9/9 Bj AmPs(442), +4(343), PmPs(431), +3.6(351), +11(206)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/9 Bj AmPs(442)

Yeesh. Thanks for catching that, R. If there's a way to mess up, I'll fine it! I mean find it. See what I'm talking about?
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442)

Red AMPS BJ, come on you can do better than that. I hope you are not sneaking high carb food to keep your numbers up. Time to give Mike a break and show him some love in the lower numbers!
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442)

Well, he was blue (and probably green if I could stay awake to check) last night. Let's see what happens tonight.

My game plan is finish out the AB's and wait one day and then if I don't get some action I'll have to increase the dose.

+4 (343)
PmPs (431)
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442), +4(343), PmPs(431)

Hi Mike.

How many more days of ABS?

I'm asking because it may not be the best idea to wait another few days before upping BJ's dose - he's had an all-red/pink cycle now. If he had another, I would consider going to 0.75u tomorrow morning. Remember, there are ranges which threaten organ damage, glucose toxicity, and so on... (Did you get a chance to check for ketones?)

It's ultimately your call, and you'll want to consider whatever input the others have, but hat's my 2CW (2 Cents' Worth)...

Jane
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442), +4(343), PmPs(431)

+3.6 (351)

One more day of AB's. Uh, maybe two. I'll boost his dose in the morning.

Jane, do you think my lantus might be too old? It's about a month and a half.

Haven't checked for ketones because the way he pees it's impossible.

Going to bed, I'll talk to you tomorrow ok? Thanks a bunch.
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442), +4(343), PmPs(431), +3.6(351)

Ok, Mike. A possible two more days of ABs *and* waiting a day post-ABs - three days of possibly no movement out of the pinks and reds - that doesn't sound good to me. I'd hate to see BJ get stuck in those ranges after all the lovely progress he made. Do consider whatever input the others may still give you regarding dosing - but as I said: You call the shots (and how much is in them), in the end. If BJ were mine, I'd up the dose. Hope you get a bit more input too.

About the Lantus: Did you ever leave it unrefridgerated? Did it get rattled/rolled in the fridge? Is it completely clear? If you answer "yes" to any of those questions, I suppose there's a chance the Lantus may have given out on you.

In that case, you *could* consider waiting another day with the increase, provided you get a resh vial right away. If it *is* the insulin, you may see much better action off a fresh vial, in which case the increase may not be necessary. Tough call - and comes down to whether you can get the new Lantus immediately or not. If you can't, as I said, I wouldn't wait much longer before increasing, to try to get BK into better, safer BG ranges.

If you do want to go for the increase tomorrow morning, could you try to get a (+11) just in case?
Jane
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442), +4(343), PmPs(431), +3.6(351)

I wouldn't do both, use a fresh vial or pen of insulin and increase the dose in the same cycle.
He could have had a little green two nights ago and he came down fast (150 points in 2 hours) and that may have him in a bounce. If you decide to increase, how about just fattening the .50?
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442), +4(343), PmPs(431), +3.6(351)

I'm seeing a couple of things going on. First, there's the URI. Usually, if numbers are higher due to infection, we see numbers drop pretty quickly once the AB kicks in. While ECID, I would think by day 10 on ABs, you'd see more of a response especially since you noted that Bj seems to be feeling better. I don't think Bj's numbers are elevated due solely to the URI.

Looking back to when Bj was seeing lots of green, I think there were too many dose reductions too close together. I suspect that some of those drops in numbers were due to the depot not having had time to adjust to a dose change and you saw another drop in numbers. As a result, Bj needs more insulin.

I think you may be seeing a bounce off of the blues the night of 9/8. In addition, there is the possibility that your Lantus is old but you have seen some blue numbers. Often, if Lantus is getting "toasty," you can see wonky numbers.

In all, I think increasing the dose makes sense.
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442), +4(343), PmPs(431), +3.6(351)

Thanks ladies.
+11 (208)

I'll see about getting a new vial of insulin. I wasn't expecting to have to replace it so soon so it is a financial burden.
 
Re: 9/9 Bj AmPs(442), +4(343), PmPs(431), +3.6(351), +11(206


  /l、
゙(゚、 。 7
 l、゙ ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ



Hi Guys, We just stopped by to say Hi and bring this silly drawing to cheer you and Bj up! :lol:
It`s a little orange kitty that wants to get well, but he needs a Panda to do it!! He says 'where's my PANDAAAAA'!!!

Hang in there!!

Alexa&Reuben
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top