stimulant to help with his eating. Peg and toby
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Toby is 354 at + 3 he is eating good tonight. Seems to be feeling better. Hope we are over the hump. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

that sounds great! just an fyi - when your subject line is full, you can erase the old ones so there is room for the new ones. some people erase everything at pmps and then put the pmps and evening numbers in.

i'm thrilled that he's eating better. even if it takes a little help to get him over this hump, that's ok. :-D

I wanted to flag the beginning part of the What is the Insulin Depot? yellow starred sticky. That information might be helpful to you in understanding how the Lev is working in Toby's body.

He's been high for a while, so it would be very normal for his body to "bounce" from the blue numbers he got to today. If you're not familiar with a bounce, take a look at the second post here. It wouldn't be a surprise if he has some New Dose Wonkiness either, which is described in the first post in that link. He may stay high for as many as 3 days - 6 cycles starting tonight, so after the "low numbers event" that his body perceived as dangerous. He may "clear the bounce" before then, but my point is that if he stays high from now until Thursday sometime, that would be a normal response to today's cycle. We can't be certain he'll stay high that long, but my point is that you wouldn't worry about it if he does. You still need to keep an eye on his blood sugar in case he clears the bounce sooner.
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

i made a few comments in one of your other threads: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=124837&p=1295225#p1295225
just thought it might help to hear a little reassurance about the 4u dose the gals here in TR suggested.

~ and ~

Sienne and Gabby said:
The issue now is that he has an infection and you've been dealing with ketones. IMHO, providing numbers aren't rapidly dropping at PMPS, I would still give the 4.0u of insulin. If you need to feed high carb food to keep the numbers up, that's OK. Remember, the third element that contributes to ketones is not enough calories. So, food is important. Even more important is making sure Toby is getting enough insulin to keep the ketones in check.
sienne's comments are right on target!


wishing you and toby the best...
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Sorry missed +6 reading Toby came into bed was patting him and fell back to sleep. some good mom I am. He eating his 2am.
meal I tested just before he ate he was 174. Not too far off from his +8 yesterday morning. Sorry to have caused any disagree
between members. Didn't know what to do when he started throwing ketones. Posted here because there is more action on the week-end. Well Toby's taking a nap now which he well deserves. Guess I'll do the same. Peg and my sweet boy Toby
PS I test at 6.00am and 6 .00 pm My time in my signature is 1 hr. off . Don't know how to change it.
 
Re: 9/9 Toby,s AMPS 428 +3=312=4=262=6=162

Toby's + 11 is 215 will I still the the same dose? Have to be out for couple hrs. today between 9.30 and 11.30 . Hope he'll be alright. Peg and Toby
 
Good job last night.

No worries about disagreements. This is an open forum and not everyone agrees all the time. Just let us know if you're not sure what to do or who to listen to. People have more (or less) experience and some people have more experience with certain issues. Even if we disagree, everyone is doing their best to help.
 
Gave 4 units with bg at 239 hope I did right thing? What numbers do I not shoot the 4 Units? When I give shot not to many people on. Just want to be clear when not to give the four units. Toby is eating like a trooper . Still all tired out from vet.
ordeal. Wish he didn't get so stressed out. Haven't got a ketone test yet. Will let you know when I do. Peg and Toby
 
Great shooting, and wonderful news about the ketones and eating - wahoo!! That +2 rise is what we generally call a food spike. His numbers should turn around shortly, and hopefully he'll set up a nice, safe surf.

In general, you do want to consistently shoot the same dose morning and night. New folks who don't have a lot of testing data yet usually follow a "no shoot" number in the neighborhood of 150, and that is when you would consider skipping the shot or shooting a reduced dose. Over time, though, as you gather data and see how Toby responds to insulin, you want to start lowering that "no shoot" number, as NOT skipping shots is what gets a kitty closer to regulation and/r possibly even remission.

ECID (every cat is different), though, and there are always several factors to consider on top of the basic concept of a "no shoot" number. In your case, you do want to keep the infection and ketones in mind, as insulin is very important to keeping the ketones in check.

There are others here with a much stronger knowledge in ketones than I have, so I'm sure they will come along throughout the day and give you more in-depth answers.

Also, we do start a new condo (thread) for our kitties each day (but, at the same time, we keep it to one condo per cat per day). When we create our new condo for the day, we include a link to the previous condo, so others can follow that link and catch up on the previous day's activities. So when you have a chance, can you open a new condo for Toby?

Surf that juice, Toby!!
 
as long as you're home to monitor, you're going to keep giving the 4.0u for now. if he's less than 150, as Amy says, just flag us and ask if it's safe to shoot. We're going to look at his spreadsheet to see the context and go from there.

you're doing a great job, peg. celebrating that he's negative on the ketones.

off to work now. have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top