9/9 Reuben PMPS 319 +1.5/252 +5/180

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
9/8 Condo

9/8 RECAP:

AMPS 285
(+2.25) 91 --- gave 1/4 tsp hc gravy to 1.5 tsp lc food
(+2.75) 69 --- gave half of first food dose
(+3.25) 51 --- same as first dose + 1/4tsp hc food
(+3.75) 52--- nothing! we want a reducie! just kidding, i`ll give alittle something very light&barely there.(ended up giving 1tsp chicken & rice 'pudding' @ +4ish)
(+4.25) 54 --- :cry: I think give nothing this time, for REALS. Now we know that a little rice is powwwwerful!
(+4.75) 59 --- Nothing again! He's having tuna water w acv for testing treat .
(+5.5) 66 --- Tuna water and a little tuna
(+6.6) 73 --- Nothing - he didn`t want the tuna stuff. Think he`s hungry, food it allllmost ready! He really needs to be a 'free feeder' --
(+7.5) 87 --- Nothing... sleeping...
(+8.5) 105 --- 2T LC Food Awake and Hungry - food finally ready!
I wonder if it`s possible that eating sooner would have kept him from rising so much from +7.5 to +8.5 - maybe it caused stress to be hungry...
(+9.5) 303 --- Ate again.
PMPS HI
(+2) 310
(+3) 224
(+4) 214
(+5) 196

Reuben spent 6 hours in the greens yesterday! :mrgreen: We are trying to learn how to add carbs to his food to control the drops. Today I will start testing sooner, and start sooner with the carbs since it looks like the same thing is going to happen. Although........... I made a mistake when I gave the shot this morning. I did not take my time to make 1,000% sure that the tent was right, and when I ran my hand over his fur and then checked for aroma of band-aid.... there was one. Not really strong, but unmistakable. Note to self: always take your time!! So I`ll wait to add the carbs until I`m sure what direction we're heading, but still plan opening the parachute ASAP as soon as I know.

Most P's in place, he is feeling a little better this morning - actually moved from the spot where he has been hunkered down and let me cuddle him for a wee bit in my (couch) bed, and then jumped up and ran outside! So something is letting up for him. However, the litter box on the bed has now been rejected and we`re back to direct peeing on the bed - (it is covered in plastic now, and no- I don`t sleep in it! ... having retired to the verrry comfy couch when this started.) He stopped using the new litter box last night after I had cleaned it and put new litter taken from the now unused giant litter box.. So it looks like maybe it`s the Litter he doesn't like? I need to dash out (but when?) and buy the kind that came with the new box, and re-load and see what happens.

I want to re-create (as best I can) the equivalent % carb levels in his food that others are giving at specific times in the cycles to control the bg - and follow their successful paths. There is a customs restriction on importing the cat food (thank you Rhiannon for your research on international shipping through Amazon for good cat food! :-)) so the solution I see is this.

Ongoing Medications:

50mg Clavamox bid
2.5mg Pepcid bid
.08ml Bupe as needed ( daily until 9/1then on 9/5; 9/6 )
miralax -
1/16th tsp 9/6 at 10pm. Prezzi followed shortly thereafter
9/8 teensy bit of miralax - 95% normal poo.
9/9 no miralax but had a similar reaction (runny at the end of a normal poo)
 
Re: 9/9 Reuben AMPS 393

Hi Alexa, Glad Reuben is feeling a little better! He has agreed HI is not the right greeting which is good start for the day, sorry for the fur shot.
I think you are on the right track with figuring out how to tweak your homemade food to adjust the carbs. By starting with the pure ingredieints you will know exactly what is in his food and how much. I responded to your pm about peas, and rice is an easy to store, easy to use carby food. Since we started this fd journey I am continually amazed how many people foods are bad for cats. So many things in "broth" contain onion or garlic or both, and now we learned soy is also to be avoided. Jasper has refused all cat treats including the freeze dried shrimp, so we ended up using plain greek yogurt. Good luck developing some recipies that work for Reuben!
Also glad your couch is comfy, you had me worried about sleeping with the catbox. Good luck getting more of the litter he seemed to like, its very possible he has some aversion to a particular type of litter by scent, texture, dust or some aspect only cats can detect.
Hope you and Reuben have a great day!
 
Re: 9/9 Reuben AMPS 393 +1/468 +2/451 FurShot©

Hello.
Does the customs restriction mean you can't order any at all or are they just taxing the heck out of it?

I thought most customs restrictions were quanity. But Obviously if they only allow you one can, big deal...


Was Reuben previously not using a cat box as he runs outside?
Maybe he prefers the dirt.
 
Re: 9/9 Reuben PMPS 319 +1.5/252

Yay for the 6 hours in greens! Boo on the peeing on the bed...still. :sad: Wish I knew something to tell you, but I have been blessed with my little girl who is really good about using the LB. Now, vomiting, on the other hand...if only I could train her to run over to the tile area!!!!! :lol:

But I have to say, his numbers are looking mighty nice, Alexa! Keep it up! Good night...sleep well!
 
Re: 9/9 Reuben PMPS 319 +1.5/252

Alexa

I don't think I mentioned it on your condo but the way I shoot Gracie which really minimizes the chance of a fur shot is I lift her fur/skin straight up with my left hand (I'm right handed) and the roll my hand so that the back of it faces her head. This parts the fur and shows you a nice little patch of skin that you can inject into as long as you make sure you are still lifting. Gracie has short hair but she is one plush baby so I started shooting this way so I can see the needle go into skin. If y ou tent, it's hard to tell.

Good luck with the food experiments.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top