9/8 Xander AMPS 148 +2 53 +2.5 63 +3 53 +3.5 59 +4 65 +5 68 PMPS 150 +2 93 +3 59

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

Long night last night 🥱 Xander wouldn't eat any more no matter what I tried so I had to stay up to make sure he didn't drop too low.

I gave his usual 0.25 dosage, but worried that because of his slow eating (continuing this morning) that I won't be able to manipulate with feeding as well. Hopefully he doesn't go to the 50s today, we'll see.

Still thinking his slow eating the past 2 days is due to a hairball, but haven't seen anything yet. I've seen a dab of petroleum jelly recommended for helping pass troublesome ones, I may try that temporarily before eventually trying supplementing his food with dried egg yolks.
 
Yesterday's post

Long night last night 🥱 Xander wouldn't eat any more no matter what I tried so I had to stay up to make sure he didn't drop too low.

I gave his usual 0.25 dosage, but worried that because of his slow eating (continuing this morning) that I won't be able to manipulate with feeding as well. Hopefully he doesn't go to the 50s today, we'll see.

Still thinking his slow eating the past 2 days is due to a hairball, but haven't seen anything yet. I've seen a dab of petroleum jelly recommended for helping pass troublesome ones, I may try that temporarily before eventually trying supplementing his food with dried egg yolks.
Good job keeping him safe Albert.
It’s so hard when they don’t want to eat for you when they are low 😘
I hope he passes the hairball so it won’t be an issue!!
And I hope you can get some rest today 😻
 
Back down to 53 at +3. I gave another 20g of high carb food. Stressful :confused:

I'm concerned this dose is going to require a lot of food manipulation to maintain. He was doing so well on it though. His nadir was great, but his preshots weren't optimal, so im worried that lower his dose will raise those as well.

I don't think the dip was from him not eating enough. He was definitely eating slower and requiring more effort of offering it to him, but the amount of calories he finished by +2 wasn't very far off from previous days
 
I tried getting him to eat more to make sure he doesn't drop any more but he won't eat. I'm having a really hard time
 
Hi Albert! I'm sorry this is so stressful for you (and I understand that stress, believe me). I see he's at 65 now? It looks like you are bumping up his numbers well. 65 is not too low. Let's see where he is on the next test.
 
Hi Albert! I'm sorry this is so stressful for you (and I understand that stress, believe me). I see he's at 65 now? It looks like you are bumping up his numbers well. 65 is not too low. Let's see where he is on the next test.
68 at +5. I got him to eat 10g of the HC food at +4.5.

It would be so much less stressful if he were a reliable eater, but he's going through one of his finicky lower eating spells for a few days now hopefully because of his usual hairball. Its hard when food is required, he doesn't like being told what to 🙄
 
I haven’t gone back into Xander’s previous posts yet, but from the SS, looks like Xander is keeping you on your toes! Depending on how much you are feeding at preshot, I’d suggest offering some more higher low carb food (in the range of 6-9%), maybe 1-2 tsps at +1, since lately at +2 he’s already dropping significantly and you are playing catch up. Ideally you want to prop up the numbers a little with something still LC ahead of the onset. That might mean blending a little LC with MC, FF has the grilled which is typically around 12% depending on the flavour. If the challenge of appy continues, you could try alternating feeding and squeezing the gravy from the can, which is where the carbs are.
 
I'd tried the dried egg yolk powder sooner rather than later. Now often does he get hairballs? They shouldn't be frequent, even with a long haired cat. Might want to log them and discuss with the vet.

He doesn't look like he needs a reduction yet.
 
I'd tried the dried egg yolk powder sooner rather than later. Now often does he get hairballs? They shouldn't be frequent, even with a long haired cat. Might want to log them and discuss with the vet.

He doesn't look like he needs a reduction yet.
He didn't have much problem with them for a while, but since he has been better regulated he is grooming a lot and I admittedly probably should have groomed him more. I would say he has a small hairball maybe once a week or every other week? I'll start recording them in my spreadsheet. I am assuming his reduced appetite is due to this but not totally sure. He has also had issues with constipation in the past. I have been giving him 1/8 tsp miralax and he has been having regular normal bowel movements for a while now (about once a day). This morning I found a normal poop of his, but caught him earlier straining to poop with nothing coming out, which I have also seen him do before.

His eating tends to fluctuate from higher appetite days to lower appetite days, and in the past that seemed to coincide with when he had a hairball or a bowel movement. Overall still eating around the average amount, but much more finicky and slow.

1757361673162.png


Do you think it is a concern that I had to feed much more higher carb food today to keep him on track today (around 40-50g)?
My biggest concern is sometimes during these slow eating periods, he only eats about 10-15g at a time, which can take some time to get a decent amount in him by +2.

It's been a battle getting him to eat and work meetings with not much sleep from managing him last night. I'm hoping I can let go of the anxiety around these low numbers soon
 
I picked up some cans of the FF chicken grilled in gravy. I'll try feeding some of that with his meals tonight to see if it levels out his numbers, maybe 20-30g before +2?
Hopefully he'll keep eating okay tonight, I need some sleep 😴

At +9 he's not wanting anything to do with a snack
 
Last edited:
Higher PMPS at 150. Making sure he eats now before shot. Seems like he might finish most of the 20g. I'll offer a little of the FF grilled gravy afterwards to try to prevent as big a drop tonight.

Another slow start to the night with eating. I have a feeling this is going to be another long night. 😔

He's playing, peeing, pooping, grooming, and everything else the same. Just not that interested in food.
 
Last edited:
He's definitely not constipated. Just had his second big poop of the day. I put the tiniest bit of petroleum jelly on his paw to lick off just in case it is a hairball causing his appetite.

By the way, sorry for all the lengthy posts. It almost feels like a journal to put my worries out there lately 🫣
 
He's definitely not constipated. Just had his second big poop of the day. I put the tiniest bit of petroleum jelly on his paw to lick off just in case it is a hairball causing his appetite.

By the way, sorry for all the lengthy posts. It almost feels like a journal to put my worries out there lately 🫣
Glad he’s pooping!

No worries about the posts—that’s what this space is for.
 
Glad he’s pooping!

No worries about the posts—that’s what this space is for.

So far 35g of regular LC and 15g of the higher carb grilled gravy. Not too bad for the +1 mark. Hoping the little bit of higher carb food makes a difference.
With a can of the gravy, that adds one more can to Prince Xander's requirements for ultimate food variety 😆

Meanwhile, Flare says 'just lay whatever it is down and ill eat it'
 
Still dropped sharply from PMPS to +2. Tonight's +2 is actually a little lower, I wonder if thats an indication of +3 being in the 50s like last night
 
He started at 150 and dropped to 93, so not as a more significant a drop than last night (comparing the PS to the +2). The important number will be +3 bc that’s when he typically hits his nadir. Have you been giving him some higher carb food, as Christie suggested?

Edited with correction
 
Last edited:
He started at 150 and dropped to 93, so not as significant a drop as last night (comparing the PS to the +2). The important number will be +3 bc that’s when he typically hits his nadir. Have you been giving him some higher carb food, as Christie suggested?
Sorry, just read your earlier post, and I see you are feeding slightly higher carbs.
 
So far tonight he's eaten 35g of his normal LC and 15g of the higher carb FF grilled gravy. Trying to get him to eat more now but he's being difficult again. Would it be better to try for the higher carb or lower now?
 
So far tonight he's eaten 35g of his normal LC and 15g of the higher carb FF grilled gravy. Trying to get him to eat more now but he's being difficult again. Would it be better to try for the higher carb or lower now?
What you don’t want to do is fill him up—you want him to be a little hungry, so that he will eat for you. Let’s see what the +3 test shows.
 
Okay, you need a bump, but not too much to send him too high. This is a repeat of earlier today and last night. What did you feed earlier today to get him bumped up a bit? Feed that and test in30 mins to see where he is.
 
Okay, you need a bump, but not too much to send him too high. This is a repeat of earlier today and last night. What did you feed earlier today to get him bumped up a bit? Feed that and test in30 mins to see where he is.
After a little convincing he ate 18g of the higher carb grilled chk gravy. I need to look up the %, I think its 12%.
 
Just keep an eye on him until he begins trending up. Remember to test at least 1-2 hours after feeding the higher carb food, as he might drop once it’s out of his system.
 
Just keep an eye on him until he begins trending up. Remember to test at least 1-2 hours after feeding the higher carb food, as he might drop once it’s out of his system.
Thank you! I noticed that last night when he decreased back down at at +5. I couldn't get him to eat anymore and he remained steady until +6.

I know every cat is different but if he does that again, is it likely he won't drop any more after that?
 
Thank you! I noticed that last night when he decreased back down at at +5. I couldn't get him to eat anymore and he remained steady until +6.

I know every cat is different but if he does that again, is it likely he won't drop any more after that?
That was likely when the higher carb food cleared his system. I assume you’re asking that bc you’re wondering how long you should monitor. The answer is, I don’t know. I can’t guarantee anything. I think that once the HC food clears his system, and once his numbers begin to climb without carb manipulation, he’s probably okay.
 
He didn't have much problem with them for a while, but since he has been better regulated he is grooming a lot and I admittedly probably should have groomed him more. I would say he has a small hairball maybe once a week or every other week?
While this is an old condo, I’ll respond here since the discussion is on hairballs.

Short-haired cats should very, very rarely have hairballs. I’m talking once or twice a year. Long-haired cats might have a few more than that. Hairballs don’t come from increased grooming; they are usually a sign of intestinal issues.

As a preventative to support the gut and because egg yolk powder has so many other benefits, I give both my short-haired cats 1/4 tsp dried egg yolk powder from Nature’s Farmacy (online) twice a day. They really love it and their coats gleam. And no hairballs but neither of them were hairball prone.
 
Back
Top