9/9 Nacho AMPS 151 +3 138

Lisa & Nacho

Active Member
Seems like Nacho is doing better after his spike from skipping the dose the other day. Holding at 1 unit for now. How many days until I should do a full curve? Starting Zyrtec today as well for his allergies. Thank you!
 
Good luck with zyrtec. It can take a few weeks to see results. With SLGS you hold the duse for 7 days and do a curve. With TR it’s 3-5 days before you evaluate the dose. To do TR you need a minimum of 2 tests each cycle, amps/pmps and one more and a wet or raw diet. Any reason why you are following SLGS? TR is more aggressive and I know some don’t like that.
 
Good luck with zyrtec. It can take a few weeks to see results. With SLGS you hold the duse for 7 days and do a curve. With TR it’s 3-5 days before you evaluate the dose. To do TR you need a minimum of 2 tests each cycle, amps/pmps and one more and a wet or raw diet. Any reason why you are following SLGS? TR is more aggressive and I know some don’t like that.

I actually would be OK with either option.. I am going to read into TR - he is already on just wet food and I could test him more if needed. I think I just stuck with the SLGS since that is what I did last time years back, but now that I am more comfortable/getting the hang of it again I could probably switch to get him regulated quicker!
 
How late will you be up? This coils be an s give cycle which means he could continue to go down more. Depending on your answer you need to feed higher carbs.
 
Example of an active cycle.

0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

An active Levemir cycle will have an onset at approximately +4 and a nadir around +8 - +10. However, please keep in mind every cat is different (ECID). Data collection will offer you a better picture of YOUR cat's response to either of these insulins.
 
Back
Top