9/9 Doodles pmps 333 Update :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi and doodles

Member Since 2010
Good Morning LL!!

Well no messin around for my girl today! We are off to the beach and surfin. She had a great 12 hour run of good numbers! Yeah! Maybe she'll get a drop decrease tonight. I hate
to do it already, but she's hit some good lows :smile:

Doodles Report:
Up on my belly first thing this morning purrin and ready for the day! Since we have a new time change this would make for breffis number two! After eating the kids were relentless . I let them
out in the backyard surpervised of course and puppies locked on the side. And boy did they have fun! Well both were at the door meowing after breffis #2. Guess who won! Play, play, play did they
have a blast! Rollin in the dirt, not sure about the grass :lol: and Doodles spotted a Hummingbird by the cuzzi! That darn thing sat on a branch right in front of her face as she is now in stealth mode :cool:
and just as she takes off so did the hummer :lol: too much fun! I know I will get bugged in a few.

Gonna get back to my girl and she what trouble she's gettin into. Super hungry, so she got some chicken! Loves it in a can not fresh ohmygod_smile

Have a great day, need to check on last nights party!
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71 question please

this caught me off guard nailbite_smile we were outside playing ohmygod_smile
she ate a full can of Fancy Feast 19% mixed with 2 tsp of Karo. Ate all but a few bites and I know she can eat more.

My question how long does a karo spike last? I have another hour of her dropping. She usually heads up after +4.
I am going to check her ever 15 until she is in the clear!
thanks
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

never mind :YMSIGH: must have over reacted she is now up to 127 +3.15 ohmygod_smile she's never been that low and yesterday I did it differently.
what went through my mind was get her up fast. bummer guess I'll learn as I go. she's pretty much hit all numbers, and is the same :-D thank goodness.

dose decrease tonight for sure the girl.
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

Heidi...here is your last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24459
I see that Doodles had a 38 yesterday....
From the Protocol:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments).


You should have shot a reduced does both last night and this morning. I see that it was mentioned to you in your condo yesterday...

You never posted when you got this low at +2.45 today...whew...you did right by giving the HC but we usually do it this way: We give only the gravy from the can of HC and add drops of Karo...not really teaspoons. With the 2 teaspoons that you gave, I am not sure when that will leave her system. Have you used that much Karo in the past..ever?
You will have to reduce her dose but I will wait for other to suggest the right dose ...can you post your updates for us?
Good catch at +2.45. We give only a teaspoon or two of HC when they are low and not the whole can. We try to not fill them up with the food so that we can always give more HC gravy after we do the 15 minute test, and repeat if needed... :razz:
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

yikes! nice catch! happy to see you were able to bring the numbers up quickly!
since doodles is considered a newly diagnosed kitty, the drop into the 30s earned doodles a 0.25u reduction yesterday. you don't want to reproduce another low by administering the same dose which dropped kitty too low to begin with. kwim?

pat has written some great advice on feeding lows. when you get such lows, don't be afraid to post. there are many experienced caregivers here to offer support and guidance.

please take the reduction to a fat 1.25u tonight, k?
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

And please keep a close eye on Doodles numbers today. Once the bucket load of Karo wears off, numbers could begin to drop again. Some regular food -- you'll need to decide on LC vs. HC -- should be what you need to get Doodles on a surfboard.
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

Oh Heidi...I hope you come back to see what Jill wrote about your new dose for Doodle before you shoot tonight! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

action-smiley-030.gif
Hello...Heidi?????
HelLOOOOO!!!!

director.gif
ATTENTION HEIDII !!!
Come back to your condo...we are all here to visit with you! :razz:
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

Heidi.....are you there? Please let folks know what's happening with Doodles....
We're concerned.....
Debie & Jezebel
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

I'll join the crowd looking for an update. Then what happened? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles amps 263 +2 47 + 2.45 26 +3 71

OMG! I'm sorry we're back! I decreased to 1.50U I will watch her close tonight. I may not have gone enough. I was going for the drop to 50 three times. It seemed everytime she would
drop to 50 and I would decrease it didn't take. Now I'm hoping I decreased enough. Crap!

Well I certainly put my daughter on a sugar high today :shock: She was like a crazy girl wanting to go outside all day! Give an inch she'll take a mile.
She played all day with me outside in between checks. I knew I blew it when she hit flippin +6 345 ohmygod_smile I was good yesterday and fed slow and was kewl about it,
but today I was not expecting her to drop like that! So freaked and gave Karo by the teaspoons :oops: I have only ever given her Karo once and that was at 60 something newbie mistake ohmygod_smile
and I only rubbed on her gum. I'm learning as I go.
She has been in the high 300's all day, I will really watch her the next hour, since she just got her shot. I fed her a little higher carb for a snack with her shot, so maybe she won't drop so fast.

Thanks for checking on us!
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles pmps 333

actually I would take a full 0.25 reduction after a 26, reducing to f1.25 in the morning. 1.5 should be ok tonight to help with the bounce.

FYI, the protocol reads 3x under 50 or 1 time under 40, so Doodles earned the reduction yesterday. That's probably why she dropped so low again today, she is really done with that dose.
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles pmps 333

oh thanks Libby! I missed the once under 40!
I will be watching her tonight and made a note to change to 1.25 in the morning. Crap, wish I could have done better instead of panic mode ohmygod_smile
It would have been nice to continue her nice run of numbers.
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles pmps 333

No cat's numbers stay the same all the time-- wouldnt that be great! You did a great job today!! Be proud!HUGS from Us!!
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles pmps 333

I hope to see you this morning Heidi...hoping that Doodles did okay last night...I see your SS doesn't have any entries yet.
Fingers crossed that you had an easy night but testing anyway....see you soon?? :razz:
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles pmps 333

Ditto on hoping to see you this morning. Hope all went well last night. Don't fret the panic mode - it happens to all of us at some point or another. You did fine.
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles pmps 333

Let us lend a hand if you're in panic mode. I know when Gabby is running low, there are people who watch my back. It's much easier for me to be clear headed when it's not my kitty who has low numbers.
 
Re: 9/9 Doodles pmps 333

Morning all!

We're still 2 hours out from our shot time. But wanted to give an update :-D
First thanks for all the wishes and help. When I jumped on yesterday it didn't seem busy on the board. So I punted. She was sooooooo hungry when she was at
26 more than the day before when I hand fed the low. So, I thought I better let her eat. Holy Crap she has not come down yet? And not very hungry at all for her first breffis?
Any thoughts?
Oh...and will wait for advice next time :roll:
Here is the recap of last night:
pmps 333 1.50 ( will change to a full 1.25 this morning :-D
+2 282
+3 293
+4 295
+9.5 293
As you can see she never left the high 2's? Or as least when I tested?

I'm hopin she'll come down today and get back into the high blues would be nice with a green thrown in ;-)
 
Doodles hasn't seen a lot of green so it's no surprise that her liver panicked. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear so just be patient. Just remember to take her dose to a fat 1.25u this morning.
 
And next time Heidi...remember.. DROPS of karo...(not teaspoons). All things considered, she is looking quite good!)
will be looking for you condo today...see you in a little while! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top